Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM

4.7
stars
68,885 ratings

About the Course

Do you want to know why data science has been labeled the sexiest profession of the 21st century? After taking this course, you will be able to answer this question, understand what data science is and what data scientists do, and learn about career paths in the field. The art of uncovering insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and accurately predicted the Nile River's flooding every year. Since then, people have continued to use data to derive insights and predict outcomes. Recently, they have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In today's world, we use Data Science to find patterns in data and make meaningful, data-driven conclusions and predictions. This course is for everyone and teaches concepts like how data scientists use machine learning and deep learning and how companies apply data science in business. You will meet several data scientists, who will share their insights and experiences in data science. By taking this introductory course, you will begin your journey into this thriving field....

Top reviews

SH

Jul 24, 2021

Thank you for this coursera.

I get know experience and knowledge in using different kinds of online tools which are useful and effective. I'll use some of them during my lessons. And lots of thanks

PD

Jul 18, 2018

I thought this course introduced the topic of data science very well. I think I have a much better idea how to describe data science and common terms associated with the field (like machine learning).

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 10,000 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By Surbhi B

Jan 20, 2021

This course is really informative. It covers all the fundamentals , concepts of tools used in data science through examples. It clearly tells what qualities one should have to become a data scientist. With all the research paper used and briefly explained makes easy to understand the terms like data mining , storing , analyzing and consuming. Questionnaire is perfectly made to capture and memorise the important points in

By Abhishek P G

Jun 16, 2020

Yes, I did it and it helped me gain more skills and refreshed on my outdated skills that I learned long time ago. The IBM Data Science Professional Certificate has great content and the instructors are competent enough. I will learn how to structure data science problems and introduce you to the entire data science workflow. The big advantage I will learn is how to use cloud to develop and deploy machine learning models

By Rafeel H

Dec 17, 2023

As a beginner, the course was very informative for me. In this course, you will learn AI, its subsets, and its relation with data science. I would like to encourage the people out there who want to pursue Data Science as a career, this course is for you people, it will give you a road map about this versatile field that from where to start, and what sets of skills are required to excel in this field. Happy Learning.

By Soumyajit D

Jul 28, 2022

I really enjoyed and got to learn about Data Science from experienced working professionals like Mr. Murtaza Haider and professors like Dr. Norman White . And, also the collective wisdom from all the developers commity really helped me to understood whats going on in Data Science field and gave me a fundamental idea about What's Data Science is . I can't wait to join for the next few courses in this specialization.

By Suraj D G

May 16, 2020

I have already taken one course on data science, but the quality and content this course has is really broad. The way every data scientist professional explain their views on how the career would be on the day to day life and what skills do you need to develop to be one of the best in the field. Very excited as I completed the first course and looking forward to complete the IBM certification within next 3-4 months.

By MATIAS R

May 6, 2019

I believed this course has given me a much better understanding of data science and some other related topics as machine learning, deep analytics and so. I realize that there is a lot more to come If I would like to be a professional someday in this subject. Although data science it´s a very complex topic, the way that the course is presented and the professionals that contributed made it a very pleasing experience.

By Engr.Sudipto B S

Jan 14, 2020

This course is fully well designed and have developed in some particular ways for knowledge development in data science and engineering. I have grown a well amount of interest in data science by going this course. More quiz based on this topic is needed and also needed some important reference for more better and appropriate books for more knowledge gathering. But overall the course is marvelous and well oriented.

By Jerin V

Nov 20, 2019

It was a very informative course. For someone who wants to begin with Data Science, this course can be the best first step. I've learnt a lot from this course. As I said this course is informative so don't expect any hands-on. Questions like what is Data Science? or How to become a Data Scientist? etc. will be answered in this course. Thank you Coursera for the financial aid. Looking forward to many other courses.

By Michael S

Mar 8, 2021

I have a great understanding of the role of the data scientist and their objective.

Its great to know all the parts that make up data science and how data science has changed the world today.

The videos interviews give perspective and understanding of the role of a data scientist and the new tools and trends in data science.

The readings are great as they solidify what is being said in the interviews.

Great course!

By Samsul A A

Nov 26, 2019

So I was doing Data science from other free sources and of course, gained pieces of knowledge from those free sources. But learning from here I guess is giving me more structured information I required in order to motivate myself to learn more about Data Science. The way the videos interacted with me as a user was really informative and qualitative. Really looking forward to completing the further courses.

By Jada N

Oct 5, 2019

It is a basic requirement of a student to know what he/she is actually going into. I have found that this course provides an intuition on 'What is Data Science?' 'How it was occurred?' 'What are the fields of Data Science that made this thriving in the modern world?' This course will give you an insight on what you needed to know before you go into the depths of Data Science. I have found it useful, indeed.

