Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Marketing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Marketing by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
10,931 ratings
2,145 reviews

About the Course

Taught by three of Wharton's top faculty in the marketing department, consistently ranked as the #1 marketing department in the world, this course covers three core topics in customer loyalty: branding, customer centricity, and practical, go-to-market strategies. You’ll learn key principles in - Branding: brand equity is one of the key elements of keeping customers in a dynamic world in which new startups are emerging constantly. - Customer centricity: not synonymous with customer service, customer centricity starts with customer focus and need-gathering. - Go-to-market strategies: understand the drivers that influence customers and see how these are implemented prior to making an investment. Complete this course as part of Wharton's Business Foundations Specialization, and you'll have the opportunity to take the Capstone Project and prepare a strategic analysis and proposed solution to a real business challenge from Wharton-governed companies like Shazam and SnapDeal or to a challenge faced by your own company or organization. Wharton-trained staff will evaluate the top submissions, and leadership teams at Shazam and SnapDeal will review the highest scoring projects prepared for their companies....

Top reviews

AS
Apr 29, 2021

Learnt a lot of concepts in marketing that were hiding in plain sight. I want to thank all the professors who were part of making this course and Wharton online for making this accessible to everyone.

AT
Jun 8, 2017

This course enhanced my perspective, I took it parallel to my ongoing courese, the cases discussed in this module helped me to analyse the application of various marketing concepts. Thanks a lot...!

Filter by:

2051 - 2075 of 2,120 Reviews for Introduction to Marketing

By Aleksei B

Jul 22, 2016

Topics on the course are somewhat "scattered": the first week gives some important fundamentals of marketing, but the rest are quite specific. As a results, the course lacks certain system and approach of creating the system view onto subject. The lack of links/downloadable course materials also makes it less convenient, especially when it comes to accessing some video links shown in the course: additional time is spent just for retyping them. Having lecture slides and lists of external sources also could be useful.

By David R

Feb 5, 2017

This course has some good content (Barbara Ward's parts are excellent), but the instructional designer did not do a great job. There is an obvious lack of attention to detail - quizzes pop up in mid-sentence, tests include material that is not covered yet (or at all), and speakers refer to topics that other lecturers covered (which they didn't). This mars the brand of both Wharton and Coursera. Step it up a level and get the details right!

By Matthew V

Jul 28, 2018

Material felt high-level and introductory. Seems useful for supplementary education for non-business students or people who want a gentle introduction. Using 20th-century style teaching tactics – dry lectures, emphasizing rote memorization, lack of directly applying knowledge – as well as the high-level information introduced keeps the course from being overly valuable.

By Joshua P

Mar 20, 2016

First 2 lessons were easy to follow, and gave relatable information. 3rd lesson was trying to explain topics that required technical and analytical explanations, but the course isn't long enough for that type of learning. Keep it high level and easy to connect with real life. 3rd lesson was easy too follow but personally, I did not find it all that interesting.

By Alice G

Mar 21, 2020

I value week 2 course most. Week 4 and 5 are too simple for Master students. If this course would provide slides, reading materials and explanation of quiz, it will be better.

I feel inconvenient to guess the correct answer when I chose the wrong option. There is no explanation or correct answer after quiz.

Still, thank for providing this class for beginners.

By michael N

Jul 20, 2020

I found that listening to pro Kahn was easier than note taking because the text from her lecture wasnt always correct; a bit of stuttering and waffling made it hard to re-read my notes. pro fader was the best; he was concise and coherent. Pro Raju made me fall asleep a few times. found his lectures pretty boring. Long winded powerpoint presentations.

By Marice

Oct 27, 2018

Info was clear enough for beginners without any business foundation. However, the videos seemed to be shot at 2013, which was a bit too outdated. Nowadays we have social marketing, A.I. etc.. Would love to see if Coursera could do an update, and would love to attend professors' class again if they are talking about A.I. Marketing. (laugh)

By Joonik K

Apr 8, 2018

I was expecting a lecture with a tight and well-defined course, but I had a feeling that the many different ideas presented weren't closely related with each other, giving a feeling of disorganization.

However, I still was able to learn the primary and important pricples of marketing, and I still would recommend this lecture to a friend.

By Lutz E

Jun 3, 2016

Has some very interesting topics. If you don't know anything about marketing in the beginning, you won't after this course either. If you already had a good marketing course in the past, this one might be a worthwhile addition. Like the other Wharton business foundation courses severely shortened compared to the initial installments.

By Kelsey K

Sep 13, 2021

Overall, the ideas discussed were very helpful. However, a lot of the content, especially in week 3, was not beginner friendly and there was too much crammed into the week. Also, the slides/videos could be more organized. Week 2 did an excellent job at this,

By Nimish S

Jul 21, 2016

A good introductory course especially if completing the business foundations series. But if not, this course delves to deep into new(almost cutting edge and original) practices in marketing while totally omiting conventional methods

By Madhuri I

Sep 1, 2020

The course was good in the begining and extremely mediocre towards the end. The pricing and branding lectures were extremely tedious. (Week 3 and 4). Expected better lecturers and knowledge from this premium specialization.

By Nikita P

Sep 24, 2017

Nice course to get some introductory information about marketing. However, the course emphasizes too much on branding, which is probably not the most essential part of marketing to be covered in such an overview course.

By Baylee M

Apr 24, 2018

Course was interesting and informative. However, intermittent questions and quizzes did not always match content. Also, the professors would often reference previous things that were not taught.

By Kayla P

Sep 5, 2021

I found the info in the lectures to be valuable, but it would have been helpful if the course had reading material available as well. Not all the transcripts captured the lectures very well.

By Ahmed A A

Aug 4, 2021

It was really a good course where I have learnt a lot.

but the course was too long to finish in 1 month and week 3 was just long

please try to reduce the number of lessons in eek three and 4

By Beatriz M

May 12, 2020

The course could offer more applied exercises and examples (e.g., business cases). I liked the content but I don't feel I'm ready to practice it because of that.

By Wade R

Jun 26, 2017

Very good content, well- presented, but I wish they had more detailed instructions on creating digital ad marketing campaigns for various types of startups.

By Alex K

Mar 6, 2019

I bit outdated by this point, though many concepts are still relevant. would like to see case studies and working examples updated beyond 2014.

By Kelly S

Oct 3, 2019

Good basics to marketing. Learned a lot I can use as a budding Entrepreneur! Materials and especially examples are outdated by 5 years.

By Rachelle K

Sep 23, 2020

Interesting course! I did find it a bit dry at times though and hard to absorb. The quiz questions were also a bit hard to understand.

By Ali A

Aug 7, 2019

Lectures are great, but transcription is not very much helpful, it is better off to have a PDF file that is written on the topic.

By Ricardo R

Jun 9, 2020

Na descrição da especialização em Fundamentos de negócios estava descrito que a havia a legenda em português (Brasil) e não há

By Akarsh M

May 16, 2020

I would have really preferred if the lectures came with the slides to make it less cumbersome. All in all a good course

By Nicole D

Jul 17, 2019

It was really good BUT it is from 2013... in 6 years a lot of things have changed specially in the digital area!