Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
6,283 ratings
1,253 reviews

About the Course

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top reviews

AP

Jun 16, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC

Jul 31, 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 1,225 Reviews for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

By Nachiket H

Sep 26, 2016

Great course. All the concepts have been explained very clearly. The course content has been presented exceptionally well by Professor Richard.

By Ashwin M

May 28, 2020

It was a brilliant experience. The instructor is knowledgeable and has a great disposition on the subject and the course was engaging. Thanks!

By Rishu K

May 28, 2020

A good overview of modelling for beginners. It covers all the introductory topics required be get familiar with this field. Really enjoyed it.

By Burak Ü

Jan 27, 2019

It was one of the best online-courses that I ever had. The things that I learned throughout the course was very beneficial for my job as well.

By Rafi D

Oct 08, 2017

Though introductory in nature for someone familiar with Math, the real world examples and corresponding explanations makes it really worth it.

By Mohammad I A

Dec 01, 2016

Material covered was very well chosen. The Professor's lectures were easy to grasp. Quiz questions were just tricky enough for one to slip up.

By Khomotso M

Oct 11, 2016

what a great course for businessmen out there. It was well planned out. I really enjoyed it although it seemed challenging but I never gave up

By Rounak G

Jan 06, 2017

Excellent beginner material providing you basic concepts of quantitive modelling which provides the base to modelling of real world projects.

By Kenneth B

May 07, 2016

Great course, Instructor was clear and concise when presenting data. Love the implementation of statistics into various modeling techniques.

By sophialaw

Feb 09, 2020

This course is helpful for a beginner like me, i.e. poor math background, the examples in the videos are helpful to understand math. Thanks!

By George L

May 12, 2016

Fabulous foundation course. Strikes a balance between assuming no previous knowledge and challenging the learner with some deeper concepts.

By Cindi M

Jun 25, 2020

The instructor for this class was amazing. I would suggest working thru the examples he gives you in the slides before taking the quizzes.

By Hayk L

May 09, 2019

Very clear, straight to the point courses. Remains at high level but still, very good introduction to statistics fundamentals for modelling

By SONAL S

Jul 06, 2017

This course provides with the basics of modelling and establish steady connect between mathematical tools and real world business solution.

By Pratyush D

Nov 09, 2019

this is an extremely well structure and illuminating course. It really help in equipping one to better understand the Modelling techniques

By Santosh J

Jan 12, 2018

The concepts have been very well explained and thank you Professor Waterman.

I wished if you had given us some practical examples to solve.

By Rukantha J

Jul 15, 2017

Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling. Nothing more - nothing less. This course will give you great introduction in the field of modeling.

By nimmy r

Apr 30, 2020

This is my first learning experience from Coursera. Neatly explained and well understandable. Many thanks to Professor Richard Waterman.

By S D

Feb 17, 2020

Its really good for a beginner. Nicely explained and designed for the purpose of quick learning. Will take the next level of course now.

By Rafael M d C M

Aug 30, 2019

Este es un curso excelente para aumentar el entendimiento del racional, aplicaciones y limitaciones detrás de los modelos cuantitativos.

By Catherine Z

Jan 17, 2019

A basic course on quantitative modeling, but provides a big picture and key concepts and models, and clearly presented - a great course.

By Mark S

May 08, 2020

very interesting course. I am in the middle of changing my careers, and I thought this course and subsequent specialization would help

By Felix M

Apr 01, 2020

Highly informative, well explained and overall fantastic learning experience. Will gladly enroll in more courses of the specialization!

By Hao W

Feb 28, 2016

Good materials for the fundamentals of quantitative modeling. Need to pick up some maths and stats theories to help read the materials.

By Olivio A C J

Dec 23, 2019

A quite good introductory course in quantitative modeling. Professor Richard explains the concepts of the subject in a very clear way.