Chevron Left
Back to Designing Your Personal Weight Loss Plan

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Designing Your Personal Weight Loss Plan by Case Western Reserve University

4.1
stars
429 ratings
114 reviews

About the Course

This 5 week course will guide learners through the essential steps in planning an individualized weight loss program. There is no guarantee of weight loss through completing the course; learners will have the framework and essential components for an evidence-based weight loss program. This course is intended for healthy adults who do not have any chronic disease such as diabetes, high blood pressure, heart disease, lung disease or any others. In addition, this course does not provide information for people who have food allergies or intolerances. Losing weight and keeping it off requires planning and goal-setting. Crash diets or fad diets are ineffective and can be dangerous. This course provides evidence-based information for planning a weight loss program that is safe and effective in producing a one to two pound loss per week. This course will help learners establish the following: 1. A realistic goal weight with a specific plan for rate of weight loss and time frame for achieving goal weight. 2. A realistic goal for the frequency, duration, and intensity of exercise that will enable the learner to achieve and maintain the goal weight. 3. A specific set of strategies for grocery shopping, eating in restaurants, eating at social occasions, and dealing with hunger and emotional eating. 4. A plan for monitoring food intake, exercise and weight loss. 5. A plan for continued evaluation of progress to goals and strategies for adjusting goals for continued weight loss for the next 6 months or longer. 6. A thorough understanding of the difficulty of maintaining weight loss and a plan for maximizing the chances of keeping off the weight lost....

Top reviews

JF

Oct 01, 2020

Great course which I completed with a personal weight loss plan designed by myself. There is a printing error on the certificate though. The name and title of the course instructor are not printed.

SS

Jul 07, 2020

As told by the instructor that we would enjoy the whole course, was amazing experience. I learnt with SWOT, how can we work upon reliable goal under time bound restriction. It enhance my knowledge.

Filter by:

101 - 114 of 114 Reviews for Designing Your Personal Weight Loss Plan

By Brooke L

Jun 05, 2020

Many of the resources that they explain in detail no longer exist and they mention this so they are aware of the problem. They state that they are looking to fix this but the tracker site has been gone since 2018 so I do not think this is the case just something that they state to keep us from emailing them. Almost everything past week 3 utilizes this website that is gone or another where the information they tell you to go to no longer exists.

By Manoj B

Apr 01, 2020

Have completed the course last year on 'audit only' mode.Yet it is showing as 'overdue' , 'in progress'.I did not have access to peer review etc.It is not clear as to what part is overdue and is do-able too.

The course content is too U.S.A. oriented and does not cater to international scenario e.g.the diet suggestions are focussed on American food habits.

By Markus K L

Aug 03, 2019

I did find the course rather shallow. It did not include enogh data and knowledge, but only the most basic things which most of us knew for sure prior to taking the course.

By Emanuelle L

May 30, 2017

Text material was good, but I did not like the videos (they were boring). The teacher gave more emphasis on exercise, and not in healthy home-cooked meals.

By Екатерина А

Feb 19, 2019

Для русскоязычных очень непонятен ,перевода нет

By Ludmila K

Feb 28, 2020

needs to be updated

By tina p

Aug 02, 2020

The notes are not correct. I can't follow the lesson at all. Or is it I must pay for the course then I'll have the full complete noted. For me, I prefer to take the course and pay after I almost complete them because it's worth paying for it. However, many might think otherwise. But still, by restricting the resource available, it'll just look bad for the institution. Just my 2 cents thoughts.

By terica e

Jan 10, 2020

This course is completely out dated. It gives you tools and links to things that no longer exist. The videos are very dab and some of the transcripts do not match the video. The information is very basic and better information can be found on Youtube. I was highly disappointed after the first week.

By Dolores C

Aug 05, 2017

Very little information that isn't widely known. Information presented in a boring way. Only a few quizzes to test understanding.

By Arjun N

May 26, 2020

Only contains very basic, obvious information. Additionally, you must pay to submit any assignments

By Puiu A

Jul 27, 2019

not very useful information, i was was expecting more details, not to be shown some apps

By Lionel J P

May 02, 2018

Not original, educational or motivational

By Andreea P

Jan 20, 2020

Outdated info. Not much personalization.

By Andrea A O J

Jul 21, 2020

Needs to be update it