Chevron Left
Back to Weight Management: Beyond Balancing Calories

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Weight Management: Beyond Balancing Calories by Emory University

4.7
stars
1,119 ratings

About the Course

Across the globe, more people are suffering from obesity than at any other time in our history. Why has obesity become so common and so challenging? In this course, we will look at the root cause of obesity, as explained by the latest science. We will see how our food environment has evolved over the last half-century, and how it is altering our biology to over-consume calories and resist sustained weight loss. We will also see how stress, a sedentary lifestyle, and inadequate sleep disrupt our appetite control system to promote gaining weight. By developing a better understanding of the physiology behind obesity, you will learn how to work with your body to prevent and manage weight gain. This course will also provide practical tools and strategies for creating a long-term, sustainable weight management plan to leverage your habits and your surroundings....

Top reviews

CH

Invalid date

There was very good information to learn from this course. One frustration was the peer reviewed assignments. I do think that you should not have course reading materials that require a subscription.

SG

Invalid date

The course really helped me understand the science behind weight loss and how to achieve it. Loved it, would absolutely recommend to people finding it difficult to shed some pounds.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 365 Reviews for Weight Management: Beyond Balancing Calories

By Kana N

Aug 11, 2020

I could learn about a healthy way to maintain our weight properly from various aspects including not only food, but also excising, sleep, stress and the like.

By andres g

Apr 6, 2020

It is a very comprehensive course that will help you to change some old unhealthy habits and guide you towards a healthier lifestyle with an actual plan.

By Shamal M

Jun 18, 2020

Thank you so much to the mentor for a beautiful insite on weight management, it was well discribed and the assignment are very engaging and informative.

By Mike K

Nov 25, 2020

A very new and refreshing perspective on weight loss. I think anyone with a dietary background should follow this or read the materials of this course!

By Zarghona Y

Jul 12, 2020

latest knowledge and holistic approach towards managing obesity. I am satisfied at my achievement Thank you coursera for providing this oppurtunity.

By Noor u a

May 21, 2020

I learned a lot of new things that I will surely apply in my daily life and share with my peers. I am very thankful to be a part of this course/.

By Kritika K

Jul 3, 2020

This course helped me learn so much ! The modules were well-planned and knowledgeable. Looking forward to do more of such courses from coursera.

By Justin A B

Sep 28, 2020

This a very eye-opening course. It provides me information that I can use to help myself and people around me to obtain a healthier lifestyle.

By DEVAGUPTAPU V L

Sep 16, 2020

I learned how to be healthy and how to manage weight and I will definitely share with my family and friends I loved and enjoyed this course .

By Aamena M A

Jan 11, 2021

it was really helpful , full of facts and useful information that's really beneficial for my field,and useful for my family members as well

By Sonica M

Jul 17, 2020

DIET AS DEFINED ISN'T AS SCARY AS IT IS. UNDERSTANDING FOOD, BASIC REQUIREMENTS IN DIET, PROPORTIONS INTAKE, EVERYTHING EXPLAINED SO WELL.

By Avtar S

May 21, 2022

Hi there,

I loved this course and very well explained. However, I wish , if the course was a little bit more lengthy :)

Thank you,

Avtar S.

By Yvonne C

Dec 27, 2021

I gained alot of knowledge from taking the course, it's simple and easy to understand. wish to see more such courses in the near future.

By Nilufar A

Dec 21, 2019

If you want to understand how to manage your or your clients' weight, study the psychology of Appetite in depth, this course is for you.

By Bhushan D

Jun 20, 2020

Best course for learning all related to weight management as the instructor is very much clear in her knowledge and way of expression.

By Tanjimul H

Jun 8, 2020

It's a really good course to do if someone wants to know about their food intake and wants to change their lifestyle and eating habit.

By SHWETA B

Apr 18, 2022

I like the course very much. Everythimg explained so well. Very minute minute things has been covered in this course. Thanku so much.

By ANAI D H

Mar 11, 2022

Es un gran curso para empezar a entender como funciona la alimentacion y el entranamiento. Hay conceptos basicos que son escensiales

By Lucinda S

Mar 27, 2024

An excellent course, full of helpful information and strategies for success. I highly recommend it for anyone facing this issue.

By Faye K

Apr 6, 2024

Great course! Highly recommend. I learned a lot about changing my dietary habits and why it can be difficult to keep weight off.

By Tosan N

Sep 25, 2022

The course was very easy to understand and the trainer has a lot of knowledge and important inforrmation on the subject matter.

By Ijeoma K

Jul 8, 2020

This course was very informative. It exposed me to my unhealthy habits and gave me sustainable tools to work on my weight goals.

By aishwarya m

Aug 22, 2020

this course was very helpful. I'm so happy that I did something productive in the period of lockdown. All thanks to Coursera!!

By Aimee R

Mar 22, 2021

there should be an option to report users who mark papers as a fail although all the required information is clearly written.

By Summaiyah Z

Mar 30, 2021

This is an excellent course that I came across. All the topics taught were based on scientific evidence. Thank you coursera.