Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
7,242 ratings
1,432 reviews

About the Course

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top reviews

AP
Jun 15, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC
Jul 30, 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

Filter by:

1001 - 1025 of 1,404 Reviews for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

By Avani S

Nov 2, 2020

The course is very manageable. The faculty is great. Despite being a beginner, I felt very comfortable with the content and learned many things. Amazing course for anyone who wants to develop good skills in finance and is a beginner.

By Jayesh K R

Mar 27, 2018

would like a suggestion of reference books and some more solved examples to master the technique. Amazing videos, very interesting and won't let you turn away for a second. Overall a very good course for finance learning aspirants.

By Erick C

Jun 10, 2020

The course is informative, however, I would like to see the answers to the questions I get incorrect on the quizzes (after I pass of course), or at least a note telling me which video to review to find the correct answer.

By Fernando M

Sep 2, 2017

Quite interesting to improve your skills to modeling financial information using proper skills. It is a bit theoretical, but hopefully will be the ground for using excel for proper modeling in next phases of the course.

By Naveen S

Sep 22, 2020

Highly effective course for someone who is trying to understand the quantitative aspect of the decision making from historical data points. The financial aspects are explained well through the quantitative frameworks.

By Daniel W

Mar 1, 2016

Very practical and clear explanation of statistical and modeling concepts. Would be great to include some practice problems aside from the quizzes, but as a low-intensity, accessible introduction this course is great.

By Ali W W

Dec 26, 2019

Just like the title, this course mainly teach you about the fundamentals. It's enough for you to learn the basic, and leave you curious for more. Although I think this course could teach a bit deeper about the basic

By AbdulRahman M

Apr 30, 2017

The material is very simple to follow. I hope to get more hands-on practice in using the concepts introduced so that I can more easily relate them to everyday life but also further internalize and understand them.

By Deepak A

Jun 9, 2021

The course gives a fair amount of idea about Quantitative Modeling. The concepts are well stated and are easy to understand. But it seems that the course lacks final nourishment. Overall, I would recommend it.

By Yawei D

Sep 3, 2020

For me who has not studied math in the uni, some of the equations are bit difficult to apply to the cases, therefore lost the points in the followed up quiz. Overall, it's a very interesting experience for me.

By Shahan A L

Feb 2, 2020

It was a great course for beginners like myself, though in Week 3 and 4 I would have preferred if the videos were longer, and would have had a more dynamic style of teaching especially while solving equations.

By Anne P

Nov 4, 2018

Very good refresher for fundamentals of statistics and probabilities. M.Waterman is a great lecturer who is able to explain complex concepts in simple terms and give good intuitions for quantitative models.

By spencer r

Oct 24, 2016

This course has a great over view of these subjects. I the course as a refresher as well as additional insight into regression topics. I liked the course and I would advise this to somebody else as well.

By SIYUAN Y

Feb 1, 2019

The lecturer is awesome. The content and the assignment of the course is too easy. It will be better to add some details of these modeling approach. For example, more mathematic materials will be good.

By Chester L G

Aug 19, 2016

This is business and financial modeling. There were not enough examples of business related content. THis hindered my ability to comprehend function and modeling concepts as well as I would have liked.

By Steve L K

Dec 3, 2020

Great course to brush up my knowledge on statistics and modeling. It would be nice to have an additional block that walks you through some basics on how to work with the models presented in Excel etc.

By bhavya g

Jun 15, 2020

A good course for all the beginners to analyze various aspects before starting any business. The course digs deep into the application of various economic aspects to help us forecast various things.

By Murugan M K

May 11, 2017

The Course was easy to understand and pretty demonstrative as well. Although if the mathematics behind the equations derived were squeezed into the course briefly, it would have been of great value.

By Justin R N

Jul 4, 2019

The material is very helpful to get you up to speed quickly. If there could be more emphasis on walking one through the calculations and giving more examples, the course would be a perfect 5 stars.

By Anthony J

Jul 7, 2017

Course was very interesting, However I wish there were easier ways to explain to details also the instruction , I would recommend to grab the students attention more to make it more understandable.

By Pedro I G C

Jan 11, 2019

A good course to have an overview of the fundamentals for Financial Modeling, I think it is intended just to refresh your previous knowledge about these topics because there is no deeper content.

By Taenchiki S

Jan 18, 2021

This is an excellent overview. In my opinion it is suitable to people who have studied the concepts before (maybe a long time back in college) and need a refresher before diving into details.

By Ameya K

May 19, 2021

I found this course a great value add to my skillset. Not only did it help me understand the basics of Quantitative Modeling but it also helped me to revise my statistical concepts very well.

By Mdnazrul I

Jan 23, 2018

Just finished the course.Well designed and explained.The explanation of some equation could make it more understandable. I would have given it 5star if there was some exercise for practice.