Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Corporate Finance

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Corporate Finance by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
4,434 ratings
834 reviews

About the Course

This course provides a brief introduction to the fundamentals of finance, emphasizing their application to a wide variety of real-world situations spanning personal finance, corporate decision-making, and financial intermediation. Key concepts and applications include: time value of money, risk-return tradeoff, cost of capital, interest rates, retirement savings, mortgage financing, auto leasing, capital budgeting, asset valuation, discounted cash flow (DCF) analysis, net present value, internal rate of return, hurdle rate, payback period....

Top reviews

LL

Oct 22, 2016

The professor is very patient, he spends a lot of time making sense of the equations and the calculation process, which helps me comprehend the concepts and their application really a lot. Thank you!

LK

Aug 04, 2019

Really enjoyed this class. The course materials were laid out in a way that really made sense, I appreciated the weekly slides. I learned a lot and wish I could delve more deeply into this topic.

Filter by:

751 - 775 of 814 Reviews for Introduction to Corporate Finance

By Gunduz

Jan 10, 2016

The overall course is interesting, however it is my belief that the course lacks structure.

The materials for each week do not seem to have any obvious relationship with each other.

Also, the weekly content could have been more broad.

By Steven M

Nov 14, 2015

Very shallow introduction; way too much focus on calculating some numbers with easy equations using a calculator; on this level it doesn't matter to crunch numbers, focus should be on understanding general concepts.

By Daniel D

Aug 10, 2017

No one responds to questions in the forums. For a math-heavy course, there are too many errors in the module to not have response ready. Also, the course does not situate the theory to a broader context.

By Chloe F

May 19, 2020

Good course

good quality videos

Would be better if terminology and vocabulary specific to the course was more focused on at some point in the course. Or provide a vocabulary list with definitions

By Lauren P

Apr 27, 2020

Enjoyed and easily understood weeks 1 and 2. Weeks 3 and 4 moved quite quickly and would have liked to have seen more examples and a slower pace to really understand the material.

By Alessandro o

Sep 12, 2019

That's a little bit of a pity that so interesting material got a bit went over so quickly. I think there's so much thing in there that hasn't been explained

By Nolan S

Jul 14, 2020

I knew A BUNCH of this stuff already and I've never taken a finance class. They give a good overview, but definitely does not go in depth on anything

By Mateusz H

Mar 27, 2016

Much less content than a previous version, lack of answers after solving the assignments does not help to understand where a mistake was made.

By James G

Jun 30, 2020

The professor doesn't really go into much detail. Feels like he rushes the course, but the information he does provide is helpful.

By Dan B

Jul 30, 2017

Content was great - videos were super helpful, but the lessons and test didn't give the opportunity to really learn the material

By Roberta H E

Jan 27, 2016

I liked very much this course, in my opinion from the middle of the course went a little bit down but well explained!

By Francesco M

Sep 20, 2017

Videos are very good, and course structure too.

Slides may be a bit more detailed and accurate.

great value overall.

By Aizada M k

Aug 01, 2018

It was much less explanatory to those new to the subject. Intro to Accounting by Brian Bushee was much better!

By John D R

Mar 27, 2016

Good content, manageable workload. Weak delivery. Videos come off like rough drafts. Professor had errors in

By ABHIMANYU B

May 25, 2020

Many Concepts like CAPM. Cost of capital etc. are missing. Please put up the whole of the course. Regards.

By aman g

Feb 01, 2016

Good beginner course on corporate finance , which can be understood well if we know bit of accounting

By ZHENGHAO Z

Sep 19, 2017

A little suggestion is you can use Excel to solve the problem and it will be a lot quicker.

By Arman A

Apr 19, 2016

Good introduction to the concepts. I guess I knew already a bit on the topic, and would ha

By Nimesh P

Aug 25, 2020

Quiz was way too easy and clearly very lazily written. Doesn't really test any knowledge.

By Itay V

Mar 30, 2020

a bit too short and too simple for this specialization. But otherwise concise and clear

By Pranav K

Jun 18, 2019

Gave less practice as compared to other courses and didn't explain concepts in detail.

By Imanol A

Mar 15, 2017

Seems incomplete. At the end of the last lecture he talks about viewing another topic

By Alessandro D P

Nov 05, 2017

Plenty of maths and formulas but very few theory behind those calculations.

By Ashu S

May 04, 2016

Very short course. Could have easily covered few more relevant topics.

By Vinnie C

Mar 31, 2016

It's okay.. but just too little information.. I was expecting more..