Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM

4.7
stars
69,086 ratings

About the Course

Do you want to know why data science has been labeled the sexiest profession of the 21st century? After taking this course, you will be able to answer this question, understand what data science is and what data scientists do, and learn about career paths in the field. The art of uncovering insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and accurately predicted the Nile River's flooding every year. Since then, people have continued to use data to derive insights and predict outcomes. Recently, they have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In today's world, we use Data Science to find patterns in data and make meaningful, data-driven conclusions and predictions. This course is for everyone and teaches concepts like how data scientists use machine learning and deep learning and how companies apply data science in business. You will meet several data scientists, who will share their insights and experiences in data science. By taking this introductory course, you will begin your journey into this thriving field....

Top reviews

RS

May 11, 2020

Very learning experience, I am a beginner in DS, but the instructors in this course simplified the contents that made me I could easily understand, tools and materials were very helpful to start with.

BR

Feb 21, 2019

Excellent quality content! It's a great introductory course that really gets you interested in Data Science. I would highly recommend it to anyone curious in learning about what Data Science is about.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 10,000 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By Sujatro G

Apr 30, 2022

Repeats the same thing over and over again. Great as an indroduction, but needs to cut down on the number of repetitions. The length of the course can easily be halved or made 1/3rd the original.

By Zahid S

Jul 15, 2022

Very verbose, time consuming and basic. This specialization could have done without this course or a shorter version of this course.

By Shuvo S

Mar 24, 2020

More like a marketing stint than an actual data science course

By Rubin Q

Feb 25, 2020

Just a lot of talk. Might as well have youtubed that question.

By Brian P

May 1, 2022

there is nothing to be learned from this course

By Karla E C

May 17, 2022

Really not that usefull very easy to pass.

By Belle B

Jul 11, 2023

Extremely outdated!!!!

By Muhammad N

Dec 19, 2023

I recently completed the Data Science course offered on Coursera, and it has been an incredibly enriching experience. This course stands out for its comprehensive coverage of essential topics in data science, making it suitable for both beginners and those seeking a deeper understanding of the field. The course structure is well-organized, starting with foundational concepts and gradually progressing to more advanced techniques. The video lectures are clear, concise, and supplemented with hands-on exercises and real-world examples that reinforce the learning effectively. I particularly appreciated the balance between theoretical knowledge and practical application throughout the modules. One of the course highlights is the hands-on projects and assignments. They provided invaluable opportunities to apply the newly acquired skills using popular tools like Python, R, and SQL. These projects challenged me to tackle real data problems, solidifying my understanding of data manipulation, analysis, and visualization techniques. The instructors' expertise and passion for the subject were evident, making complex concepts understandable and engaging. Additionally, the discussion forums and community support were beneficial, fostering an environment where learners could share insights, ask questions, and collaborate. The course's pacing was suitable, allowing flexibility for learners to progress at their own speed. The supplementary resources, including readings and additional materials, added depth to the learning experience. In conclusion, this Data Science course on Coursera exceeded my expectations. It's a fantastic resource for anyone interested in diving into the world of data science, providing a solid foundation and practical skills necessary for success in this field. Highly recommended!

By Amulya G

Jun 16, 2024

This introductory course provides a comprehensive and engaging overview of the field of data science, making it an ideal starting point for anyone interested in pursuing a career in this dynamic and rapidly growing industry. From the outset, the course is well-structured and thoughtfully designed. The content is presented in a clear and accessible manner, making complex concepts easy to understand, even for beginners. The instructors are experienced professionals from IBM, and their expertise and passion for data science are evident throughout the course. They effectively break down intricate topics into digestible segments, ensuring that learners can follow along without feeling overwhelmed. The course also emphasizes the importance of both technical and non-technical skills in data science. It covers essential topics such as the data science methodology, the role of a data scientist, and the various tools and technologies used in the field. Additionally, it stresses the significance of effective communication and collaboration, which are crucial for success in any data science role. Overall, this course exceeded my expectations. It serves as an excellent foundation for anyone looking to delve into data science, whether you're a complete novice or have some prior experience. The knowledge and skills gained from this course have equipped me with the confidence to pursue further studies in the IBM Data Science Professional Certificate specialization and beyond. I highly recommend this course to anyone interested in exploring the fascinating world of data science.

