Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM

4.7
stars
68,918 ratings

About the Course

Do you want to know why data science has been labeled the sexiest profession of the 21st century? After taking this course, you will be able to answer this question, understand what data science is and what data scientists do, and learn about career paths in the field. The art of uncovering insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and accurately predicted the Nile River's flooding every year. Since then, people have continued to use data to derive insights and predict outcomes. Recently, they have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In today's world, we use Data Science to find patterns in data and make meaningful, data-driven conclusions and predictions. This course is for everyone and teaches concepts like how data scientists use machine learning and deep learning and how companies apply data science in business. You will meet several data scientists, who will share their insights and experiences in data science. By taking this introductory course, you will begin your journey into this thriving field....

Top reviews

RS

May 11, 2020

Very learning experience, I am a beginner in DS, but the instructors in this course simplified the contents that made me I could easily understand, tools and materials were very helpful to start with.

FA

Aug 20, 2023

This course is rich, engaging and thought provoking. It is a solid foundation for a career in data science. I now feel more confident that I can excel in this field. Thank you IBM! Thank you Coursera!

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 10,000 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By Babak A

Nov 22, 2023

Data Science is an interdisciplinary field that uses scientific methods, processes, algorithms, and systems to extract knowledge and insights from structured and unstructured data. It applies techniques and theories drawn from many fields within the context of mathematics, statistics, computer science, domain knowledge, and information science. The main goal of data science is to find patterns and make sense of data. It involves various stages including data collection, data cleaning, exploratory data analysis, data modeling, and data visualization to communicate the findings. Data scientists use machine learning algorithms to build predictive models that can perform tasks without being explicitly programmed to do so.

By Jeel

Sep 6, 2021

This is really a great course. Although, I am studying Data Exploration and Visualization for Data Science in school, there was a lot to gain from the course and a lot that I did not know. It really gave me a perspective of what is data science today and it surely helped me get a direction into the field and I am more confident now as to what I want to do in my start of the career as a Data Sciencist and what should I expect while preparing for the interviews and while performing responsibilities at work. And the best part was that course offers insights from some of the very big players in the industry and I think that really helps understanding Data Science from their level.

By Kevin B

Oct 15, 2022

Overall, this was a good course and explained everything it outlined in its introduction. However (not removing stars for this reason), there are typos in the content on nearly every page, some questions are phrased incorrectly (unecessary punctuation and wordings), and the peer-review was difficult to do being I was assigned someone who submitted in another language and no translation tool that I used could affect the fields where the text was. For this reason, I had to download an app to translate from an image and even then, it was broken english (my spoken language) which made it extremely difficult to give a fair grade to that individual.

By Muhammad B S

Oct 11, 2023

In this course, "What is Data Science?" on Coursera is a priceless treasure trove for anyone interested in data science. It's a journey filled with 'Aha!' moments, where you transform from a data neophyte to a data enthusiast. Whether you're a professional looking to upskill or an absolute beginner, this course provides the perfect launchpad for your data science odyssey. For me, this course has been not just educational, but inspirational. I'm eager to explore the world of data science further, and it's all thanks to this fantastic course. So, what are you waiting for? Dive in, explore, and embrace the fascinating world of data science!

By Caitlin L

May 25, 2019

I must have missed it but there were more than ten components in the final deliverable as far as the reading exercise went. More specifically, the differentiation was not clear as to which of those components were the ten main components. So, extra clarification would be good. Sometimes the content seemed to contradict itself, being that there were so many lecturers, so maybe a recap as to what the definitive answer is would also be really nice too. Maybe another lecturer could be added separately at the end of each section to recap what you expect the student to understand or to summarize everyone's answer into a more definitive answer.

By Suz L

Mar 31, 2020

The instructors and course material do a great job in covering the field of data science and explaining why data scientists are and will continue to be of immense value in the future. As someone with an operations management background and no formal academic education in Data Science such as PhD/MS in Statistics, Mathematics, CS etc., my initial decision to learn DS was serious, yet I still had a feeling of uncertainty in making this shift. Jumping into a new field and gaining quant skills can be daunting, but this introductory course really helped me to lay a foundation and solidify my intentions in pursuing this career track.

