Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM Skills Network

4.7
stars
61,954 ratings

About the Course

Do you want to know why Data Science has been labelled as the sexiest profession of the 21st century? After taking this course you will be able to answer this question, and get a thorough understanding of what is Data Science, what data scientists do, and learn about career paths in the field. The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people using data to derive insights and predict outcomes have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In today's world, we use Data Science to find patterns in data, and make meaningful, data driven conclusions and predictions. This course is for everyone, and teaches concepts like Machine Learning, Deep Learning, and Neural Networks and how companies apply data science in business. You will meet several data scientists, who will share their insights and experiences in Data Science. By taking this introductory course, you will begin your journey into the thriving field that is Data Science!...

Top reviews

AP

Jan 15, 2022

I throughly enjoyed the course and the fact that everything was explained thoroughly. I always enjoyed Dr. White's personal experience with Data Science as well as other Data Scientists point of view.

RS

May 11, 2020

Very learning experience, I am a beginner in DS, but the instructors in this course simplified the contents that made me I could easily understand, tools and materials were very helpful to start with.

Filter by:

9426 - 9450 of 10,000 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By Jorge G

Jun 11, 2019

Short course perfect for people willing to learn about data science but with no real understanding of what is it or what can it be helpful for

By GAYATRI P

Sep 12, 2018

Very good course for the beginners as it describes clearly all the contents and is a great introduction to start career in data science world.

By Sukant M

Sep 1, 2020

This course basically gives you an overview about data science, its apllication and future demand .

THANKS FOR GRANTING ME SUCH AN OPPORTUNITY

By Jonathan W

Jun 19, 2020

It was helpful in seeing what is expected of a data scientist but I do not believe I needed to take this course to learn what was told to me.

By Dhananjay j

May 5, 2020

Overall it was a good introduction. I just feel that it was too short and was easy enough to finish fast without requiring too much readings.

By Jyotsna K

Oct 27, 2022

It is very helpful course to get a better understanding about data science field. And to get an in-depth guidance for pursuing this career.

By Joaquín M

Oct 19, 2022

Great introduction to the subject. But some questions are very open and the answers are very especific to what has been said in the videos.

By Nuria L

Nov 11, 2019

Muy buen contenido sobre todo para aclarar conceptos y elegir el próximo paso de estudio en DataScience según tus necesidades. Recomendable

By Rushikesh Z

Aug 13, 2022

Thank you so much for this content it was really inspiring and very usefull knowledge. thanks to all intructors for making beutiful course.

By Gonzalo M E

Aug 11, 2020

It is an easy course. But we have to consider that it is the first course, so it is an introduction. It is good for people who is starting.

By Matthew M

Jun 8, 2020

It felt like less of being taught how to do data science and more of how useful it can be or is. Otherwise for what it did do, it did well.

By Syed M H B

Dec 26, 2019

A Good course for beginners, but if you modify the course by putting some practical assignments and work. that can be the a positive thing.

By Dinesh K R

Sep 22, 2019

The Course provides a strong understanding of what Data Science mean and also enlightens an individual as to how to work with Data Science.

By Sidkid P

Jul 17, 2019

Really helpful for beginners in Data Science as concepts, terminologies explained in simplest way relating to practical real life examples.

By Heather R

Nov 20, 2018

The final grade, with only 1 review was not as scientific as I would like. Overall, great introduction and exactly what I was looking for.

By Aditya M

Nov 12, 2020

In my opinion the first three courses of the IBM Data Science professional certificate can be neatly combined into an Introductory course.

By Xin S

Nov 18, 2019

Most of the knowledge in this course are very common basic ones, not deeply explained, but as a data science beginner, it is a good start.

By Aditya V S

Jan 26, 2019

Good introduction to data science. This course is about what does really data science means and what does data scientist do in real world?

By Fab T

Nov 2, 2018

There some points that I disagree. So That's why not 5 stars.. but generally, very good introduction to Data Science. Thank you very much.

By Nadia S

Dec 14, 2020

I really appreciate all mentors in the videos, They can explain data science in a simple way and the lesson video was very helpful to me.

By Shreya S

Oct 23, 2020

It gives you the basic and practical knowledge of Data Science. Though, I think some more assignments could be given with more questions.

By Emanuele T

Oct 8, 2019

The course is well explained but it was just about fundamentals. I hope it gets more practical on the next courses of the specialization!

By achyuthan r

Aug 16, 2019

Very basic course and definitely not worth 2 grand. Would recommend it for absolute beginners who has no clue about what is data science.

By Steven T

Oct 12, 2018

A good introduction about general principles and some reading tasks. It motivates for further courses with more quantitative orientation.

By Vinod d

Jun 30, 2021

This is very fantastic course . in this current course what is data science - each and everything related to data science is explained .