Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
4,696 ratings
900 reviews

About the Course

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top reviews

AP

Jun 16, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC

Jul 31, 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 875 Reviews for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

By Vijaybhasker S

Jan 28, 2017

Very good and useful introduction. Logistic regression could have been expanded a little more, so that we can start using it.

By Eli B

Nov 08, 2016

The course provides a very good overview and fundamental knowledge toward thinking and designing models in the business world

By Gabriel C C T

Nov 11, 2018

An incredible and enjoyable course of study. The teacher has an excellent didactics and the content adds a lot to the career

By Ahmed A K

Jul 30, 2018

Everything is very well explained and communicated by the Professor. Thank you for such an incredible learning opportunity.

By Palak c

Sep 01, 2018

it was really a great course . i learnt many new things through this course . it was a great experience doing this course

By Jonathan R

Aug 14, 2018

great introduction to the terminology, functions and purposes behind some of the business models that make up our economy

By Ankur K

Mar 23, 2018

The faculty was amazing. The examples which he gave during the lectures were very practical and simple at the same time.

By Josue R

Nov 13, 2019

Richard Waterman is a great teacher. The examples were easy to follow and helped make sense of some complex concepts.

By Evin K E

Mar 18, 2018

This was a great course to understand the fundamentals. Will definitely act as a stepping stone to the future courses.

By Uche N

Sep 19, 2019

The lecturer is amazing and breaks down every conception with real life examples. I was excited to start every video.

By Missree S V

Sep 17, 2019

This course goes in depth of quantitative modelling with widely encountered business situations.

Highly recommended.

By Zhongyuan Z

Feb 09, 2019

The course is very awesome. I learned about the fundamentals in this area. Thanks Coursera for providing the course.

By Piotr P

Feb 20, 2017

Great way to introduce someone like me, with no business/mathemarical education, to the basic concepts of modelling.

By AGUSTIN G A

Sep 30, 2017

The lessons were very interesting and Richard P. Waterman was a great professor. I sincerely recomend this course.

By Munjal

Jun 20, 2016

Very nicely done - precise and superb. Thanks prof for good flow and examples. The quiz were also good and logical.

By Alexandre C M

Apr 18, 2018

Very clear and simple explanations, making it much easier to get comfortable with scary things such as logarithms.

By Inigo Q D

Jul 27, 2017

Very good course. Although I beginner's materials, It is good to refresh from time to time. I recommend taking it

By Tejasv A

Jun 09, 2017

Great overview, with good balance of theoretical and examples. Looking forward to the rest of the Specialization.

By Caio R

May 27, 2016

That's a great course. I'm from Brazil and really loving it, understanding what's being said without any problem.

By Bryan A R B

Jan 24, 2020

Really enjoyed the course as a foreign student (non-english), it was easy for me to catch up with the professor.

By Hansel B

Jul 11, 2018

Excellent course for beginners and adroit users alike. Adds perspective into modeling using real world examples.

By Olesia A

Apr 06, 2018

Good Intro to the fundamentals of Modeling. By taking the course, you can start thinking using a model approach.

By Stefan G

Nov 19, 2019

absolutely understandable for a starter in this topic (not easy but manageable). Thanks for this helpful start.

By Tian M

Sep 14, 2019

Wonderful introduction to quantitative modelling, where you link statistics in school to financial applications

By Armando A

Jun 16, 2019

In-depth and comprehensive material that grants students with real life implementation of curriculum materials