Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Operations Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Operations Management by University of Pennsylvania

4.5
stars
2,192 ratings
486 reviews

About the Course

Learn to analyze and improve business processes in services or in manufacturing by learning how to increase productivity and deliver higher quality standards. Key concepts include process analysis, bottlenecks, flows rates, and inventory levels, and more. After successfully completing this course, you can apply these skills to a real-world business challenge as part of the Wharton Business Foundations Specialization....

Top reviews

KR

Aug 25, 2020

Great Instruction by Prof Christian - very lucid and with real world examples. Learning a business skill is mostly learning observation.. Now I know what to observe when looking for productivity!

AJ

Oct 28, 2018

This is an awesome comprehensive operations management course. Although, the course in an introductory course, it covers pretty much everything you need to know about operations management.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 470 Reviews for Introduction to Operations Management

By Mario M R

May 15, 2017

This course definitely gives you a good basic understanding of the concepts and math behind the Operations Management. The examples, exercises and quizzes are truly useful to get prepared for each module exam. The platform is easy to use and the app is also extremely useful.

Room for improvement on explaining the exam problems and the presentations.

By Christopher S

Feb 24, 2017

A solid introduction to operations management. I worked for two years as a production manager, so some of the concepts were already familiar to me, and yet this course helped me find new meaning in the different methods of controlling and analyzing operations. Professor T. explains things clearly and maintains a good pace, neither too slow

By Georgiy S

Feb 23, 2016

Very informative course, which I have enjoyed a lot! The only thing is that for me it was quite ambiguous about writing numeric answers on exams/quizzes. I really liked the way guidelines for writing different types of numeric answers were made in Introduction to Corporate Finance course. Something similar in this course would be great

By Adam S

Jan 23, 2018

Good overview of ways to analyze a business, be it manufacturing (or fast food) or Service based (hospital, call center). Also enjoyed the section on the Toyota (Japanese) Production system view of waste reduction and quality assurance and quality control.

By Musheer A S

Mar 31, 2017

Good execution of overall e-modules. Common examples were good, would be better to use some software related examples as well.

Suggestion is to add the explanation for each of the home work answer after submission to understand have more understanding.

By Tomas S

May 28, 2020

The course itself was really interest, however, I would not recommend as a course for people with no experience. I have some background on the business community and found the course pretty hard in general. The professor was excellent.

By Paola F R B

Feb 25, 2019

Me gustaron mucho los temas, me gusto la explicacion, pero a la hora de hacer los examenes, sufrí mucho, eran mucho mas complicados que los problemas expuestos en clase. Favor de empatar lo visto en clase con lo preguntado en examenes.

By Su Z C

May 11, 2019

It's a very useful course, professor is pretty clear about explaining theory and showing how to do some calculation, it would be wonderful if the sound record system get improved, sometimes the voice from video is not clear enough.

By Johnny V

May 01, 2020

Excellent and detailed course. My only complaint is some topics are assumed as prior knowledge without explicit instruction. The student is then unsure what to even look up when attempting to fill these knowledge gaps.

By Moetaz A

Apr 26, 2020

Very informative course and does contains lots of practical examples and exercises!

Strongly recommended for those who run business and would like to understand how to create good processes and high-quality operations.

By PRANJAL S

Oct 03, 2018

The course was very informative and detailed. I will take this oppurtunity to thank coursera and The Wharton School to have such an amazing platformfor people to come and learn with real examples.

THANKS COURSERA TEAM.

By Tyrel B

Jun 06, 2017

Very Time Consuming, process analysis and statistical probability are very interesting. I do feel however that I will have difficulty actually applying 95% of the material to my present day business.

By Adan P

Jun 25, 2020

I feel there were not enough examples for the problems sets. It took me longer than normal to solve them. Especially when the teacher made a small change to how it's supposed to be solved.

By Harry M

May 25, 2020

Over all very positive, some of the exam questions were very simple compared to the course work, so i'm not sure how valuable the course will be on my CV, but that remains to be seen.

By Varun V P

Nov 17, 2018

Quite detailed and lengthy but an intriguing course. Many relevant examples have been included by the Professor to make contents easy for the user. Overall satisfactory!

By rahul

Feb 27, 2016

Very detailed coverage of topics however the lecturer lacks sufficient energy in delivery and this could be solved when recording the lecture from an real classroom.

By Keiji H

Nov 12, 2017

Although very hard to listen to the professor because of his accent and very hard to read his hand written words, the content itself is really useful and practical.

By Rahul S M

Apr 18, 2020

The course is very relevant to Industrial/Operations/Management professionals. Thanks a lot to the instructor (Prof. Christian Terwiesch) for designing the course.

By Matt G

Nov 27, 2016

Some quiz questions are hard to understand... the math and problem solving is the easy part. Understanding what they question is looking for is the biggest battle.

By Punit J

Oct 23, 2016

Good course. Provides excellent understanding of real world problems. It could be made more interesting by including more real world problems and scenarios.

By Gautam A K

Feb 04, 2020

Introduction to Operations Management is a good course to learn key concepts such as process analysis, bottlenecks, flows rates, and inventory levels.

By Lutz E

Jun 03, 2016

By far not as good or demanding/challenging as the one from Kellogg. Still not bad. Also significantly shortened compared to the earlier incarnations.

By Reed L

Apr 04, 2018

The course material is good, however several of the test scenarios varied from the demonstrated practices. Also, the iOs app didn't work correctly.

By Benoît G

Sep 22, 2020

Good introduction. Concise. The simple examples are good. Lacking examples to illustrate practical challenges in large, complex enterprises.

By Ailsa L

Apr 18, 2020

The examples chosen kept the course very interesting. Interesting applications of the topics covered. More maths needed than I had expected.