Chevron Left
Back to Customer Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Customer Analytics by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
9,395 ratings
2,077 reviews

About the Course

Data about our browsing and buying patterns are everywhere. From credit card transactions and online shopping carts, to customer loyalty programs and user-generated ratings/reviews, there is a staggering amount of data that can be used to describe our past buying behaviors, predict future ones, and prescribe new ways to influence future purchasing decisions. In this course, four of Wharton’s top marketing professors will provide an overview of key areas of customer analytics: descriptive analytics, predictive analytics, prescriptive analytics, and their application to real-world business practices including Amazon, Google, and Starbucks to name a few. This course provides an overview of the field of analytics so that you can make informed business decisions. It is an introduction to the theory of customer analytics, and is not intended to prepare learners to perform customer analytics. Course Learning Outcomes: After completing the course learners will be able to... Describe the major methods of customer data collection used by companies and understand how this data can inform business decisions Describe the main tools used to predict customer behavior and identify the appropriate uses for each tool Communicate key ideas about customer analytics and how the field informs business decisions Communicate the history of customer analytics and latest best practices at top firms...

Top reviews

MA

Aug 05, 2020

This course includes a comprehensive overview of the all the basic models that are used to analyze data concerning customer behavior. The real-life examples made it easier to relate to those theories.

ND

Jan 31, 2019

Though I have worked on Customer Analytics with my previous work experiences and also on Surveys etc at George Brown College Canada, this module was more than insightful. Lots of learning to learn eh!

Filter by:

1276 - 1300 of 2,019 Reviews for Customer Analytics

By Shailesh S

Nov 08, 2015

Course is very useful, lots of key insights and knowledge shared by professors. The concepts are easy to understand. The models (the calculations behind) are a bit difficult to understand. I wish those were explained in one of the videos (instead of them being in reference/reading materials). Also, one or two practical examples (companies, businesses) showing end to end analytics (descriptive, predictive and prescriptive) as to the findings and actions from each would have made it even better. In any case, overall, highly recommended for those interested in understanding customer centricity analytics.

By Mithun

Feb 13, 2019

The questions have not be revised for correctness. Professor. Fader's quiz questions were hard to understand especially when negative connotations were used in the sentence 'not a beta....' OR ' not favor a probability....' . These questions threw me off so please rectify the quizzes here and in the future quizzes for my time & benefit as well as for the rest of the students. You do not have to make the questions easy but I do not want to spend time thinking of your underlying meaning but would rather put thought in solving for something other than English. Please have these quizzes re-read.

By M A S

May 14, 2020

It is a great course and even though I have a decent amount of knowledge in marketing, I was still able to learn new concepts and new ways of applying the concepts in order to gain more customers.

The course could be even better if there were small practice quizzes after each video as it will help to reinforce the concepts in the minds of the students and also I personally believe that the course should be slightly rearranged and restructured in such a way that there should be at least one case study video related to the main subject matter for each of the first 4 weeks.

By Lassata S

Sep 04, 2020

I think at the end of Week 5, Prof Bradlow gave very interesting insights on the past & future methods of marketing analytics. Great explanation and inspired me to learn more about the technicalities of customer analytics. This course is a great beginner course because most of the modules only gave introduction on all the types and steps of customer analytics (like general explanation on descriptive, predictive & prescriptive analytics). I was hoping it would get a bit more technical into the data but I still gained few important insights regardless. Thank you.

By Aji A

Jun 30, 2017

The course is well structured. In order to grasp things better, learners should note down the important points so that you can refer it in the future. Quizzes in-between each module are sometimes confusing, but there is always a chance to improve your scores, that is the best part. Some lecture videos are lengthy, which sometimes leads to boredom. I suggest learners to take small breaks in-between lectures and then go ahead with the rest of the part. Thanking you Coursera for empowering students to learn new skills with the help of your non-credit courses.

By Diogo G M

Oct 01, 2018

The course is very informative, concise, and most of the teachers are truly passionate about what they are talking about. The examples are amazing and very good depictions of the reality. It is also interesting that these examples are broad and cover different markets.

However, it would be great if the level of english of some of the teachers would be more understandable to International students. Most importantly, it would be great if some of the quizzes were reviewed by Native English speakers. Some questions have to be inferred and not understood.

By Anupama P V

Nov 17, 2015

Great content with both the marketing theory aspects and the practical mathematical computations. The quizzes were challenging at an intermediate level, and really made us think about the hows and whys of the topics covered in the videos. The professors are all very enthusiastic (esp. Prof Fader) about the topic and this makes the videos extremely engaging. Only downside was that it would have been nice to have the data used for the customer RFM and other calculations, for our own tinkering and learning process. Overall, excellent course.

By Andres C A

Mar 11, 2018

Customer Analytics is eye openning, this course changed the perspective I had on the business I'm in charge of, at this moment I'm not aware of hoy my customers behave over time, how many of them have churned or wich of them will likely keep using my service, I had no focus at all of my customer behavior.

I gave 4 out of 5 because the course gives you a general prespective, it would be great if you could get some kind of homework to apply these lessons to real life. I'll try to make the excercises with my costumer data base.

By Antonio V

Mar 07, 2016

Extremely interesting topic. Some of the course material needs in my opinion some rework, in particular the Predictive Analytics week. Additional teaching or reading material would help better understand the nuances / deeper insights of the topic and be better prepared for the Quiz.

I'm NOT saying the quiz should be easier, far from that, I'm just saying more material is needed to better grasp the different topics and be more successful in the quiz as it is today.

