Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
4,213 ratings
812 reviews

About the Course

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top reviews

AP

Jun 16, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC

Jul 31, 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 787 Reviews for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

By Ajay S T

Aug 04, 2018

Excellent explanation with repetitive examples. Especially, the last summary section in each module.

By Christopher O

Aug 06, 2018

Very useful examples and explanations were straightforward and easy to understand.

By Pawan C

Jul 18, 2018

A wonderful way to learn the fundamentals of modelling, specifically if one is new to the subject. The best part is that the explanation is very crisp and its easy to understand even complex fundamentals. Go for it guys and you will not regret the investment of time.

By Yelena D

Aug 12, 2018

The course was taught in a very simple and easy to understand language

By carlos e m e a d n

Aug 13, 2018

Very good and I recommend to every one who is interested in this area.

By Jonathan R

Aug 14, 2018

great introduction to the terminology, functions and purposes behind some of the business models that make up our economy

By Natesh

Jul 21, 2018

Wonderfully delivered!!! Even doctorates can explain the concepts in a simplistic fashion :)

By Palak c

Sep 01, 2018

it was really a great course . i learnt many new things through this course . it was a great experience doing this course

By Ivan C

Aug 21, 2018

Great basic terms to further develop. Great starting point for CFA Level 2

By Yibei S

Aug 22, 2018

Very specific!

By Nemani S K

Aug 21, 2018

The course covered the fundamentals pretty well. But a little more analytical question sets and more mathematical problems would have been much more helpful.

eg: an assignment or project based on montecarlo simulations etc.

By Azlinah H

Sep 06, 2018

Great introduction to modelling. Explained with simplicity.

By Mar G A

Aug 28, 2018

It's a very basic course on quantitative modeling. This is perfect for those who forgot their statistics class or their Quanti subject in MBA. Hehe. Like me. It's a refresher.

What I liked about this course and the professor is he uses business language and applications so that your model can be easily understood, or how would you present your model to your audience or your boss.

By Vatsal G

Oct 14, 2018

Very easy to understand . Littlemorepractical knowledge will be helpfulfor better understanding of modelling

By Stephanie B

Oct 16, 2018

Very clear and easy to follow!

By Muhammad A A

Oct 08, 2018

Very clear and the materials are concise.

By Chyngyz S

Sep 18, 2018

Great Course, Amazing teacher explaining complicated concepts in a very simple manner with real life examples on how to use quantitative models.

By ARAVIND A

Sep 18, 2018

This is a great course to get the basics of quantitative modeling. It's wonderfully taught by Prof. Richard Waterman. Thank you Sir. I would also like to convey my gratitude to Coursera for making such wonderful courses accessible to all.

By Xuan W

Sep 18, 2018

It is a very helpful class to introduce the basic quantitative theories and terminologies required. The difficulty of the class if perfect for the people who doesn't have any financial background but having some mathematical background will certainly help in understanding this course.

By Aparna G

Sep 19, 2018

For me the course gave me an introduction to the modelling world. The pedagogy was interesting and I felt that everything was explained in a simple manner.

By shi w

Sep 24, 2018

Easy but it will be a good fundamental course!

By maria p d b c

Sep 25, 2018

Excelent!!!

By Tanmay H

Sep 30, 2018

great

By Evan G

Sep 30, 2018

Helpful base to learn the language of modeling

By Rahul G

Sep 29, 2018

NIce course for beginners but the content is too easy. The content of the course should be made little tougher as well as more elaborative. The quizzes are also too easy.