Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
6,574 ratings
1,307 reviews

About the Course

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top reviews

AP

Jun 16, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC

Jul 31, 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 1,279 Reviews for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

By Nihal D

Mar 31, 2018

A great course conducted by a great professor! I would recommend this course to anyone who has an interest in learning about Statistics and the fundamentals of how it's used in modelling. If you have a perpetual fear of math, don't worry, this course is made super simple by the professor and even a Math novice can ace it.

By Christopher D

Nov 19, 2018

I would say that this course requires a good understanding of mathematics. This course deals with numerous concepts related to statistics. The teacher does an excellent job of explicating these concepts, yet students may need external resources (i.e., Wikipedia, Youtube, etc.) to aid in the understanding.

By Ivan D A G

Dec 20, 2018

Gracias por permitirme tomar este curso, ha sido de gran ayuda para complementar mis conocimientos financieros y en especial conocer como se estructuran los modelos financieros desde identificar la data hasta optimizar el modelo/función. Me servirá para trabajar en optimizaciones de procesos de negocio.

By Evette T

Oct 05, 2018

It was challenging but the tutor's pace of speech was measured (and you can always rewind) and the examples were practical. I can't say I completely understand but I'm definitely starting to think more logically and have more of an understanding of what models to use for different scenarios. Thank you.

By Xuan W

Sep 18, 2018

It is a very helpful class to introduce the basic quantitative theories and terminologies required. The difficulty of the class if perfect for the people who doesn't have any financial background but having some mathematical background will certainly help in understanding this course.

By Enrique D

Dec 27, 2019

It will be great if there are more examples of applications and a feedback about the resolution of the problems and explanations once you have the certificate and you solve all the doubts and the failed ones. Thanks, it was excellent in general and pretty clear for foreign speakers!

By Shubham D

Oct 25, 2018

Though elementary , the instructor explains the topics amazingly well.The amount of clarity i gained on taking this course cannot be understated and I would recommend it to everyone even if they know most (if not all) of the base concepts.Also this course works great as a refresher.

By Xueyao J

Apr 11, 2016

Very informational Course! As it slowly progresses from the easier and more basic concepts, the instructor has help us to build a strong foundation of the topic. Recommended for those who want to review statistics, maths and economics, and very look forward to the further courses!

By vidya i

Jan 13, 2019

This was a very good learning experience for me, I was able to visualise the need for modeling, linear regression, univariate and multi variate. My only feedback is if the course could more numerical problems or how to arrive at R2/RSME numerically. But otherwise, a great course!

By Patrick K

Feb 17, 2018

Many thanks for an impressive course delivery! Great use of graphics, examples and spot--on explanations. Dr Waterman breaks down the concepts (which have a rather discouraging sound to them) into little bits which a rookie in maths and statistics like myself can chew and digest.

By Sahil K

May 06, 2020

The course was really good. One thing that I would like to highlight is that professor does not interact much on the screen. Could have been a better course had the professor highlighted the graphs through some pointers on the screen as done in other courses provided by Wharton.

By Hina M B Z

May 25, 2020

Seriously one of the best courses i have taken online. I had nearly forgotten the least squares method and i finally recalled it. The explanation is amazing, the applications are simple but in-depth conceptual. I wish our Statistics professor in our university taught like this.

By Vishnu S K

Apr 29, 2020

As a total newbie to modeling, this course has tremendously helped in setting the base for further learning. The syllabus is basic and needs no background, except some very basic calculus to understand the mathematical functions.

I found the course very engaging and helpful.

By Andrew A E R

Apr 27, 2020

I loved the course, beautifully explained and tests are awesome. I guess I learned a new skill. Thanks, Coursera and Wharton university for proving this awesome course. I also would like to thank my course master Richard Waterman for his insights and teaching on the subject

By Misha A

May 10, 2017

Very well taught course with relevant examples from industry/business. Clear guidelines on the practical usage of the theory being taught.

Hopefully the upcoming courses in the specialization delves deeper into the concepts taught and strengthens the information provided

By Maxwell P

Jun 08, 2016

Professor Waterman presented the material in a clear and concise manner. This course is a great refresher to basic quantitative methods, and does a great job introducing more complex methods as well. Following courses build directly upon this one, so I highly recommend!

By Lai K C

Feb 29, 2016

The learned instructor Mr Richard Waterman is great in explaining sophisticated mathematical/statistical terms or concepts in simple, concise and easy-to-understand way. Great and useful for mature working professional who are out of touch with mathematics/statistics.

By Pawan C

Jul 18, 2018

A wonderful way to learn the fundamentals of modelling, specifically if one is new to the subject. The best part is that the explanation is very crisp and its easy to understand even complex fundamentals. Go for it guys and you will not regret the investment of time.

By Joswa A

Apr 07, 2017

The course is really comprehensive yet very simple to understand. I like how he explains every lessons with examples on how to use this functions and formulas in modeling. Hope to finish this whole specialization courses to further understand financial modeling! :)

By Samik D

Jun 07, 2020

This course was delivered succinctly, and with a great explanatory way. I was going back to Statistics after many years, and also learning some new things in terms of basics of Regression Modeling, and this course has definitely rekindled my love for Statistics!

By Eduards G

Apr 12, 2020

Perfectly summarized key concepts of quantitative modeling in an easy to understand manner. Professor very articulate and the learning modules very well structured. Great real world examples.

Quizes allow for broader understanding of the obtained knowledge.

By J F

Jun 07, 2017

Great introduction to modeling techniques. Regression was covered the most in-depth, but it would have been nice to see this coverage extended to the probabilistic graphical models discussed briefly in the beginning. Still a great short course to take.

By Rob P

Sep 26, 2017

The tutor for this case is great. Everything explained thoroughly with real world examples throughout that help to ground the more abstract mathematical concepts. For anyone looking to get their head around modelling for Business I'd highly recommend.

By Sahil T

Aug 21, 2019

The course is well structured and easy to understand. The instructor of the course was very enthusiastic and knew the subject thoroughly. I recommend all those who are planning to understand quantitative modeling from the basic to attend this course.

By Sayed A S

Aug 03, 2017

I have studied the same subject in my MBA program with a different teaching method, the study materials of this course is designed based on the need of the students, I have learned so many things after the completing the first portion of this course.