Amazing topic and Faculty! Keep it up!

By Sahil G

Aug 08, 2016

A great course for an introduction to the world of Analytics. It is a very well drafted course which hits the right balance between a little more than just introduction, and in-depth knowledge of the subject. If you are new to this field and want to explore it, this course is perfect for you. It gives an interesting insight to the heights of usage of analytics in the world around us. By the end of the course, you will be able to answer yourself the question that should you be pursuing this field.

By Giancarlo P

Mar 16, 2019

Basic course on how to get a basic knowledge and literacy on the subject. I would have liked more real-life oriented questions - the chapter about customer centricity (Fader) is more about theoretical accomplishments and publications by the course professors, with lots of theory in it more than "how do I get to solve important corporate day to day business problems with this kind of knowledge"?. But it's every university-level course flaw, I guess.

Letting this alone, great course.

By Krzysztof S

Nov 14, 2015

Lecturers apparently have huge knowledge which is appreciated. However, I wish there is more knowledge in the materials/videos (for now, I think we just touch the subject without diving into the details). In addition, some of the exam questions were not covered in the materials (in my belief). However, this may be an advantage, that made me browse internet for more information which probably impact my learning process positively!

Anyway, I found this course as a good one!

Thanks!

By Khushbu W

Feb 21, 2018

I feel so awesome after going through this course! Its really informative but I really wished there was more to do and learn while elaborating concepts , more deeper. I understand its not possible to do so for online courses, but I really want to dig down more on this and it has definitely opened new doors for my thinking towards customers & monetising business! Thanks a ton to all the lovely instructors without whom this concept would never have dawned on me!

By José L S E

May 05, 2020

En mi caso no tuve problemas con el idioma pero los subtítulos en español tienden un poco a confundirte, ya que hay métricas y conceptos cuyo origen es, netamente, en inglés. Si conoces un poco de inglés será más que suficiente. Por otro lado, los temas muy buenos. Tienen que tener en cuenta que es un curso enfocado en la aplicación del customer analytics para la toma de decisiones de negocio; para nada operativo.

By Yi X B

Oct 01, 2019

Overall the material is solid. You need to have some marketing/analytical knowledge, otherwise some terminology or concept can be a little challenging to gasp at times. In my opinion, week 3 and week 4 were the most challenging in terms of depth of material and wording of the quiz questions. Week 5 was really interesting because there were many great examples that most of us can relate on a day-to-day basis.

By Rodrigo A

Jun 14, 2020

The course provides high-level information but lacks a bit more of details or resources for people to know how to start applying the models. In addition, some info is already outdated in 2020 and could benefit from a refresh for the applications and case studies. Overall, it's a decent course to provide a high-level understanding of customer analytics for non-statistical / marketing people.

By Lilly N

Jul 31, 2020

Really cool and informative course -- changed the way I see analytics and the purpose of data collection! Really interesting and informative perspectives and research is shared. I felt like I was being lectured to and the quizzes are surprisingly challenging! I would loved to get some practice quizzes on regression and getting practice with excel-based questions and calculations.

By RASHMI K

Jul 16, 2019

Rich content with great examples. Professors are awesome.

My feedback would be to provide better content in the slides so we can review them at a later point in time and understand. The slides currently are very abstract.

The other feedback is some of the questions for the quiz are difficult to understand and more to do with how the question is interpreted rather than being tricky.

By Shalini U

Feb 06, 2018

Insightful course....helping to catch up executives with the latest developments in Marketing Analytics.While it is good for a high-level strategic overview,I would've also liked some intro into specific tool-boxes and models.( say,NLP,or use of MARS,,etc.)

Additionally, pls provide specific reading for Prescriptive Analysis section ( for students without economic background)

By Kerry B

Jun 22, 2017

It would be better/more helpful if the professors taught the actual models that business analysts use every day. I am just getting into business analytics from a different field, and would have appreciated learning/knowing how to perform things such as probability models, churn models, etc. that they reference in their videos. Overall this course was a good introduction.

By Fitrie R

Jun 29, 2020

I love most when Prof Eric Bradlow tell how tremendous of impact using customer analytics in different corporate. However real to-do-assignment is still missing here (such as work with modelling in real programming). I think this course is good for having an insight what customer analytics can do in various field. Thanks a lot Prof, highly appreciated for the knowledge

By Sarp E

Mar 18, 2016

Great class for everyone. I am an industrial engineering student and I am constantly using regression analysis. It was great to know how I can use different statistical methods used in quality management in other disciplines.

As a recommendation: Applications part was my favourite so I would like to see more applications of customer analytics by big companies.

By Ram S

Aug 18, 2016

Being in the industry, we tend to take things for granted and this course enabled me to course correct my view on how technology combined with market research is changing the customer dynamics. I enjoyed every module and the professors were very sensitive to deliver the complex content in a easy-to-understand manner. Looking forward to the next modules.

By hongwei l

Jul 20, 2017

it would be greater if the course can show us more real-world case study from what data we have and what we gonna do with the data to have that recommendation for the company. So far it is more likely to be a conceptual course that show us what kind of technologies and what data is trending now. But overall, a very good course for BA beginners :)

By Aaron F

Feb 18, 2016

This course provided a good overview of the concepts and applications of data analytics in business. Learning about how to analyze customer behavior was interesting and very applicable to real life. Some of the quiz questions were difficult, and having the ability to review and understand right/wrong answers for study would be helpful.