Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM Skills Network

4.7
stars
61,052 ratings

About the Course

Do you want to know why Data Science has been labelled as the sexiest profession of the 21st century? After taking this course you will be able to answer this question, and get a thorough understanding of what is Data Science, what data scientists do, and learn about career paths in the field. The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people using data to derive insights and predict outcomes have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In today's world, we use Data Science to find patterns in data, and make meaningful, data driven conclusions and predictions. This course is for everyone, and teaches concepts like Machine Learning, Deep Learning, and Neural Networks and how companies apply data science in business. You will meet several data scientists, who will share their insights and experiences in Data Science. By taking this introductory course, you will begin your journey into the thriving field that is Data Science!...

Top reviews

BB

Feb 21, 2019

Excellent quality content! It's a great introductory course that really gets you interested in Data Science. I would highly recommend it to anyone curious in learning about what Data Science is about.

KK

Feb 23, 2020

Terrific introduction to the Data Science course. Never expected but was extremely excited with the quality of content, speakers and a very honest attempt to making this course interesting.

Krishna

Filter by:

9451 - 9475 of 10,000 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By ryan w

Apr 29, 2022

Wonderful breakdown of the key info needed to understand the career path and the steps needed to walk it.

By Ryan A P

Jan 3, 2022

Good course, but the peer reviewed should be change so if in 2/3 days the staff will grade the assignment

By Piyush P S

Mar 4, 2021

This course was good introduction. However, the tests should be less memory based and more concept based.

By Munganda P K

Sep 13, 2019

The lecture mas mostly based alot of time on reading I could be better if it was demonstrated by a video

By disheng L

Mar 26, 2019

it is an wonderful course to introduce data science, which provides a outline of study of data science .

By Ainhoa C

Feb 27, 2022

El mensaje principal se repite numerosas veces y de diferentes formas, para que quede claro y memorizado

By Pannel C

Dec 1, 2021

This is good course for anyone seeking to understand what data science is and what data scientist can do

By Snehitha B

Jul 2, 2020

Gained a lot of knowledge through this course.

It helped me in making my first step towards my dream job

By PENGSU Z

Apr 28, 2020

the course is great, which gives me a more deep understanding of data science, but also, it's too basic.

By Ajayi, B O Z

Jan 30, 2020

Lovely video presentation and the reading text are easy to grab. I am certified with this course putline

By Adierson C M F

Jan 23, 2020

It was an interesting program, gave me a good idea about data science and what does a data scientist do.

By Héctor T

Feb 14, 2019

It's fine, covers the main topic, but feels like a very superficial introduction to the especialization.

By Sapan M

Feb 11, 2019

Excellent Course for the Database Connectivity with Python3 using SQL Magic, Python DB2 Inbuild Library.

By Shivam P

Oct 14, 2018

Enhances the clarity and interests and personal perspective of one to pursue and understand this course.

By Vanesa P P

Oct 15, 2022

Te explica de forma general que es la cienca de datos y el trabajo que realiza un científico de datos.

By Zosia B

Oct 7, 2021

Coursework was a great introduction to data science. Some of the test questions were a little obscure.

By Ali G K

May 11, 2021

So far so good . Long way to go . I pray for persistence and Robustness. Nothing much as of now. Thansk

By Pamela R

Jan 28, 2020

Pretty good introduction to data science, it would be nice if you threw in some statisticans on there..

By Pranshu k

Jul 29, 2019

This course is beneficial for the beginner student who know python then they can do data science course

By Roshan M

Nov 4, 2018

Excellent course that lays the ground work for someone who is brand new to Data Science/Data Analytics.

By Shantanu K

Jul 16, 2018

Very good introduction to what is data science and what is the role of data scientists in today's world

By Rizwan U

Mar 16, 2022

It was a great start for becoming data scientest. This course motivated me to become a data scientist.

By Mubarak A S

Jun 14, 2021

Good and very much informational. Perfect way of teaching and totally stress free. Highly recommended.

By Sheng J V A

Jun 1, 2021

Concise primer on definition of data science, expected role , skillset and traits of a data scientist.

By Cristian R

May 18, 2021

Good introductory course, short and basic, It explains what data science is, what a data scientist do.