Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Marketing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Marketing by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
10,931 ratings
2,145 reviews

About the Course

Taught by three of Wharton's top faculty in the marketing department, consistently ranked as the #1 marketing department in the world, this course covers three core topics in customer loyalty: branding, customer centricity, and practical, go-to-market strategies. You’ll learn key principles in - Branding: brand equity is one of the key elements of keeping customers in a dynamic world in which new startups are emerging constantly. - Customer centricity: not synonymous with customer service, customer centricity starts with customer focus and need-gathering. - Go-to-market strategies: understand the drivers that influence customers and see how these are implemented prior to making an investment. Complete this course as part of Wharton's Business Foundations Specialization, and you'll have the opportunity to take the Capstone Project and prepare a strategic analysis and proposed solution to a real business challenge from Wharton-governed companies like Shazam and SnapDeal or to a challenge faced by your own company or organization. Wharton-trained staff will evaluate the top submissions, and leadership teams at Shazam and SnapDeal will review the highest scoring projects prepared for their companies....

Top reviews

AS
Apr 29, 2021

Learnt a lot of concepts in marketing that were hiding in plain sight. I want to thank all the professors who were part of making this course and Wharton online for making this accessible to everyone.

AT
Jun 8, 2017

This course enhanced my perspective, I took it parallel to my ongoing courese, the cases discussed in this module helped me to analyse the application of various marketing concepts. Thanks a lot...!

Filter by:

1726 - 1750 of 2,116 Reviews for Introduction to Marketing

By Johanna S

Oct 23, 2020

This course covers a lot of material and gives a good overview of the field of marketing. I would have appreciated having more readings or extension opportunities--there were no projects or other ways to put into practice the ideas I was learning and only 2 suggested short readings. For students who are looking to grow their skill set, both projects and readings are important. It's also clear that they updated module 3 at some point with a different professor, as the original professor is mentioned in both the syllabus and the final test, which is confusing.

By Matthew M

Apr 1, 2020

I really enjoyed this course

There was every effort to go through everything as methodically as possible and I very much enjoyed listening to all of the lecturers. You get the impression that they are passionate about the subject, and it really made the course more enjoyable overall.

My only criticism is the week 3 content was just too long. I felt that the message could still have been put across with about half of the content.

Overall very helpful though, especially to someone who has never encountered these ideas before

By Chelsia B

Nov 10, 2016

I really enjoyed how this course laid out the steps of how to think about product, presentation, and audience. I see that the old and new ways of getting exposure for a product work together to make finding an audience possible. Small business owners can gain an advantage in learning marketing, however the gain is where to, how to, who to, and expectation of results. As a small business owner, I'm responsible for taking all the steps. It is good to see that there is a process.

By Krista I

Jan 24, 2021

Informative but I didn't find the quiz format helpful. I understand that you don't want people to just copy the answers but not providing the right answer doesn't allow us to learn what the right answer is. I suggest directing the viewer to which video to watch again to understand the information. I was quizzed on some topics several times and never got the answer right because it wasn't worth it to view an hour or two of video to try to find out where it was mentioned.

By Emi K

Jul 15, 2018

Really appreciated the primer, but was hoping to go into more depth on the marketing funnel and to hear a bit more in terms of the quantitative work being done in marketing to calculate CLV and RLV and to see some old brand "bibles" from companies to see the information on POD and POP expressed in the real world. I also felt sales bias was not covered as in-depth as it could have been given the amount of real estate is was given on the quiz in week 2 and the final exam.

By Andres T

Nov 2, 2016

Very interesting course. Although it is not specific but rather conceptual and abstract, it does provide information on the core aspects of business such as STP, brand positioning, customer-centric markets, effects of social networks and geographic factors that may impact the selling of a certain product, brand karma, advantages of online purchase vs offline, the merging of both and also the synergy between both.. It is definitely a nice course to start with.

By Mohamed A Z

Nov 4, 2018

I found the course informative and concise. I t familiarised me with up to date theories and marketing practices and information. I think it could be made a bit more interesting with use of unique company examples and more in depth analysis on their use of certain practices like Customer centricity and modernisation. Video of company commercials and mission statements promo videos could also be added for added value. Thanks to the professors that being said.

By Kunal J

Apr 11, 2020

The content of the program is great. Only the structure needs a bit of improvement. For instance, we speak about Brands in the start and then we again speak about brand, i think it would have been easier to consume if these were integrated. Secondly, the sections covered by Prof. Raju were primarily - Promotion, Price and Place, it would be again easier to digest if the 4Ps are introduced and then each section/module is called Pricing, Place..and so on.

By SIWAT P

Jan 25, 2021

On Branding, Customer Centricity and Applied Marketing section, professors are enthusiastic person. I am enjoy while learning on this sections. Anyhow, on Marketing Strategy section, professor looks lifeless, also his voice is monotone. Although, his contents and study cases are very interesting and go into details, but I had always stop VDO clip at all time, get a bit exercise and returned to learn accordingly.

