Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM

4.7
stars
53,998 ratings
10,175 reviews

About the Course

The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people working in data science have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In this course, we will meet some data science practitioners and we will get an overview of what data science is today....

Top reviews

RS

May 11, 2020

Very learning experience, I am a beginner in DS, but the instructors in this course simplified the contents that made me I could easily understand, tools and materials were very helpful to start with.

SH

Jul 24, 2021

Thank you for this coursera.\n\nI get know experience and knowledge in using different kinds of online tools which are useful and effective. I'll use some of them during my lessons. And lots of thanks

Filter by:

9551 - 9575 of 10,000 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By Wesley E B

May 3, 2019

It's an alright course going over basic terminology though for the two hours it took to complete, I don't feel like I learned that much content. Hoping courses 2 to 9 are a bit harder and more informative in the IBM Professional Data Science Certificate.

By Amanda C

Dec 18, 2019

Decent introduction to the field. This could be a much much shorter course. The exam questions are tedious and based on precise recitation of exact facts from the specific articles presented, they not correspond to broader comprehension of the material.

By Pei-wen K

Feb 6, 2022

Materials are a very dry and not well organised. The quiz focusd on the reading material "word by word" not focusing on the concept. As a teacher myself I think the curriculum organisation can be further improved. In general the course is quite boring.

By fabien M

Apr 24, 2020

This is a general introduction, probably a lot could of it could be reduced.

You will learn interesting things in the interviews (they are great).

But some videos are too broad ("blablabla") and skipable.

My advice : read the transcript and race for it

By Cornea D A

Sep 2, 2019

It is pretty basic. The quizzes aren't so relevant all the time. Perhaps it does not involve much difficulty because it is meant for everyone, no matter from which field of work. The videos are nice though and worth watching for general knowledge.

By Sadiq A

Jul 16, 2018

I recognize the course is introductory but even so it's very easy to pass (why bother to give assessments and grade if the bar is not set at a challenging level), the course material could simply be expected reading for a more advanced course.

By Alix H P

May 10, 2020

A really good introductory course--has interested me to continue with the the "IBM Certification Certificate". Highly recommend this course for people who have an interest to get into Data Science and want to get a sense what it is all about.

By Tiaan T

Jul 17, 2019

Some answers assessed come from places either not clearly mentioned or absent from the course material. However, the course is a great introduction to data science and the many applications, I look forward to completing the full certificate.

By Oz H

Nov 21, 2020

I think its really Unnecessary course. Personally I want to study data science as fast as I can, and I felt unproductive and wasting-time when I studied this course. This course should be studied at the end of data science as a conclusion

By Keith A

Jan 5, 2022

T​his didn't feel like a very substantive module. I'm going to feel like an imposter if the rest of the modules are as lightweight. The forray into IBM's Cloud/Watson was unsettlingly superficial. Surely we will go deeper, right?

By Deleted A

May 12, 2019

Relatively basic introduction - course material assignments felt they more rewarded recital about an author's perspective than an objective review of many perspectives. Reading material was quite light. Fine to start with though.

By Loïc B

Sep 11, 2018

Decent introduction to data science through video interviews of experts.

The assignements and quizzes do not reallly test your understanding of the subject but more your ability to remember details about a video yo've seen 10mn ago.

By Lorenzo G K

Apr 22, 2021

This course explains what data science is and what a data scientist is like. It also tries to motivate you by looking at job opportunities. But a whole 3-week course is a little bit too much. I completed it in under 4 hours.

By Saransh R

Feb 2, 2020

Many videos with a lot of interviews that don't really add value. The readings are somewhat interesting. The course does not scientifically explain data science, but gives a broader view of the career aspect of data science.

By Nicolas C

Jan 7, 2020

I think this course is only a timid explanation of what a Data Scientist student needs to learn and ithe deal personal conditions before studying Data Science. It felt more like a sellers pitch than interesting information.

By Mustaqim M

Jan 30, 2020

Very basic. I was hoping it gets into actual data science, but it spends most of the time explaining how to write academic papers and only one task that actually uses the IBM portal for machine learning. Disappointing.

By Paul A

Aug 30, 2021

Although the introductory videos are fairly good, the quizzes don't really assist with learning or demonstrate understanding of the material. Instead, they function as simple regurgitation of points from the readings.

By Michael A

Oct 29, 2020

Information was a decent introduction to Data Science for complete beginners. But, this information could have easily been condensed into one week of a more interesting, hands-on course in data science tools/methods.

By Chris C

Sep 30, 2019

The course felt like about 40 percent information and 60 percent promotion. Materials were of a mediocre level. Perhaps appropriate for the completely uninitiated but not useful for practitioners looking to level up.

By Greg G

May 25, 2019

While a nice introduction to the history, I would have liked a more thorough review or citations of the seminal work in the field, of the statistical methods used, and of the code used to generate machine learning.

By Shelby C

May 26, 2021

The final exam and some quiz questions did not have answers that lined up with the assigned readings. They were nuanced questions with very particular answers that did not correlate to the knowledge of the course.

By Sandhya A

Oct 3, 2020

I could see there is more of reading rather of teaching. It would be better if the reading is reduced. Especially for quizes it is meant to read only last sections. But a quiz should cover all the topics taught

By Jeremy G

Aug 19, 2020

This course is a bit long and high-level for the length of the course. It should go a level deeper into actually running through an example of a Data Science focused case study or problem that is instructor led.

By Alina S T

Mar 7, 2022

The tests are not very carefully formulated, and there is a lot of noise or not very useful information. Also, the rquirement to sign up for the IBM data platform was a bit useless and bothersome at this point.

By Travis C

Dec 29, 2020

Quizzes didn't really test for knowledge, just hyper specific questions about a video or reading. Felt like just another way to enforce honor code to ensure reading rather than understanding or comprehension.