Chevron Left
Back to Viral Marketing and How to Craft Contagious Content

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Viral Marketing and How to Craft Contagious Content by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
3,727 ratings
1,247 reviews

About the Course

Ever wondered why some things become popular, and other don't? Why some products become hits while others flop? Why some ideas take off while others languish? What are the key ideas behind viral marketing? This course explains how things catch on and helps you apply these ideas to be more effective at marketing your ideas, brands, or products. You'll learn how to make ideas stick, how to increase your influence, how to generate more word of mouth, and how to use the power of social networks to spread information and influence. Drawing on principles from his best-selling book, "Contagious: Why Things Catch On," Professor Jonah Berger illustrates successful strategies for you to use buzz to create virality so that your campaigns become more shareable on social media and elsewhere. By the end of this course, you'll have a better understanding of how to craft contagious content, build stickier messages, and get any product, idea, or behavior to catch on....

Top reviews

VT

Apr 05, 2020

The course is very helpful and informative. I enjoy all the examples and materials of it. Totally recommend this course to people who want to further improve their influence as an effective marketer!

RC

Dec 21, 2018

Pleasant tone, many tangible illustrations that bring the theory to life. Well-balanced pace. Could be complemented by a practical exercise - but perfect for working professionals who have less time.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 1,230 Reviews for Viral Marketing and How to Craft Contagious Content

By Uchenna N

Dec 09, 2015

This course provides material vital to the success of any marketing campaign. I learned what makes products and services more appealing to their target market, and how this information is shared. I recommend this course for any small business owner or marketing professional.

By Estela M

Oct 29, 2016

An extraordinary course that teaches clearly that is needed for our content to become viral. It's not luck thing is to apply what we learn in our company here. You're a beginner or not, here you will learn new techniques that worked to expand your brand. Highly recommended.

By Kate D

Feb 07, 2018

I participated in this course, I read his book and I'm in love. I love how easy he breaks down core concepts in marking and helps a student and business person like myself walk away with action items. I learned things I could use to improve my marketing strategy tomorrow!

By abhishek p s

Dec 31, 2016

It is an awesome course and has taught me a lot. It teaches as to why creating viral content is not a random phenomenon, but ha science behind it. It teaches creating sticky ideas, use of Networks, Marketing strategies and a lot more. All in all, it is a very nice course.

By Kevin H

Dec 22, 2016

I feel like I understand everything that's both annoyed me and provoked my interest about marketing and the things that spread through social media. Presented excellently with confidence in the research!

Very thankful for the wealth of information provided in this course!

By Juliesse M C

May 10, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. It is given that I learned a lot but what surprised me the most is how fun and enjoyable the lessons were. They weren't dragging. Jonah Berger is such a great speaker that I felt like I was just talking to a friend while learning from him.

By Lorraine S Y L

May 04, 2020

Professor Jonah Berger's lectures are very engaging, with good use of his tone of voice. The course material, examples and case studies are applicable to one's daily life hence, it'll be easier to recall and apply what we have learnt. Highly recommended course to take.

By Jenney S

Apr 17, 2020

Jonah Berger is engaging and funny whilst opening your eyes to situations and possibilities through stories. The course is a brilliant taster for the subject matter and makes you want to discover more of his work, like an angry panda whose cheese you've just rejected.

By Jasmine C

Apr 20, 2017

I love this course! There is a lot of useful information. He explains everything in a way that is simple and easy to understand. This course has valuable information that I'm sure will help me in the future when I try to market my products. I definitely recommend it!!

By Md. A F K

Jun 20, 2020

Prof. Berger is an amazing teacher. This entire lecture was fascinating, intriguing and thought provoking at the same time. Myself being a lecturer of marketing will be able to teach my students much better with the examples and analogies I've learnt in this course.

By Ada T

Sep 08, 2019

A lot of this course is based on the topics Professor Berger spoke about in "Contagious". It was an interesting course and I think if applied in all marketing strategies, can be helpful in determining how successful a campaign could be. I enjoyed taking this course!

By marjorie f c

Apr 07, 2020

I enjoyed the course immensely. The lectures were both interesting and informative and I can honestly say that I have learned something new. I now have a set of tools and knowledge that I can apply to my work. The course has definitely met most of my objectives.

By Zannina A

Apr 11, 2020

Apart from the well structured classes and the great instructor what is most fascinating is that the key messages which are meant to be conveyed, effortlessly stick to your mind and you are finishing the course knowing that it felt great to enrol for this course.

By Barry S S

Jun 13, 2020

I loved it! Once I got started I couldn't stop learning. The lecturer knows how to get your attention with his captivating stories. A very practical way to get your ideas, messages, products and services to stick with customers and to trigger them into action.

By Rajvi S

Nov 18, 2018

It's really very innovative idea of sharing a thing like that....the idea of crafting a contagious content is just eye catching and interesting...and is really very helpful...and I enjoyed learning the science and psychology behind the popularity of a product!

By Vinitt J

May 19, 2020

Great content and i thoroughly enjoyed the course. The professor had an in-depth knowledge about the subject. However he should have mentioned this book "The Tipping Point" as many of the things has already been discussed by Malcolm Gladwell. Thanks anyways

By Abrar

Nov 09, 2017

Professor Berger makes every lesson so easy to understand. His clear and relevant examples behind each information is so contagious that it sticks to my brain even after finishing this wonderful course. The lessons got are priceless & I highly recommend it!

By Gautam K

Apr 16, 2016

Excellent course. Very insightful, well structured and supplemented by thought provoking examples to illustrate the underlying content. I will definitely use the knowledge I learnt in this class to make my data and content stick in people's minds. Cheers :)

By Zangziqing

Apr 23, 2016

It is a quite interesting course that enables you to understand how we can best create information more memorable and even impress other people. You get inspired by being shared with those useful principles that are applicable to many domains of our life

By Ann-Elise K

Nov 20, 2017

I have started numerous Coursera courses, and finished few. This course kept me engaged throughout. Lectures were well delivered, content was creative and relevant and I received some take away suggestions and reminders from each week. I highly recommend.

By Conćhita T

Sep 26, 2017

I took this course because I'm curious about Marketing and how I want to know so much more about it,

Had so much fun learning about Crafting Contagious content that can go Viral, I applaud sir Jonah Berger for making this Course worth it and Educational.

By Janet R

Apr 12, 2020

This was an easy course but the professor was engaging and the content was interesting and fun. I learned a lot and have a lot to think about. I’ll refer back to the concepts in this course often as I reposition my small business and redesign my website.

By Amy D

Sep 29, 2016

A very well made course! Professor Berger has an engaging teaching style that makes learning both easy and fun! I never found myself getting bored with his lectures and, in fact, looked forward to watching them as I knew I was going to enjoy each module.

By Timothy L

Mar 21, 2020

This course was incredibly quick and effective in properly analyzing the uses of marketing. I was able to acquire a thorough understanding of how content is spread throughout the world and how to properly leverage social media to generate positive buzz.

By Reynald S

May 03, 2017

I'm very thankful to Wharton and Coursera for such an amazing content. The course is well structured and the content is presented in an extraordinary way. I wish there is a Specialisation on this topic with more content and a capstone

Thanks Prof. Jonah.