By Farhan M K

Feb 25, 2023

I recently completed an online data science course, and I found it to be an excellent learning experience. The course content was comprehensive and covered all the essential topics in data science, including statistics, data wrangling, data visualization, machine learning, and data ethics. The course structure was well-organized, with clear learning objectives and goals. Each module was broken down into easy-to-follow sections that built upon each other to provide a thorough understanding of the concepts covered.

The course instructor was highly experienced in the field of data science and was able to explain complex concepts in an accessible manner. The instructor was also available to answer questions and provide feedback on assignments and projects.

The course resources were plentiful and included textbooks, online tutorials, and relevant data sets. The assignments and projects were challenging and required us to apply the concepts learned in real-world scenarios.

One aspect of the course that I particularly enjoyed was the community support. The course provided a platform for students to interact with each other and the instructor to discuss and clarify doubts and questions. This helped create a collaborative learning environment, and I learned a lot from my fellow students.

Overall, I would highly recommend this data science course to anyone interested in learning about this exciting field. The course content, instructor, and resources were all of high quality, and I felt that I gained a solid understanding of data science fundamentals by completing the course.

By CHANDER K

Mar 5, 2023

I am happy to provide a positive review for the "What is Data Science?" course offered by IBM on Coursera. This course is an excellent introduction to the field of data science and provides a solid foundation for beginners who want to learn more about this exciting field.

One of the things I appreciated most about this course was the way it was structured. The course is divided into several modules, each of which covers a different aspect of data science. This makes it easy to digest the material in small, manageable chunks and ensures that you have a clear understanding of each concept before moving on to the next one.

The course also includes a variety of interactive elements, such as quizzes, hands-on exercises, and real-world case studies. These elements help to reinforce your understanding of the material and give you the opportunity to apply what you've learned in a practical setting.

The instructors for this course are knowledgeable and engaging, and they do an excellent job of explaining complex concepts in a way that is easy to understand. They are also responsive to student questions and provide helpful feedback on assignments and projects.

Overall, I highly recommend the "What is Data Science?" course to anyone who is interested in learning more about this fascinating field. Whether you are a complete beginner or have some experience in data science, this course is an excellent way to build your skills and knowledge in this exciting and rapidly growing field.

Thanks and Regards

Chander Kant

By abigaba m

May 4, 2023

Overall, I thought the course was a thorough introduction to data science. The history of data science, statistical analysis, machine learning, and data visualization were just a few of the many subjects addressed in the course. I liked how the course used examples from real-world businesses to demonstrate how data science is applied in many fields. Each portion of the course built on the one before it, making for a well-organized course. The tests and tasks helped reinforce the topics addressed, and the films were interesting and educational. It was simple to follow along because the instructor knew what she was talking about and gave good explanations.

The focus on ethical issues in data science was one of the aspects of the course that I loved the most. In order to comprehend how data science may be utilized responsibly and ethically, it is essential to grasp subjects like data privacy, bias, and responsible data collecting, all of which were discussed in the course.

If you want to learn more about data science, I would strongly recommend taking this course from coursera platform. This course offers a strong foundation for understanding the foundations of data science and its applications, regardless of your level of expertise in the subject.

By Nursultan K

Feb 8, 2023

The IBM Data Science Professional Certificate is a comprehensive program that covers various aspects of data science and machine learning. The course focuses on teaching the fundamental concepts, tools, and techniques used in data science and how to apply them to real-world problems.

Data Science is an interdisciplinary field that combines computer science, mathematics, statistics, and domain expertise to extract insights and knowledge from data. It involves collecting, cleaning, transforming, and modeling data, and using algorithms, statistical models, and visualizations to analyze and gain insights from the data. The goal of data science is to uncover hidden patterns, correlations, and relationships within data and use this information to make informed decisions.

In summary, the IBM Data Science Professional Certificate course provides a comprehensive introduction to data science, teaching the essential concepts, tools, and techniques used by data scientists to extract insights and knowledge from data.

