Chevron Left
Back to Web Design: Strategy and Information Architecture

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Web Design: Strategy and Information Architecture by California Institute of the Arts

4.8
274 ratings
47 reviews

About the Course

This course is focused on the early user experience (UX) challenges of research, planning, setting goals, understanding the user, structuring content, and developing interactive sequences. While the concepts covered will translate to many kinds of interactive media (apps, digital kiosks, games), our primary focus will be on designing contemporary, responsive websites. In this course you will complete the first half of a large scale project—developing a comprehensive plan for a complex website—by defining the strategy and scope of the site, as well as developing its information architecture and overall structure. Along the way we will also discuss: - Different job descriptions in the web design industry and where UX and UI skills fall within this spectrum - The difference between native apps and websites - The difference of agile vs. waterfall approaches - User personas and site personas - User testing The work and knowledge in this course continues in the last course in the UI/UX Design Specialization, Web Design: Wireframes to Prototypes, where you will tackle—finally—wireframes, visual mockups, and clickable prototypes. This is the third course in the UI/UX Design Specialization, which brings a design-centric approach to user interface (UI) and user experience (UX) design, and offers practical, skill-based instruction centered around a visual communications perspective, rather than on one focused on marketing or programming alone. These courses are ideal for anyone with some experience in graphic or visual design and who would like to build their skill set in UI or UX for app and web design. It would also be ideal for anyone with experience in front- or back-end web development or human-computer interaction and want to sharpen their visual design and analysis skills for UI or UX....

Top reviews

SS

Jul 28, 2019

This course is extremely beneficial who wish to understand as to how web designing happens and works. I helps build strategy as it show show to build your ideas when you are actually working.

SW

Apr 18, 2019

This course was fantastic! Content clear and the best part was seeing the instructor with actual students discussing actual projects. I would highly recommend this course. Thanks!

Filter by:

26 - 47 of 47 Reviews for Web Design: Strategy and Information Architecture

By Laura M

Aug 19, 2019

Excellent Course! Love the real life bonus videos each week with corporate interviews. Great advice from them!

By Carla A

Aug 18, 2019

This is the best course I did. I love this course.

By Anne W

Jul 04, 2019

I liked Roman's explanation on how to create user personas, and site maps. He goes in depth about the different types of data that should be taken into consideration to create a user persona. It was also beneficial to learn how flowcharts can display the functionality and content of a website. The recorded critiques with his students on their projects were helpful. Listening to the advice he gave his students, allowed for better understanding and context of the project requirements.

By Jafed E

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

By Darrick C

Sep 05, 2019

thank you!

By Zaloga Y I

Sep 11, 2019

Perfect course with the possibility to create the design consciously.

By William N G

Jun 11, 2019

Thank you

By Yu L

Jun 13, 2019

Awesome course!

By Wesley A d S M

Jun 15, 2019

I liket it

By Vanessa C

Oct 22, 2019

Informative and easy to follow.

By Joseph B

Oct 24, 2019

I think this course is pretty helpful, because they are explaning to you concepts with samples of real world, with real products. also to see the tutoring the two students; alyson and breadly is a great success.

I am really very grateful and this course has been very helpful for me.

By Juachi O

Oct 09, 2019

Clear, easy to understand content and assignments that helped me confirm all I had learned was practical.

By pushti b

Oct 31, 2019

Even better than the first two courses of this specialisation. The interaction with the students who were actually working on it was really helpful.

By Sheikh F K

Nov 04, 2019

Outstanding it is and I have had a lot of experiences which were really undiscovered. I appreciate it greatly.

By Christina

Nov 03, 2019

Good course, the example of perfectly organized information and easy study process. Informative and easy to understand videos and other materials, external links and advices. Quick support on forums is also a valuable thing. Thanks a lot to CalArt members who created this course.

By Manasi H

Oct 15, 2019

A very well designed and thought-out course!

I have completed the previous 2 in the specialization so far, but this one was the best of the 3 courses I have completed so far!

By Tanushri

Oct 15, 2019

Very extensive course!

By Patrick M

Oct 23, 2019

Thought this was great!

By Ritesh K

Mar 06, 2019

looks like, it got everything needed, & with very precise way..!

Wonderful..!

By Janis D

Sep 24, 2019

Good way tp poush knowledge acquiring via practical exams but would adore even practical more know-how examples on real life examples. Good language and speed

By Ben S

May 29, 2019

it was okay

By Dorothy C

Jun 03, 2019

The course was really basic. I wish there were more exercises with real-life examples and more readings. On the surface of topics were taught.