Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
5,721 ratings
1,132 reviews

About the Course

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top reviews

AP

Jun 16, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC

Jul 31, 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 1,112 Reviews for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

By Simon

May 04, 2020

The course material is pretty straight forward and detailed info by prof to guid you through the whole journey!!

By Bryan A R B

Jan 24, 2020

Really enjoyed the course as a foreign student (non-english), it was easy for me to catch up with the professor.

By Hansel B

Jul 11, 2018

Excellent course for beginners and adroit users alike. Adds perspective into modeling using real world examples.

By Olesia A

Apr 06, 2018

Good Intro to the fundamentals of Modeling. By taking the course, you can start thinking using a model approach.

By Astrid G

Apr 24, 2020

Through this course I learned new knowledge. The course is a good start on quantitative modeling. Thanks a lot!

By Stefan G

Nov 19, 2019

absolutely understandable for a starter in this topic (not easy but manageable). Thanks for this helpful start.

By Tian M

Sep 14, 2019

Wonderful introduction to quantitative modelling, where you link statistics in school to financial applications

By Diana

Apr 01, 2020

Like this professor's logic and course so much, this is the one that I completed within one week! Appreciated.

By Armando A

Jun 16, 2019

In-depth and comprehensive material that grants students with real life implementation of curriculum materials

By Asif H

Apr 23, 2019

Excellent learning for what we have read in past but relevant to our job. Thanks, Wharton online and Coursera.

By Anil A

Oct 03, 2016

This course is a jumpstarter for those who are new to modeling and their real world applications in business.

By Vatsal G

Oct 14, 2018

Very easy to understand . Littlemorepractical knowledge will be helpfulfor better understanding of modelling

By John C

Nov 17, 2017

Great refresher after being 3 years removed from business school and doing little modeling in current role.

By K.S.Pratibha

Mar 29, 2017

Very helpful course. Course material properly structured which really helped in understanding the concepts.

By Francisco A O A

Mar 02, 2016

Excellent introduction to quantitative modeling. It opened my appetite for the rest of the specialization.

By Михаил Е

May 07, 2020

Very-very brief introduction to Quantitative Modelling. I recommend it for high-level review or first try.

By Jakob P

Jul 04, 2017

The fundamental concepts of quantitative modelling are nicely introduced, though, the level is VERY basic.

By K V J R

Mar 12, 2020

The concepts were clearly explained although I wish there was more interaction possible with the faculty.

By Mark B

Dec 30, 2019

Great overview of the concepts of Quantitative Modeling, explained in comprehensive yet accessible terms.

By Warren O

Apr 03, 2020

Excellent introduction to quantitative modeling. The examples used are indeed relevant and quite useful.

By Cory E

May 12, 2019

Great refresher on modeling that does not rely too heavily on mathematical proofs or deriving equations.

By Amir H

Aug 12, 2017

Videos were handy, with clear examples. Sufficient guide was provided for extra reading. Helpful indeed.

By Steven B

Jan 01, 2019

Very informative class with no fluff. Previous knowledge of probability and regression is very helpful.

By Ala E

Jun 14, 2017

I'm new to finance. In the same time I could understood alot of info & models to use in projects.

Thanks

By Seshan I

Apr 12, 2020

this course has taught me a lot for a beginner like me the course has been a very good starting point.