By nora b

Feb 23, 2016

One of the best courses I have taken at Coursera (and I have done a few!), very well done.

I would like to offer a suggestion: The examples and cases presented are quite similar as the majority of them are products related. There are very few service related brands. It would be nice if a border range of examples were offered especially in the branding module.

Thank you for this course, it was very enjoyable

nora

By Lilian W K

Apr 6, 2019

Great course content, made me think through the concepts in relation to the companies and products that I am familiar with. The content for the Go to Market Strategies was a bit difficult to follow especially the second half of it especially for someone who has no prior experience or interaction with quite a lot of those concepts. Maybe needs just a little bit more unpacking or additional examples.

By Mark M

Mar 4, 2018

Overall I enjoyed the course. It was not only a refresher but also an introduction to new ideas. The lectures were well presented. The only draw back was more often than not a slide was but shown in the blink of an eye without being able to fully appreciate it's content. Obligating to watch the entire video to access the slides and in my case copy them for future reference. Thank you.

By Bahram S D

Dec 1, 2015

I am only on the second week of work and already have been impressed by how the set up of this course has been implemented. I have learned a lot of information from this course even though I hold a business marketing diploma. this course serves as a refresher course if you will, and update to new concepts and lessons. keep up the good work, I hope this course gains a large following.

By Nick C

Oct 26, 2017

Overall the course was enlightening. However, I had a hard time following Professor Bell's series. The didn't seem nearly as organized as the others with graphics that re-inforced the narrative, and often there were subjects that were introduced in the beginning of the lecture that were never discussed again. As a result, I kept on looking for materials that never were addressed.

By João B S d S

Jul 5, 2021

Good overview of Marketing which covers "classic" and "new" ideas from this field.

Unfortunately, the only thing that doesn't let this course be great is week 3. I don't doubt the professor's knowledge on the matter, but the pacing and delivery just isn't great. I believe that the course would work much better either without that content or with a more "enthusiastic" take on it.

By Eric K F

Dec 26, 2015

Feedback for course instructors:

Final exam seemed like there were questions that were from other videos than those used for the course? Q #30 had one option that started with the words "incorrect option" - I believe you don't mean to show that! Q34 about Oldsmobile was not part of the lectures that I remember. Both questions 9 & 15 didn't seem to be discussed by the lectures.

By Ahmed G M

Oct 12, 2016

It's amazing course. It gives anyone a lot of marketing concepts it's really the window to enter the marketing world. Every section of each professor really may be a whole specialization of 4 courses at least. I've acquired a very helpful and academic knowledge could be applied in real market... I'm so grateful to all professors for their amazing efforts. Many thanks

By Pranjali K

Mar 24, 2020

A great way to understand the dynamics of Marketing and how to think from a customer perspective. Professor Kahn, Professor Fader and Professor Raju have kept the course lively with lots of relatable examples. Must do course for anyone who is planning to venture into Marketing or is looking to understand what thought process goes behind marketing a product/service.

By Vivek K S

Apr 6, 2020

One of the best course designed with pragmatic and realistic approach, a real primer to marketing professional to hone key concepts and be competitive. This course is complied well and touch upon not only key trends (Digital as well as traditional) but also explained the science behind to take hyper data and analytics drive decision to grow the company

By Louis S

Apr 27, 2016

My major is Marketing & I have read lots of books also interacted with variety of materials, but Mrsave . Barbara Kann from Wharton University gave me another view about Marketing for the way to approach problems and disolve it. We also have a chance to review knowledge through sudden multiple choice question. It's pretty useful & attracted.

By Daniele P

Jul 5, 2020

I am totally new to marketing. I enjoyed this course, I found it easy to follow, informative and interesting. I liked the pdf at the beginning with the course structure/ content. I think that pdfs of the slides (as they put in accounting and managing human resources courses of the business foundation specialization) would have been nice.

By Anderson K

Jan 4, 2017

My perspective, in the begining of this course, was of someone that had never been in touch with the marketing world. So, all the concepts were new. That's probably potentialized my fascination with the material I was exposed to. The course is great and the professors are really good in explaining all the new concepts. I recommend it!

By Darla J B M

Mar 23, 2016

I worked in Marketing a long time but still learned some new and interesting ideas. I liked the class very much. I wish there were flash cards or some type of study aid. With working full time and a family, making my own is time consuming and I would have liked the tools to get more out of this. Very insightful none the less.

By Yuri B

Aug 19, 2020

I think for an on-line course that people from various countries and nationalities can take, the teachers need to be more appealing. One in particular I had a hard time keeping because of the accent and the pacing, but his knowledge is undeniably good. I just think that for this kind of course he probably is not a good fit.

By Patrick Y

May 14, 2017

I thought it was a great introduction to the way that you have to think in order to build and develop your brand. I understand that it is part of the material, but a lot of it was very high level and not super actionable. That being said, the professors were great and I learned a ton listening to what they had to say.