Thank You Ibm and Coursera also check my Linkedin

https://www.linkedin.com/in/nursultan-kurmanbekov-3b3630259?lipi=urn%3Ali%3Apage%3Ad_flagship3_profile_view_base_contact_details%3BYGhzS1tCSdyKJCqZDJG3%2Fg%3D%3D

By Trenton W S

Sep 27, 2022

Better than I thought it would be. Cousera shows me that learning can be enjoyed. Producing a satisfaction upon completion. The forum is a nice addition and I appreciate the interaction. I finished my first course full of excitment for what the next course will bring. Just another oppertunity to make a differece in some way each day is so satisfiying. I really am on my way to a bright future all because of coursera. Cheer's my peers for new knowledge appears. Producing a light so the problems we face we can fight, and we can win, all because the knowledge is held within, our minds and computers together create a database of incredible oppertunity. For humanity to advance as people get a second chance. So we can get it right and get to shine so bright, eradicating every problem cuz with our tech tools we can solve them. So if there's a delima in your mind and your data holds the line, I'll send you a honest answer, and just maybe I'll be appart of the cure for cancer. Hey all things are possible, it's important to use your mind in a positive manor, and be a loving knowledgable planner. My plan after experiencing coursera is to press on until I reach the high calling by which I am called in life.

By Federico A

Jan 26, 2024

El curso que estoy realizando es altamente estructurado y bien organizado, lo que facilita mantener un orden preciso en el estudio y gestionar el tiempo de manera eficiente. Además, la información proporcionada es precisa y completa, lo que realmente contribuye a un aprendizaje efectivo. Además de estas cualidades, destaco que la calidad del contenido es excepcional, con una variedad impresionante de recursos complementarios que enriquecen la experiencia de aprendizaje. La progresión natural del curso facilita la adquisición gradual de habilidades, mientras que el apoyo del instructor y la comunidad activa de estudiantes crean un ambiente colaborativo y enriquecedor. También aprecio la aplicación práctica de los conocimientos y la flexibilidad del curso para adaptarse a las necesidades individuales de los estudiantes. En resumen, el curso ofrece una experiencia de aprendizaje completa y efectiva que prepara a los estudiantes para tener éxito en su campo de estudio elegido.

By Rob C

Jun 9, 2024

Currently I'm in college for Geoscience which is also online based and truthfully the platform is stale leaving me to struggle to stay attentive and locked in. The way this is structured with the videos and the random pop up questions to make sure your engaged is perfect. It almost has a jack in the box feel and getting the right answer is oddly satisfying. I also enjoy hearing a variety of professionals giving their input and advice and really breaking down how they would typically go about figuring out how to best tackle a particular problem. I'm currently taking an online geoscience course, and I have to say, the platform is stale and makes it hard to stay engaged. The videos and pop-up questions are a great way to keep students engaged. I also like hearing from professionals who share their insights and advice on how they would approach a particular problem. This course is different, and it keeps me coming back for more.

By Prosper B

Jun 23, 2023

Problem 1: Defining data science:

It is an interdisciplinary field that combines various techniques and methodologies to extract valuable insights from large volumes of data. These insights, in turn, enable organizations to make informed and strategic decisions. Let’s see talk a little bit about how data science is applied in different industries:

E-commerce: It is used to analyze customer behavior, purchase patterns, and preferences. By examining this data, e-commerce companies can personalize recommendations, optimize pricing strategies, and improve customer satisfaction. Companies like Google Watches, Netflix, Uber, and Amazon do that.

Healthcare: Data science plays a crucial role in healthcare by analyzing patient data, electronic health records, and clinical trials. It helps in identifying disease patterns, predicting patient outcomes, and supporting medical research for advancements in treatments and interventions.

By S M G A N

Jun 14, 2023

I just had the opportunity to complete IBM's "What is Data Science?" course on Coursera, and I'd like to share my thoughts on it. The course was really educational and well-structured, and it provided a strong introduction to the topic of data science. The course material was extensive, covering a wide range of subjects critical to comprehending data science ideas and approaches. The IBM Coursera course "What is Data Science?" is an excellent starting place for anybody interested in learning more about data science. It gives you a thorough understanding of essential principles, practical applications, and hands-on experience with data science tools. The course is well organized, and the instructors are both competent and helpful. Despite a few small flaws, I wholeheartedly recommend this course to anybody looking for a good foundation in data science.