By Duguma Y

Oct 23, 2022

This was a wonderful course. One comment I have is that some times the quizes and exams test the specific vocabulary used in readings and videos. Like one question's answer was "output" and the word "result" was also in the choice, which confused me. In my view the exams should test the conceptual understanding of a student, not a specific English word used in a reading. Ofcourse if it was a special term used in Data Science, I totally understand. But to test an English word is not the core of this course in my perspective. Hope you find my comment appropriate. I have learned a lot from this course, Thank You.

By Matouš F

Dec 30, 2023

I enrolled this course as part of "IBM Data science professional certificate". There are several things I want to point out. 1) Clarity - The most important concepts are highlighted. Student is not overwhelmed with useless information. 2) Variety - There are a few types of sections: videos, reading, labs, quiz tests, assignments. Which makes it fun. 3) Perspective - The topic is viewed from different perspectives. 4) Community and support - Student can ask questions and network with other students. I hope the rest of the "IBM Data science professional certificate" will continue in the same settings.

By Daniela R

Apr 15, 2020

Hi guys, you have done a fantastic job with this course! I really enjoyed it.

I appreciate the fact that you have included diverse set of students for interviews. Going forward, it would be great if you could identify a female co-instructor to add more diversity and different perspective to the structure and presentation of the materials. I believe that having a woman as instructor (not only voice over) would make the whole topic more accessible for women participants.

Could you share some statistics on the proportion of women among students who enrolled for the course and graduated?

Thanks a lot.

By Vineet K M

Feb 7, 2021

This course motivates to learn data science and know it's applications . The course is well framed which provides a crux of the data science background while giving a detailed view on the day-to-day task performed by a data scientist. This course not just only talk about the coding skills and maths but also the soft skill that data scientists require . The course talks about curiosity and storytelling as the most important soft skill for a data scientists and also tells its application while performing a task. This course is a must before diving in the deep world of coding, statistics and maths.

By MANISH S

Jan 7, 2019

Dr. Murtaza Haider's views are so simple and so profound. Before taking the course, all I knew about Data Science was that it is a highly technical subject and people with non-technical background (like me) will find it difficult (if not very difficult) to dive into it. The introduction makes me very comfortable and enthusiastic about the subject. When I look back at my work all the past years, I had been wearing the hat of a data scientist without knowing it! Of course, the technical part will be coming but now I am very confident that I will be able to tackle it with ease.

By Juan B V

Feb 12, 2024

This course offers a panoramic view of the captivating landscape of Data Science, providing insight, inspiration, and guidance as you navigate through its intricacies. Delve into the heart of data-driven discovery, where every insight is a stepping stone towards innovation and understanding. Through engaging lectures and real-world applications, discover the power and potential of Data Science to transform industries, solve complex problems, and drive impactful change. Let this course be your compass, igniting your passion and propelling you forward on your path to mastery.

By Kin C

Nov 25, 2023

This is an excellent introduction course to help me understand the depth and breath of Data Science. It traced back its history from unknown to a field where organizations and businesses depend on for improvement and innovation. The technical content is clearly explained and easy to understand. It also discussed what it takes to become a data scientist, the skills required, and how to hone those skills and be an effective practitioner. The rest of this specialization covers those technical skills and know how should one desire to take up the challenge.

By Nidhi N A

Apr 20, 2024

IBM's Data Science course was an illuminating journey, offering comprehensive insights into the field. From fundamental principles to advanced techniques, each module was well-structured and engaging. The hands-on approach through practical exercises and real-world projects solidified my understanding. Grateful for the dedicated instructors' guidance and IBM's commitment to accessible education. This course provided invaluable knowledge and skills, and I look forward to applying them in my future endeavors. Thank you IBM, for this enriching experience.

By f/z B

Mar 25, 2022

sincérement ce cours est trés enrichissant car l'experience de différents étudiants ainsi des spécialistes en la matière , ce cours m'a permis de voir la discipline de datascience dans différents angles, ainsi il a doublé ma curiosité vers cette discipline qui prends de l'ampleur non seulement dans les pays dévelopés mais dans les pays en en voie de dévelopement . j'espère avec ce cours la porte de la datascience s'ouvre pour moi car ce cours m'a poussé à accentué mes connaissances ainsi d'enrechir mon potentiel dans les sciences des données.

