Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
6,858 ratings
1,361 reviews

About the Course

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top reviews

AP
Jun 15, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

S
Nov 30, 2020

for the beginer like me i have experience in banking of 8 years still for me this fundamentals are new specially quantitative modelling.Kindly provide banking related examples in here too.\n\nthanks

Filter by:

1026 - 1050 of 1,333 Reviews for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

By Giovanny O S

Dec 7, 2020

The course is easy to follow and gives many insights about how the models can be made but especially the way they can be analyzed

By abbas s

Jun 8, 2020

It was really helpful to learn the basic of quantitative Modeling Never thought that we can use so much of it in really practice

By Eduardo R S E

Aug 24, 2018

A few concepts where not completely clear but as fundamentals the course gave me the ideal mind set to continue my certification.

By Silvio J R G

Mar 7, 2016

A really good introduction to Quantitative Models. I will personally recommend it for beginners since it wraps up main concepts.

By Daniel M

Jun 9, 2017

Very very informative course, only problem is, the content is kind of dry so it requires a little more dedication than average.

By David L C P

Jul 4, 2020

Buen curso, pero mas que nada para las nociones básicas, no lo recomiendo si ya se tiene manejo de herramientas estadísticas.

By Paul P

Jun 17, 2020

After getting the results of a test, it would be helpful to get an explanation of questions that a wrong answer was selected.

By Thorsten W

Apr 4, 2018

Good basics, thoroughly developed from one step to the next. Thanks also to the course forum participans for the discussions

By Nqobile T

May 23, 2020

This course really helps in understanding mathematical functions and gives you a good foundation in quantitative modelling.

By Zhengyi L

Jun 19, 2018

Very learner-friendly for newbies in financial area. Specifically useful for me in beginning my career in risk model field.

By Richard A

Oct 14, 2019

Good course, in some places it does jump a few steps so recommend doing some of your own research to cross check concepts.

By Gaëtan P Z

Feb 11, 2017

A very good introduction about the different models.

The only negative point is that it might be sometimes too theoretical.

By Sanyam S

Sep 9, 2020

The fundamentals of Quantitative Modelling is an amazing course to improve the basic knowledge in finance specialization.

By YUGANSHU J

Jun 5, 2017

It was a good course but there should have been some quantitative analysis models at last which could have helped us more

By Ryan W

Aug 27, 2020

Wealth of information packed into four modules. I would suggest allowing for more interaction for questions post exams.

By Abinash B

Nov 18, 2019

Indeed the course was insightful and will help to understand the fundamentals. But the explanation could be simplified.

By Gustavo A

Jul 29, 2017

The course teaches the fundamentals of modelling and it fits the needs of people with no previous knowledge in finance.

By Claude S

Sep 13, 2020

The issue is with wanting to review the questions you got wrong on the quiz, to learn from mistakes etc. not possible?

By David V

Aug 30, 2019

Teacher does a fantastic job of explaining concepts, and provides detailed examples of each one along the way as well.

By Karen W E

Aug 8, 2018

It was great, I just wish there were explanation for the wrong answers in the quizzes so I can understand my mistakes.

By Harshal K

Apr 25, 2018

Very basic course, needs to give more inputs on application of the concept rather than just elaborating on concepts

By John D

Oct 20, 2017

Helpful overview of how modeling works and what tools are available. Not terribly practical, but a helpful survey.

By Deleted A

Aug 15, 2016

I love how the lectures are constructed. Even at the end of module 1 I feel so confident of doing well. Thank You.

By Anuj S

Apr 8, 2020

Pretty Basic Course. It builds the foundation for what is going to come next. The regression part is interesting.

By Samuel A O

Mar 25, 2020

Very wonderful experience so far. I began to see a practical side of the quantitative I have always calculated.