Chevron Left
Back to Improving Communication Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Improving Communication Skills by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
1,482 ratings
389 reviews

About the Course

Learn how to communicate more effectively at work and achieve your goals. Taught by award-winning Wharton professor and best-selling author Maurice Schweitzer, Improving Communications Skills is an essential course designed to give you both the tools you need to improve your communication skills, and the most successful strategies for using them to your advantage. You'll learn how to discover if someone is lying (and how to react if they are), how to develop trust, the best method of communication for negotiation, and how to apologize. You'll also learn when to cooperate and when to compete, how to create persuasive messages, ask thoughtful questions, engage in active listening, and choose the right medium (face-to-face conversation, video conference, phone call, or email) for your messages. By the end of the course, you'll be able to understand what others want, respond strategically to their wants and needs, craft convincing and clear messages, and develop the critical communication skills you need to get ahead in business and in life....

Top reviews

MG
Mar 11, 2020

This course surpassed my expectation. I can not only apply what I have learned in my professional life but also can help me to improve some personal aspects, like communication with my family members.

SP
Sep 9, 2020

An absolutely wonderful course on communication skills. Its a course every professional should take as it teaches the very basics of communication that we all should incorporate and practice everyday.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 382 Reviews for Improving Communication Skills

By Ankit N

Feb 3, 2020

This course has helped me understand different ways to effectively communicate and my favorite was learning about goal setting.

By RUSSELL L

Jul 21, 2019

It is indeed a very engaging course which should be further developed and deepened into likes of negotiation, persuasion, NLP

By ALIND J

Sep 2, 2017

GOOD COURSE TO MAKE YOUR BASE STRONG THAT IS Psychology IN COMMUNICATION IS DISCUSSED THROUGH WORLD CLASS BEAUTIFUL EXAMPLES

By 喵鲁

Jul 23, 2020

实用且详细,谈到了合作和竞争的关系,竞争对心态的影响,竞争由哪种社会性因素组成

信任,该信任谁,欺骗是如何工作的,欺骗违规的本质,识别&应对欺骗,如何道歉

如何沟通,传递信息,收集信息,如何问问题,如何倾听,

沟通媒体的使用,关于威胁,目标设定,关于结束

By Patricia K

Mar 13, 2021

very good I learned a lot that would help me to do my job better. communication is very important both at work and private.

By Mujtaba H

Nov 1, 2018

I love the instructor sir Maurice, that brilliant way he have to demonstrate with examples, and excellent course outline.

By Mazen T H Y

Jun 22, 2018

Really interesting course and informative i enjoyed it much and helps anyone to greatly develop his communication skills.

By Sara L

Mar 5, 2021

It was very informative and interesting! It made see things from another prespective. Professor Maurice did a great job!

By Daniel C M

Feb 22, 2021

This course explains the basics of Human Learning. It is a "must" for every person who aspires to a leadership position.

By M*** G

Apr 13, 2020

The first 2 lessons are a bit more theoretical. the latter ones are more juicy and full of stories. Really nice course.

By Claudia A G

Nov 27, 2017

I loved the instructor. He was very engaging and made the course and the material very interesting.

Claudia A. Greenwald

By Hannah R

May 18, 2020

Great instruction and engaging material! I really enjoyed this course and look forward to putting these skills to use.

By Kamran A M

Aug 27, 2017

Content of the course is very good, using case studies based on professional, personal and social lives of the people.

By Patricia G P

Aug 9, 2020

It is really useful and interesting. It opened my eyes about things that I have never considered. Totally recommended

By Peter B

Sep 1, 2019

Thought this course should be required for anyone interested in leading and managing people. Excellent information.

By Alexander M

Apr 16, 2020

Extremely interesting and informative. Looking forward to start applying this highly pragmatic material. Thank you!

By Robert G S P

Jan 8, 2019

Strongly recommend this for the context of communicating in a corporate context and in the context of negotiations.

By Kevin L

Jun 1, 2020

This course was well put together. The information was exceptionally delivered and easily understood. Thank you!

By Omer M A M

Apr 17, 2020

it was most useful training that I have since long time ago, Thanks for the great efforts and clear explanation

By Mario E T A

Feb 12, 2020

Great material and content, very easy to understand due to the small capsules of information for each module.

By Nicolás F

Apr 19, 2020

Helps structure in your head what you have probably already experienced in real life negotiation situations.

By Biplab K S

Jul 18, 2018

The course is in detail to improve effective communication skill development. It will helpful. Thanks a lot.

By Dawn E B

Apr 16, 2020

Great course! Gave me some great tools to improve communication in my current career as a military officer.

By Kalum D S

Jun 18, 2020

I enjoyed this course thoroughly. I got so much out of this and highly recommend this course to everyone.

By ben a

Oct 26, 2020

Very useful and practical! Would recommend fellow learners to use some of the practical tactics at work.