By shivam w

Jan 3, 2020

What a great a journey it was. Learned a lot from this course. When I first saw this course I thought it will be very difficult for me to complete this course but when I started learning it it felt very easy to me. Every topic explained in a very simple way and by also giving an analogy. Before joining this course i was so scared but now after completion of course I'm feeling very confident and I got a feeling that I choose the right path. Thank you coursera for designing this beautiful course in a very good manner. Thank You So Much

By Ali J R

Feb 7, 2024

Great course that was also nicely rigorous. What I liked best was the fact that they started to put you to learning and testing right away and, most importantly, covered important surrounding topics like Cloud Computing, types of Programming languages, Big Data, Databases and other tools and how they relate to Data Science. That was very good to see and having these concepts ingrained within yourself from this point is great, especially for a beginner transitioning in and aiming to build strong foundations regarding the field.

By Ankit M

Sep 3, 2019

This is probably the best introduction that is out there to the fascinating world of Data Science. Hats off to the faculties in this course for making it fun, while at the same time being informative too. I liked the examples provided by Prof. Murtaza; you can tell that he sincerely enjoys educating students and takes pride in it. Same goes for Prof. White, I hope someday I get the chance to meet them. Last but not the least, huge thanks to the hard-working people at IBM and Coursera for creating this course. You guys rock!

By Prabhakar S

Aug 24, 2020

Probably the best introductory course for data science, especially for beginners who literally got little to no idea about data science. The course starts from introducing the basics of data science to the experiences of a data scientist and other sectors in the field of data science. Also they provide a great reading material as well take assessment based on it. Overall, it was a great experience. If you're a beginner, want to seek career in the field of Data Science but don't know where to start from, start from here.

By PRUDHVI

May 15, 2020

This course added more knowledge to my previous course, I have taken in Coursera, 'AI FOR EVERYONE by Dr. Andrew Ng'. As a Ph. D aspirant, now I confidently choose Data Science as a subject to pursue, with this knowledge. This course also provoked me to learn Python, I already started with basics. Thanks to L4G for providing me this opportunity. It's a priceless opportunity. Thanks, IBM for facilitating these kinds of knowledge in an accessible way to everyone. I am going on with all the 9 modules of this entire course.

By Julie M

Feb 2, 2020

This was a perfect introduction for a beginner to data science. There’s a little bit more of general conversation in the videos than I found helpful. It is fairly easy to meet the standard for accountability for content knowledge. I really appreciate the ability to have the video text along with the videos so I can choose how I learn best. Sometimes the quiz answers change if you scroll back on a touch screen to review them. Overall I found this to be an excellent introduction in terms of the content and the pacing.

By Andrew R

Nov 26, 2019

A basic but very useful introduction to the field of data science. A good course to start for someone from a non-analytics background. It emphasises the often overlooked detail of storytelling - other courses dive straight into pandas and matplotlib and machine learning algorithms but don't mention to the student that successfully telling the story of the data to stakeholders, rather than just visualising it, is just as important as the technical work. Something I wish I had known when starting out in the field.

By Anju K

May 27, 2020

This is fantastic, easy going course to understand the very basics of Data science. I was always skeptical on the technical aspects of Data science and the challenge with starting with them being a non technical. This course has helped to understand that coding is not the beginning of Data science rather one of the last steps. Before reaching that stage, you are required to have curiosity and attitude; much more than coding to understand the business problems and finding solutions from data science perspective.

By Paul P

Nov 25, 2021

Before you get into the flashy elements of data science with all the tools available, coding, problem solving challenges, you need to know what a data scientist is and what is data science. I was pleasantly surprised about the avenues you can take to get into the industry. I highly recommend doing this course first before any other IBM course as you will see what soft skills a data scientist needs (often overlooked), long before you code anything. Very interesting and eye opening. Again, highly recommended.

By PANIDAPU H C

Jun 5, 2020

This is a very nice course. I like it very much. I am interested to do more and more courses. Data Science is a very important aspect of development and also for leading future generations.This course helped me a lot in understanding data science, machine learning, and artificial intelligence, and more and more topics.I think This is a wonderful course for learning data science.THANKYOU COURSERA TEAM. I would like to thank the Instructors ALEX AKLSON AND POLONG LIN.I wish to learn more and more courses