By Deleted A

Jul 9, 2019

I do not having any background of Data Science but after go through this course I am having a good understanding about what is data science,what skills are needed to become data scientist etc.Additionally, clear all my confusions .Now I am aware about the correct path to learn data science,also what qualities are required to become a Data Scientist i am also aware about that.

A very good experience i had about data science after go through this course.All real life scenarios are discussed and real life experiences are shared by various data scientist.Excellent course with a very good content for beginners who do not anything about data science.

If anyone is having a little bit knowledge about data science then after going through this course you should know what are the areas in which you can improved, a correct path to build a carrier in data science.

By Miguel A I B

Mar 23, 2020

Very good course to understand the environment that encompasses the area of Data Science and data Analytics

Good to understand the objective of this carrier, the scope, objetives how it supporting the different verticals industries business, an the role it plays in building the strategy, also provides indication on what it takes to be a Data Science, good introduction to key related tools or solutions supporting the Analitycs evolution Artificial intelligence neural networks.

closing with key elements to be taiking into account at the moment to elaborate and provide Report & results by Data Science, never the less providing the relevance and demand that Data Science carrier in having at this moment due to the key results that provides in different scenarios of the day by day activities Industries, Science , marketing , sales etc

By Joe I

Dec 3, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. It was very informative as an introduction to Data Science. I learned many concepts that will prove useful when taking other courses in this certification program. The only thing that I would change is the definition of a Data Scientist. While it is an interesting way to define a Data Scientist, a data scientist is what a data scientist does, I think it does not give a student a reasonable idea about the professional. This definition may be valid, but, to me, indicates that the profession is not well-established yet. Also, I feel that the main goal of Data Science is to provide actionable insights to decision-makers, as opposed to solving problems. But, otherwise, this was an excellent course that I would highly recommend to others who are interested in the subject manner.

By Elzbieta K

Sep 16, 2019

This course offers a great introduction when you heard about data science, but cannot really relate to it nor give your own concise answer to what "Data Science" is or what a "Data Scientist" does. I loved the interviews with the different students at the beginning, inviting different disciplines and backgrounds to the "Data Science Table". Professor Haider and Professor White give a thorough outlook on data science and career possibilities as well as skills that are necessary to succeed. The readings cover subjects like "Data Mining" and "Data Science Project Report Writing" and give a great introduction as well as guidelines to use later on the job. Great job they have done putting this course together! And I am looking forward to the next modules of the "IBM Data Science Professional Certificate"!

By julie c

Sep 27, 2018

As a novice to Data Science this course met me where I was, at the very beginning, and provided an organized, overview of this evolving career field. The balanced mix of types of media used kept my interest and periodic comprehension checks along the way provided reinforcement of key concepts. As a visual learner I enjoyed the option to print out transcripts of all videos and reading assignments for note taking and highlighting. It was refreshing as well as encouraging to discover that 'soft skills' are highly prized in a good data science team member. I was energized to learn that I will be able to develop the skills and experience necessary to pursue a career in Data Science or Machine Learning and am eager to get started on the next course required to earn my Professional Certificate.

By Fatima G

Apr 21, 2019

Even though I can not pass the quizzes and final assignment*, I have watched the videos and read the readings and answered the questions and I found this course very very very useful, because I am new at Data Science and this course give me the overview of what is data Science really is and How can someone become a Data Scientist. I really thanks Coursers and IBM. :)

*P.S: I am in Iran. Unfortunately there is a lot of problems being an Iranian. There are sanctions and limits against Iranian "People". But it is very sad that these people were not be able to use these free educational material. I passed courses in Coursera but I Can not get certificate because the name of my country were not in the list. We are also a human being.

With respect :)

Fatima Ghaffaari

By Yiyun X

Feb 27, 2023

Thanks for the course, which gave me a clear understanding of the function of a data scientist career. A data scientist is a job in which data science can be used to analyze data, especially to solve problems. For instance, they can create algorithms or find patterns through datasets. Curious and critical thinking are necessary for one data scientist. After using data science knowledge, they are able to story-telling and make explanations for the findings and communicate suggestions. I also know the difference between data science and machine learning. They are totally different concepts. Data science is more complex compared to a single subject. It's a combination that includes mathematics, statistical analysis, data visualization, and machine learning.