Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
4,550 ratings
868 reviews

About the Course

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top reviews

AP

Jun 16, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC

Jul 31, 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 843 Reviews for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

By Francisco A O A

Mar 02, 2016

Excellent introduction to quantitative modeling. It opened my appetite for the rest of the specialization.

By Jakob P

Jul 04, 2017

The fundamental concepts of quantitative modelling are nicely introduced, though, the level is VERY basic.

By Mark B

Dec 30, 2019

Great overview of the concepts of Quantitative Modeling, explained in comprehensive yet accessible terms.

By Cory E

May 12, 2019

Great refresher on modeling that does not rely too heavily on mathematical proofs or deriving equations.

By Amir H

Aug 12, 2017

Videos were handy, with clear examples. Sufficient guide was provided for extra reading. Helpful indeed.

By Steven B

Jan 01, 2019

Very informative class with no fluff. Previous knowledge of probability and regression is very helpful.

By Ala E

Jun 14, 2017

I'm new to finance. In the same time I could understood alot of info & models to use in projects.

Thanks

By Pratixa A D

Feb 07, 2018

Great content. Good refresher of all important statistical concepts. The instructor is extremely good!

By SMRITI S

Nov 28, 2017

Great Course with in depth learning material and information. Very useful in actual industry modeling.

By John P

May 20, 2017

Great review of key concepts! Easy to learn format. Looking forward to completing this specialization.

By Tryambak C

Oct 12, 2016

Simple and Lucid. Excellently elaborated and concepts are taught in a simple and user friendly manner.

By Digvijay

Nov 08, 2017

Truly fantastic! Great way of content delivery. Very helpful in understanding the fundamentals of QM.

By Fabio G

Nov 04, 2017

Very elucidative content. The course open minds to the possibilities for data driven decision making.

By Ajay S T

Aug 04, 2018

Excellent explanation with repetitive examples. Especially, the last summary section in each module.

By Leila Z

Feb 16, 2017

Excellent course! Basic introduction of modeling that is very easy to accept as well as get hang of.

By Shafique I

May 27, 2017

Very well explained. I would recommend anyone who likes to begin learning about financial modeling.

By Donghan Z

Jan 07, 2017

It is a pretty fundamental course which contains several business models. It is very easy to learn.

By Rick F

Oct 21, 2017

Well articulated, very clear about important concepts. Good course for a introduction on modeling.

By Thiago H R M

Jun 21, 2016

Excelent introduction to the basics. Gives you solid ground do keep improving. Totally recommend!

By Sebyll O

Apr 04, 2019

I really enjoyed the course! The slides are excellent! Thanks for the great learning experience!

By Philip W

Oct 26, 2017

Very clear, deliberate and concise delivery; a great introduction to various modeling techniques

By nathan r

May 29, 2019

Pretty decent course. If I had to do this over again I would take course 2 first then course 1.

By Vivek P

Jun 25, 2017

Very insightful, and a good foundation for a comprehensive learning of modelling and analytics!

By Isrrael M

Jun 07, 2016

The professor was very clear in his content. Lots of interesting material at a digestible rate.

By Chen C C

Nov 11, 2019

The course concisely explains the underlying of models and statistics. I really appreciate it.