Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Marketing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Marketing by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
10,682 ratings
2,093 reviews

About the Course

Taught by three of Wharton's top faculty in the marketing department, consistently ranked as the #1 marketing department in the world, this course covers three core topics in customer loyalty: branding, customer centricity, and practical, go-to-market strategies. You’ll learn key principles in - Branding: brand equity is one of the key elements of keeping customers in a dynamic world in which new startups are emerging constantly. - Customer centricity: not synonymous with customer service, customer centricity starts with customer focus and need-gathering. - Go-to-market strategies: understand the drivers that influence customers and see how these are implemented prior to making an investment. Complete this course as part of Wharton's Business Foundations Specialization, and you'll have the opportunity to take the Capstone Project and prepare a strategic analysis and proposed solution to a real business challenge from Wharton-governed companies like Shazam and SnapDeal or to a challenge faced by your own company or organization. Wharton-trained staff will evaluate the top submissions, and leadership teams at Shazam and SnapDeal will review the highest scoring projects prepared for their companies....

Top reviews

AS
Apr 29, 2021

Learnt a lot of concepts in marketing that were hiding in plain sight. I want to thank all the professors who were part of making this course and Wharton online for making this accessible to everyone.

AT
Jun 8, 2017

This course enhanced my perspective, I took it parallel to my ongoing courese, the cases discussed in this module helped me to analyse the application of various marketing concepts. Thanks a lot...!

Filter by:

2001 - 2025 of 2,057 Reviews for Introduction to Marketing

By Nimish S

Jul 21, 2016

A good introductory course especially if completing the business foundations series. But if not, this course delves to deep into new(almost cutting edge and original) practices in marketing while totally omiting conventional methods

By Madhuri I

Sep 1, 2020

The course was good in the begining and extremely mediocre towards the end. The pricing and branding lectures were extremely tedious. (Week 3 and 4). Expected better lecturers and knowledge from this premium specialization.

By Nikita P

Sep 24, 2017

Nice course to get some introductory information about marketing. However, the course emphasizes too much on branding, which is probably not the most essential part of marketing to be covered in such an overview course.

By Baylee M

Apr 24, 2018

Course was interesting and informative. However, intermittent questions and quizzes did not always match content. Also, the professors would often reference previous things that were not taught.

By Beatriz M

May 12, 2020

The course could offer more applied exercises and examples (e.g., business cases). I liked the content but I don't feel I'm ready to practice it because of that.

By Wade R

Jun 26, 2017

Very good content, well- presented, but I wish they had more detailed instructions on creating digital ad marketing campaigns for various types of startups.

By Alex K

Mar 6, 2019

I bit outdated by this point, though many concepts are still relevant. would like to see case studies and working examples updated beyond 2014.

By Kelly S

Oct 3, 2019

Good basics to marketing. Learned a lot I can use as a budding Entrepreneur! Materials and especially examples are outdated by 5 years.

By Rachelle K

Sep 23, 2020

Interesting course! I did find it a bit dry at times though and hard to absorb. The quiz questions were also a bit hard to understand.

By Ali A

Aug 7, 2019

Lectures are great, but transcription is not very much helpful, it is better off to have a PDF file that is written on the topic.

By Ricardo R

Jun 9, 2020

Na descrição da especialização em Fundamentos de negócios estava descrito que a havia a legenda em português (Brasil) e não há

By Akarsh M

May 16, 2020

I would have really preferred if the lectures came with the slides to make it less cumbersome. All in all a good course

By Nicole D

Jul 17, 2019

It was really good BUT it is from 2013... in 6 years a lot of things have changed specially in the digital area!

By Guido T

Jan 21, 2016

Good introduction, some modules are more interesting (less obvious, or less of a "definition list") than others.

By William J

Dec 12, 2015

Can't see the graphs due to subtitles. Very annoying, and makes it hard to comprehend what's being explained.

By Lai W K L

Jun 8, 2020

The course was interesting but it could perhaps feature an applied section, or have some practice scenarios.

By Yuwei Y

Dec 30, 2017

I feel this course is too few to illustrate the basic marketing principles. It just introduces some trends.

By Alisha c

Apr 11, 2016

This course is good for starters. Just wish it had more mentions of live examples to go with the theory

By Radiya A A

Jul 19, 2020

I wish there was a marketing plan for a startup business that I can use it and apply my learning

By Mahamudul H

Jul 3, 2020

The theories are monotonous. It can be made fun using interactive examples and small exercises.

By Mayank B

Apr 15, 2017

The course was somewhat disjointed and it would be good to have some notes.

By Truc N

Mar 18, 2020

It's great to extend your field with extra theories and references ;)

By shiva j

Oct 31, 2018

Good material, but not satisfied with the quality of teaching.

By Oswell D

Oct 16, 2018

Some good points covered. Some presenters better than others.

By Ashish K C

Dec 9, 2019

I was expecting coverage of more fundamentals in the course.