Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Marketing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Marketing by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
10,706 ratings
2,097 reviews

About the Course

Taught by three of Wharton's top faculty in the marketing department, consistently ranked as the #1 marketing department in the world, this course covers three core topics in customer loyalty: branding, customer centricity, and practical, go-to-market strategies. You’ll learn key principles in - Branding: brand equity is one of the key elements of keeping customers in a dynamic world in which new startups are emerging constantly. - Customer centricity: not synonymous with customer service, customer centricity starts with customer focus and need-gathering. - Go-to-market strategies: understand the drivers that influence customers and see how these are implemented prior to making an investment. Complete this course as part of Wharton's Business Foundations Specialization, and you'll have the opportunity to take the Capstone Project and prepare a strategic analysis and proposed solution to a real business challenge from Wharton-governed companies like Shazam and SnapDeal or to a challenge faced by your own company or organization. Wharton-trained staff will evaluate the top submissions, and leadership teams at Shazam and SnapDeal will review the highest scoring projects prepared for their companies....

Top reviews

AS
Apr 29, 2021

Learnt a lot of concepts in marketing that were hiding in plain sight. I want to thank all the professors who were part of making this course and Wharton online for making this accessible to everyone.

AT
Dec 2, 2015

Learned a lot of things in this course. Have already started changing the way I think about pricing in my current position. I hope we get the opportunity to apply these concepts in Capstone project.

Filter by:

1976 - 2000 of 2,060 Reviews for Introduction to Marketing

By Benjamin

Sep 1, 2017

Good content.

By Danny T

Aug 17, 2017

Great insight

By Blake W

Mar 20, 2017

Great course!

By Oladele I

Dec 6, 2017

Great course

By Ester M B

Oct 14, 2017

Great course

By Alois M

Oct 1, 2017

Interesting

By Uche N

Apr 7, 2016

Nice course

By PABLO S

Sep 2, 2017

very good!

By Garik K

Feb 28, 2016

Thank you!

By HELMY M H A

Oct 25, 2016

thank you

By Lokesh N

Feb 26, 2017

NO PDF

By Shraddha B

Aug 6, 2020

Good

By Vanishri

Jul 3, 2020

good

By J B V S K

Apr 16, 2019

Good

By T.Sai N B

Nov 5, 2015

good

By NIAMANE M

Aug 2, 2020

F

By Catherine P

Apr 12, 2016

P

By Artem L

Oct 31, 2019

The course covers some interesting concepts. As a complete newbie, I was very interested to learn about three basic strategies a firm can use to excel in the market (operations, product performance, customer centricity), the rational behind the customer centricity importance was also very interesting.

Unfortunately, the professors indulged in discussing their own research too much. I get it, Wharton profs are likely to be big names in their fields. Big enough to shake fundamentals of marketing – hardly. This is Marketing 101, complete basics, less than 10 hours total. This is for those who, like me, never heard of marketing theory before.

Original papers of these guys are such seminal contributions that they deserve a place in this course?

To me it seems like they just did not want to spend too much time on thinking through the material for this almost free course and just talked about things they talk about anyway. Luckily, there was quite a bit of foundation material anyway.

By Frances W

Mar 15, 2017

Would have liked there to be more Q&As throughout the course videos. Really helps students learn/grasp content when interacting with it (via multiple choice, not just rhetorical questions) as we go. The video also looses a lot of its purpose when it's only a close-up of the professors. Being able to see the professors and personalizing the message it is great, but I think there could have been more supporting content (e.g. drawing on screen, pointing, diagrams etc.). Also, whenever there was a link on the video (like the youtube link in Prof. Bell's section), it was not a clickable link. Would have also liked to see what questions I got right/wrong on the quizes and exams so that I could learn from them.

By Aleksei B

Jul 22, 2016

Topics on the course are somewhat "scattered": the first week gives some important fundamentals of marketing, but the rest are quite specific. As a results, the course lacks certain system and approach of creating the system view onto subject. The lack of links/downloadable course materials also makes it less convenient, especially when it comes to accessing some video links shown in the course: additional time is spent just for retyping them. Having lecture slides and lists of external sources also could be useful.

By David R

Feb 5, 2017

This course has some good content (Barbara Ward's parts are excellent), but the instructional designer did not do a great job. There is an obvious lack of attention to detail - quizzes pop up in mid-sentence, tests include material that is not covered yet (or at all), and speakers refer to topics that other lecturers covered (which they didn't). This mars the brand of both Wharton and Coursera. Step it up a level and get the details right!

By Matthew V

Jul 28, 2018

Material felt high-level and introductory. Seems useful for supplementary education for non-business students or people who want a gentle introduction. Using 20th-century style teaching tactics – dry lectures, emphasizing rote memorization, lack of directly applying knowledge – as well as the high-level information introduced keeps the course from being overly valuable.

By Joshua P

Mar 20, 2016

First 2 lessons were easy to follow, and gave relatable information. 3rd lesson was trying to explain topics that required technical and analytical explanations, but the course isn't long enough for that type of learning. Keep it high level and easy to connect with real life. 3rd lesson was easy too follow but personally, I did not find it all that interesting.

By Alice G

Mar 21, 2020

I value week 2 course most. Week 4 and 5 are too simple for Master students. If this course would provide slides, reading materials and explanation of quiz, it will be better.

I feel inconvenient to guess the correct answer when I chose the wrong option. There is no explanation or correct answer after quiz.

Still, thank for providing this class for beginners.

By michael N

Jul 20, 2020

I found that listening to pro Kahn was easier than note taking because the text from her lecture wasnt always correct; a bit of stuttering and waffling made it hard to re-read my notes. pro fader was the best; he was concise and coherent. Pro Raju made me fall asleep a few times. found his lectures pretty boring. Long winded powerpoint presentations.