Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
4,395 ratings
844 reviews

About the Course

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top reviews

AP

Jun 16, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC

Jul 31, 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 819 Reviews for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

By Pedro A R M

Sep 27, 2017

It´s perfect when you´re finding to grow up at bussiness worth. So useful.

By Allison Z

Feb 04, 2018

Wonderful!!!~~~And the course is very useful

By Paresh J

Nov 13, 2017

Very nicely articulated videos, to the point presentation makes this course more valuable.

By Helen Y

Nov 06, 2017

good class!

By Myat-Hsu " M

Jun 26, 2018

Lecture is taught in a clear and precise format and the majority of quiz questions come straight from the corresponding lecture. As a result, I was able to receive above passing grades with a good amount of effort and knowledge learned in class.

By shi w

Sep 24, 2018

Easy but it will be a good fundamental course!

By maria p d b c

Sep 25, 2018

Excelent!!!

By Rahul G

Sep 29, 2018

NIce course for beginners but the content is too easy. The content of the course should be made little tougher as well as more elaborative. The quizzes are also too easy.

By Yelena D

Aug 12, 2018

The course was taught in a very simple and easy to understand language

By carlos e m e a d n

Aug 13, 2018

Very good and I recommend to every one who is interested in this area.

By Mar G A

Aug 28, 2018

It's a very basic course on quantitative modeling. This is perfect for those who forgot their statistics class or their Quanti subject in MBA. Hehe. Like me. It's a refresher.

What I liked about this course and the professor is he uses business language and applications so that your model can be easily understood, or how would you present your model to your audience or your boss.

By Zhichen Z

Aug 29, 2018

Fantastic course, Crystal clear, easy to follow

By Jonathan R

Aug 14, 2018

great introduction to the terminology, functions and purposes behind some of the business models that make up our economy

By Palak c

Sep 01, 2018

it was really a great course . i learnt many new things through this course . it was a great experience doing this course

By Evette T

Oct 05, 2018

It was challenging but the tutor's pace of speech was measured (and you can always rewind) and the examples were practical. I can't say I completely understand but I'm definitely starting to think more logically and have more of an understanding of what models to use for different scenarios. Thank you.

By Stephanie B

Oct 16, 2018

Very clear and easy to follow!

By Muhammad A A

Oct 08, 2018

Very clear and the materials are concise.

By Khushali

Oct 26, 2018

This course was very easy to follow and gave a great insight into basic quantitative models.

By magda g

Oct 03, 2018

excellent speaker! interesting and useful information, thank you that!

By Rajat M R

Oct 03, 2018

I would like to thank coursera and university of pennsilvaniya for providing me an opportunity to be a part of this course. Language used by prof. waterman was so comprehensible that even a layman could make a note of what is being taught. Knowing the fundamentals is the foremost task before advancing into anything, with the help this course I gained a brief idea of modelling in business and how these models are instruments in growth of a business .I would like to gain a more in depth knowledge of modelling and would love to enroll in all courses related to financial modelling

By Divya

Oct 30, 2018

This course has fundamentals of statistics. Course content is to the point and covers in depth using examples. However, brushing up of stats 101 is required before starting the course.

By Rongjun M

Nov 01, 2018

It's a good entry level course

By gillis a

Oct 24, 2018

I really appreciate the exceptional job this course does in explaining course content and the quizzes that cover the main objectives.

By Hugo I O

Oct 24, 2018

It was a great course for statistics foundations.

By Jiajie S

Nov 08, 2018

Clear explanations and helped me reviewed basic stats models and distributions.