Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
6,480 ratings
1,291 reviews

About the Course

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top reviews

AP

Jun 16, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC

Jul 31, 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

Filter by:

926 - 950 of 1,263 Reviews for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

By Muhammmad S

Nov 05, 2016

Thorough introductions on Fundamental concepts is provided that builds upon further advanced applications with practical examples. All in all, a very useful start to the course !

By Asit K H H

Oct 15, 2017

The overall course content is very well structured. Just one small suggestion - The presentation slides are not interactive. These should be in video mode and not in still mode.

By Samiullah

Jun 07, 2020

More examples from real life should have been incorporated for learning. However, very compact course and awful presentations and instructor rightly modeled for this course.

By Felipe J Y

May 21, 2020

For a short program, the professor was able to introduce in an easy way some key information about the subject with mastery. Awesome fundamentals. Can wait to go deeper now.

By aviral

Jul 01, 2018

It would be nice if you could incorporate problem solving in this course. It will compliment the theory and would also teach students how to use different statistical tools.

By Morgan S

Apr 11, 2018

In-depth explanation of the theory. However, the class could've been more engaging/practical. The quizzes should provide case studies instead of regurgitation of the theory.

By Daniel K H

Mar 03, 2016

I found the course very interesting. My only regret is that the course was only four weeks long, as I found myself wanting to dig further into the different types of models.

By Opeyemi O A

Feb 07, 2020

It was surprisingly simplified, the graphical illustrations and citing real examples helped to understand the equations better. It was a great learning experience for me.

By Bryan L

Jan 08, 2020

Overall good high-level explanation of the material. The only thing that I dislike is that there is no "homework" or problem set with which we can test our understanding.

By Juan P M E

Apr 13, 2020

Muy explicativo en modelamiento matemático pero buscaba aprender mas de finanzas ya que conocía la mayoría de los contenidos por asignaturas cursadas en la universidad.

By Daniel M

Nov 17, 2017

Enjoyed the course. GREAT INSTRUCTION. Course material matched expectations on the exam. Overall, the course provided a solid introduction to Quantitative Modeling.

By Roy H

May 25, 2020

I knew nothing about modeling until I took this course. Upon completion, I definitely know more now and am looking forward to taking other classes in this discipline.

By Courtney E J

May 30, 2019

Quite a nice introduction though definitions of the various compenents contained within all of the formulas could be more clearly defined and displayed on the slides.

By Josh R

Oct 12, 2017

Good beginner / refresher course on statistics and probability but does not involve any modeling. Likely a good class for those that need more work on math concepts.

By Shahin S

Apr 23, 2018

In depth explanations are provided with a great reference to real life illustrations which helps a lot in understanding concept/methods with a much simpler approach.

By Vitaly S

Apr 11, 2020

Lacks explanations. I.e. Log-log model - how it was transformed and back-transformed is unclear. Similarly, Monte Carlo simulation is in fact not explained at all.

By Paola M

Apr 25, 2020

I studied Econ a long time ago, and this course was to be a helpful go over of econometrics. I just wish It had more supplemental materials and exercise to study.

By Mirah

May 03, 2020

This course is nice and the professor is great however lack of several explanation. Perhaps simple and better explanation and method will improve this course.

By Hunny J

Aug 22, 2017

Course was excellent.I had a great experience. But if the course includes that how to implement these tools using excel that would be the icing on the cake.

By Akashjyoti S

Apr 17, 2020

Nice course. Great content for a 4 week course. Wish we could get more practice with it. Nonetheless a fantastic beginner level analytics course for sure!

By Adrian J M S

Feb 10, 2019

In my opinion a more detailed and more real market cases for this would be great, however is a great start for knowin business modelling in todays world

By Camilla O

Mar 09, 2016

Classes had clear explanations and practical examples. I wish we had dug a little deeper in the themes, but I understand this is a fundamentals' course.

By Andres M

Nov 13, 2019

I would like the examples to be more diverse based on the reality of the financial departments and the situations we have as professionals every day.

By Anurag P

Sep 05, 2016

A very very basic course , i will suggest using it as a refresher rather than anything else .

It is however very easy to pass and get a certificate .

By Raphael R C d R C

Mar 22, 2019

Course is good. I think it should contain spread sheets with linear and multiple regression to allow the student to practice with a real case model.