Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM Skills Network

4.7
stars
61,879 ratings

About the Course

Do you want to know why Data Science has been labelled as the sexiest profession of the 21st century? After taking this course you will be able to answer this question, and get a thorough understanding of what is Data Science, what data scientists do, and learn about career paths in the field. The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people using data to derive insights and predict outcomes have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In today's world, we use Data Science to find patterns in data, and make meaningful, data driven conclusions and predictions. This course is for everyone, and teaches concepts like Machine Learning, Deep Learning, and Neural Networks and how companies apply data science in business. You will meet several data scientists, who will share their insights and experiences in Data Science. By taking this introductory course, you will begin your journey into the thriving field that is Data Science!...

Top reviews

RS

May 11, 2020

Very learning experience, I am a beginner in DS, but the instructors in this course simplified the contents that made me I could easily understand, tools and materials were very helpful to start with.

MS

Sep 17, 2020

very useful. i liked and enjoyed the journey of learning in these five weeks. the instructor is very clear and taught very interestingly. Thanks to her. she looked poised and cheerful and professional

Filter by:

9426 - 9450 of 10,000 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By Heather R

Nov 20, 2018

The final grade, with only 1 review was not as scientific as I would like. Overall, great introduction and exactly what I was looking for.

By Aditya M

Nov 12, 2020

In my opinion the first three courses of the IBM Data Science professional certificate can be neatly combined into an Introductory course.

By Xin S

Nov 18, 2019

Most of the knowledge in this course are very common basic ones, not deeply explained, but as a data science beginner, it is a good start.

By Aditya V S

Jan 26, 2019

Good introduction to data science. This course is about what does really data science means and what does data scientist do in real world?

By Fab T

Nov 2, 2018

There some points that I disagree. So That's why not 5 stars.. but generally, very good introduction to Data Science. Thank you very much.

By Nadia S

Dec 14, 2020

I really appreciate all mentors in the videos, They can explain data science in a simple way and the lesson video was very helpful to me.

By Shreya S

Oct 23, 2020

It gives you the basic and practical knowledge of Data Science. Though, I think some more assignments could be given with more questions.

By Emanuele T

Oct 8, 2019

The course is well explained but it was just about fundamentals. I hope it gets more practical on the next courses of the specialization!

By achyuthan r

Aug 16, 2019

Very basic course and definitely not worth 2 grand. Would recommend it for absolute beginners who has no clue about what is data science.

By Steven T

Oct 12, 2018

A good introduction about general principles and some reading tasks. It motivates for further courses with more quantitative orientation.

By Vinod d

Jun 30, 2021

This is very fantastic course . in this current course what is data science - each and everything related to data science is explained .

By Yixiao Z

Jun 8, 2020

This provides a general picture of what data science is and what data scientists do. A good introduction, but not many practical skills.

By kapil S

Feb 12, 2020

This course helps me a lot to understand the basics of data science and also it blow my confidence to learn and go deep in data science.

By Marissa

Sep 26, 2019

For beginners in Data Science its perfect. For those who are already in Data Science, nice refresher on the objectives of the discipline

By Karen G

Jul 5, 2019

Great intro, covers all the basics. Thee course content is a mix of reading and videos from data scientists and educators in the field.

By NELLY N

Oct 31, 2022

A great introduction to Data Science. I love that they have explained the background giving someone some insights into what to expect.

By Melissa S

Sep 6, 2022

It was a very easy and interesting course to start in the world of data science. I recommend taking it if you want to start from zero.

By Theophilus M

Sep 8, 2021

Very good intro to the world of data science, it clearly explains all the important concepts, looking forward to a more advanced course

By Brian B

Oct 27, 2020

Some technical problems with the IBM Watson platform in Week 2, but overall, this is an informative introduction to the subject matter.

By Anubha D

Jun 4, 2020

Quite engaging, even though it seems that the contents are not that complex. But, engaging enough for me to continue to keep learning.

By Osama H

Jun 1, 2020

Excellent overview of DS and a good way to reel students in to start learning more and more about the sexiest job of the 21st century .

By Amit R

Mar 5, 2020

I was the best experience learning what is Data science. A great platform for the new learners who want a quick learning online based.

By Tanvir E H

Nov 26, 2019

I got to know the basics of Data Science & understood the key skills that I need to acquire in order to start my career in Data Science

By Josh C

Feb 25, 2023

Interesting course providing an introduction to and overview of the field of data science. Some great career insights included aswell.

By Dimitris K

Sep 9, 2021

One of the best courses to take on, although informative it is pretty small since you can complete it in a day if you try hard enough.