Chevron Left
Back to Weight Management: Beyond Balancing Calories

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Weight Management: Beyond Balancing Calories by Emory University

4.7
stars
585 ratings
198 reviews

About the Course

Across the globe, more people are suffering from obesity than at any other time in our history. Why has obesity become so common and so challenging? In this course, we will look at the root cause of obesity, as explained by the latest science. We will see how our food environment has evolved over the last half-century, and how it is altering our biology to over-consume calories and resist sustained weight loss. We will also see how stress, a sedentary lifestyle, and inadequate sleep disrupt our appetite control system to promote gaining weight. By developing a better understanding of the physiology behind obesity, you will learn how to work with your body to prevent and manage weight gain. This course will also provide practical tools and strategies for creating a long-term, sustainable weight management plan to leverage your habits and your surroundings....

Top reviews

GS

May 26, 2020

The content and flow of the course are optimum and thought-provoking. The quizzes are designed with an inclination towards practical application, which helps one to apply the learnings from the week.

RR

May 18, 2020

There is so much this course taught me about habits that I didn't even realize were unhealthy. A lot of information to take in and hopefully I change my lifestyle accordingly. Thank you so much!

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 197 Reviews for Weight Management: Beyond Balancing Calories

By Guilherme B D

Mar 22, 2020

Excelente!

By Marta L

Oct 22, 2020

muy lindo

By Shuruq A

Mar 24, 2020

I love it

By Hadeer E

May 02, 2020

Great 💙

By Maria K

Sep 15, 2020

Helpful

By Reem A A

Jun 05, 2020

Helpful

By Yurielis A

May 30, 2019

AMAZING

By Боровиков А И

May 21, 2020

Great!

By Vishal S D

May 28, 2020

great

By ISMAIL I

Jul 23, 2020

good

By RANAKISHOR P

Apr 24, 2020

good

By Jenn P

May 25, 2020

1) cannot mark course as completed in audit mode. .... 2) Excellent non-dietary factor discussion. Dietary factors were lacking: this did not discuss the role of serious malabsorption in chronic disease and weight control issues, nor why some people feel better on low carb diets and why they should consider moving to more carbs and DIGESTIBLE fiber anyway once they figure out the underlying issue. Not all people with dietary malabsorption (or celiac) will lose weight and be thin; the more characteristic course is weight fluctuation and gradual loss of muscle and overall health/metabolism, including disrupted thyroid and other hormonal issues. Food logs to analyze the possibility of malabsorption work best if they involve detail on all ingredients and times (malabsorption can set in 2-4 hours after eating, and also be culminative, so the apparent diarrhea trigger is just the final straw.) Doctors can diagnose many cases of celiac with a test, but too many food allergies, lactose, fructose, and other malabsorption go undetected because they can't be "tested for." I ran up thousands of dollars of tests only to be told it was IBS. I had to do the detective work myself over years.

By Ervin J D P

Jun 30, 2020

The course is easy and concise enough for its learners to understand the different dynamics and factors behind weight loss. It is also not too technical that its learners might have a difficult time understanding. I enjoyed the course. I just wish that the accompanying workbook provided was more elaborate and content-filled since it seems too simplified. Overall, I have no regrets taking the course, but some minor improvements to its content and learning material in terms of depth and coverage could still be improved.

By Farida A

Aug 17, 2020

The course material is very good and well explained by the instructor. However, as I dietitian that I was looking to update my knowledge,and expertise, I was expecting much more from the course. And, for the extra reading links, they are all pages that I can find easily on the web. I really wanted more from the course, more advanced level, results and reading from actual studies and scholar articles that we can rad ourselves, not just pointing to them in the lecture. .

By Kamini S

May 19, 2020

The information provided in this course is excellent and informative. I learned a lot of new information in this course and it was presented well. I found the course easy to follow and appreciated all the extra (optional) supplemental reading that was provided.

The peer grading is an exercise in frustration. Many peers do not understand the instructions for marking and the forums are used to ask people to peer grade their assignment.

By Roshny K

Jun 13, 2020

I loved the course and it was insightful particularly for someone like me who is interested in the field but has no background in it. Peer assignments were a bummer here. N I would give 4.5 cuz f it. There were assignments I evaluated which seemed plagiarized n ppl writing one sentence or even phrases or gibberish. There should be an option to submit for revaluation particularly with the language barrier that is there for many.

By Alexa F S Z

Sep 06, 2020

Es un curso bastante completo y sencillo de entender. El contenido es muy bueno y ayuda mucho a entender como funciona el cuerpo humano más allá del consumo de alimentos, incluye como influyen los hábitos, ejercicio, sueño y estrés que en conjunto son muy importantes para un estilo de vida saludable. Muy motivador y sencillo, me gustó mucho.

By Rhonda S

Apr 30, 2020

Thank you for some very intriguing information. I appreciate the positive spin you used. Only reason not 5 stars is that I took it for no credit- have done everything I could and now it says things are missing. The missing items are locked an not part of my course- so it is a glitch. The information and presentation were both excellent.

By Hadassah A E

Oct 19, 2020

This course brought me to a better understanding of the mechanisms of weight gain and weight loss in the human body. It brought me to knowing more on how obesity is being affected by a combination of sometimes ignored factors like rest, stress, and exercise. I thank Emory University and my professor for making a great job. Kudos!

By Sandra J

Apr 20, 2020

Very structured, short but clear conveying of basic information concerning weight management. the workbook is a nice feature and there are a lot of external references to read more detailed information. I enjoyed this course

By Luis F S

Aug 03, 2020

It's a good course overall. Nonetheless, I think it uses arbitrary definitions to establish what is an "ultra-processed" food, considering that there is no scientific consensus on this criteria.

By Irene L R

May 18, 2020

El curso está bien, lástima que no te deje terminarlo si no pagas el certificado. Muchos artículos que propone como lectura están bastante bien.

By Mansoor M

Aug 24, 2020

Good course for understanding how the body responds to weight loss and what strategy to follow to maintain a healthy weight.

By MAHIMA.R

Apr 19, 2020

This course is really good. After finishing this course, I understood the process behind making diet plans.

By Eyob A

Jun 03, 2020

I would give it a 5 but I couldn't get an achievement for completing it without paying so its a 4.