By Raymond M A

Oct 22, 2019

Excelente curso para iniciarse en conocer lo que es el big data, las informaciones son proporcionadas por expertos en la materias y años de experiencia en todo el contenido, las practicas son bastante clara y detalladas en el laboratorio iguales las pruebas, el personal ha realizado un gran esfuerzo para hacer comprensible este curso a estudiantes que no tienen ningún conocimiento de lo que es el big data

By Choong N P

Oct 21, 2020

This course was very helpful and useful for me to start new chapter in my subject expert domain in corporate cash management. I realised that data science is requiring three fundamental skills - proficient knowledge in your domain, communication and some technical skills required for data science jobs. The important drivers are curiosity for your domain and passion for solving problems in your domain.

By Prashant D

Nov 23, 2023

The course provided an excellent introduction to the field of data science. It covered fundamental concepts, methodologies, and real-world applications comprehensively. The use of quizzes, hands-on exercises, and real-life examples made the learning experience engaging and practical. It helped in reinforcing the concepts taught in each module. Special Thanks to Coursera & IBM for offering this course.

By Naseeb A S

Nov 5, 2022

Write courses for professional students. I literally enjoy it. Very helpful and high scope in future. World is going to online that's why this course is excellent knowledge. By the way actually professional must will do this course. Thank you so much for giving me a one more chance to take this high valuable course. I hope you all are doing well. All the best and best wishes for your futures guys

By Mimouni M A

Sep 6, 2018

this course is awesome .

i really enjoyed it, thanks IBM and thanks Coursera .

in the first week you will answer to these questions

what is data science ?

what data scientists do ?

how to become a data scientist

in the second week you will know about data science's topics such as big data, data mining , machine learning and neural networks

in the third week you will things about data science in the business

By Yash S W

Apr 16, 2020

Excellent quality content! It's a great introductory course that really gets you interested in Data Science. I would highly recommend it to anyone curious about learning about what Data Science is about. Very learning experience, I am a beginner in DS, but the instructors in this course simplified the contents that made me I could easily understand, tools and materials were very helpful to start with.

By AckoGon

Dec 19, 2020

This was an excellent introduction to Data Science, and it was great listening to individuals that are engaged in this field throughout the video series. It effectively placed into perspective the expectations coming into Data Science and the potential for becoming involved in this field. Overall, this was a great first of nine courses delving into Data Science, I can't wait to start the next course!

By SK A F

Aug 20, 2019

I just completed the course, and I am pleased with the material and lecture video. The course is well organized to explain What is data science and who is the data scientist with the responsibility of them. It also has a bit of exercise for IBM Watson. I get the financial aid, and I am very much pleased to COUSERA and IBM both for design this type of unique course and supporting me by financial aid.

By Kuenga N

Apr 7, 2024

I learned so many things about Data Science in this course. Although I knew some data science tools and concepts beforehand from different sources, this course helped me understand and contextualize them in an organized manner. This course also introduced me to data science tools and principles. I definitely feel my confidence has gone up and I can approach my future with confidence and knowledge.

By Meher P D

Mar 7, 2022

Data science is one of the hottest professions of the decade, and the demand for data scientists who can analyze data and communicate results to inform data driven decisions has never been greater. This Professional Certificate from IBM will help anyone interested in pursuing a career in data science or machine learning develop career-relevant skills and experience.i learn lot from this coarse.

By Андрей Л

Jun 19, 2019

After completing this course I really understood that I used and done many times all that can be described as Data Science. I can say now that it is necessary for physicians to study data science because there will be great benefits for us while using data science methods.

Thank authors for this course. Now I have even more motivations to learn and get IBM Data Science Professional Certificate.

By James H

Apr 14, 2020

I enjoyed this course. It was an excellent intro to Data Science and gave many options on possible careers using it. Some of the test questions were a little off and were either asked before the material was covered, or were more about the syntax of a reading rather than the content - but it wasn't as if we only had one shot to answer the questions correctly... I would recommend this course

By Tan C K

Aug 30, 2021

The course presents a very good overview of Data Science. It has changed my view about Industry 4.0. My understanding about industry4.0 now is about big data and AI. Connectivity to acquire data is the first step in Industry 4.0. All the data will be stored, analyze using AI to gather insight and make predictions and improvements. I feel that the time spent in the course is very worthwhile.

By Luke M

Apr 21, 2020

If you want a rundown of what Data Science is in today's day and age, I suggest checking out YouTube videos first which have a similar information and are free. However if you want an IBM certificate then go ahead and pay $28 for the course. Also if you do take the course , try to finish it within one month or you'll be charged $28 every month till you complete it, a feature I did not like.