Chevron Left
Back to The Art of Vocal Production

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Art of Vocal Production by Berklee College of Music

4.7
stars
338 ratings
116 reviews

About the Course

This course addresses recorded vocal performances and the technologies used to highlight and support them in modern record production and mixes. Most of us know that vocals serve as the focal point of modern recordings but many do not know the tools used or when the tools are used best in modern record production. The course begins with simple vocal placement in a mix, where you will also learn the fundamentals of compression and equalization. You’ll further study delays and reverbs before moving to advanced concepts in audio editing, synthetic processing, automatic & graphic pitch correction, time compression, time expansion, flex and elastic audio. Through analysis and/or hands on projects that the students will post for peer review, the student will gain an understanding of the many choices available to modern record producers as they record and mix with a modern tool set. You’ll see, in action, the Vocoder, Auto-Tune, Melodyne, Elastic Audio, Flex Time, VocAlign, tempo based editing and a host of other file modification protocols that are readily available on most Digital Audio Workstations. This course gives students a thorough look at the expanded choices that have risen in the art of vocal production as a result of these modern tools. The goal of the course is to help interested novices understand the recordings they are listening to, performers find an expanded language for their recorded voices and for vocal producers to be able to create musically artistic visualizations using singers as their paintbrushes....

Top reviews

AE

Nov 26, 2018

This course was really fun, I have learned so much. And I am glad I took the time to complete it. I work with vocals all the time. And now I feel much more confident now. Thank you Mr Prince.

EG

Sep 7, 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. It was so clearly explained and the information presented has improved my knowledge and ability in music production. Thank you very much!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 117 Reviews for The Art of Vocal Production

By Mahmoud H

Feb 6, 2019

Perfect, i do recommend it.

By Anelia N

Feb 10, 2021

easy to understand and fun

By Fedorov I M

Sep 3, 2021

It's a very good course!

By James c

Aug 7, 2020

Very informative course.

By Reg P

Sep 27, 2017

Excellent for Beginners

By Juozas

Dec 30, 2020

It understandable! :)

By Mihail B

Mar 15, 2018

Strongly recommended!

By Ashir S

May 4, 2020

Amazing Experience

By Karl D

Feb 1, 2019

Excellent course!!

By SOTO P H E

Jul 12, 2021

curso excepcional

By Hani R S

Jun 13, 2020

amazing course

By TCLVO

Nov 13, 2018

Awesome class.

By OMAR Y G

May 4, 2018

awesome so far

By Jan

Mar 18, 2017

Just Great :)

By Dang N H

Feb 4, 2021

Exceptional!

By Jeison A R P

Aug 1, 2017

So amazing!

By Samuelle E C

Jun 12, 2017

i love this

By Αγγελος Δ

Oct 31, 2021

Very good

By Joseph k

Dec 18, 2017

amazing

By Raju R

Sep 18, 2020

great

By Juan G R M

Apr 25, 2020

Great

By Daniel W

Jul 25, 2018

Nice!

By Hai y

Jun 7, 2018

TQ

By Кондрашев А В

Sep 19, 2021

Well, to be honest, I think that this program will be a good start for those who actually know nothing about vocal production and music in general. The tutor gives some basic knowledge about these themes, but the way how he explains some topics is really controversial.

Otherwise, this course will be a total waste of time for those who have some background of experience and knowledge in music production. Believe me, you know enough about vocals, EQs, compression and saturation.

H​owever, I'm really glad that I have finished this course. I wasn't disappointed, because initially I did not built any high expectations and pursued just one goal – to get a certificate in order to replenish my portfolio with it.

By B E

Jan 18, 2021

A little more technical than what I was looking for but informative none-the-less. Disappointing that a course on audio could not control the volume of it's videos. One video would be so low volume you could barely hear it, the next would be so loud it would almost blow your speakers, then a normal volume one would play. Volume was all over the board, makes you wonder how professional and accurate the course material is. The instructor was decent, not the most engaging or exciting but definitely not the dullest by far.