Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM

4.7
stars
69,086 ratings

About the Course

Do you want to know why data science has been labeled the sexiest profession of the 21st century? After taking this course, you will be able to answer this question, understand what data science is and what data scientists do, and learn about career paths in the field. The art of uncovering insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and accurately predicted the Nile River's flooding every year. Since then, people have continued to use data to derive insights and predict outcomes. Recently, they have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In today's world, we use Data Science to find patterns in data and make meaningful, data-driven conclusions and predictions. This course is for everyone and teaches concepts like how data scientists use machine learning and deep learning and how companies apply data science in business. You will meet several data scientists, who will share their insights and experiences in data science. By taking this introductory course, you will begin your journey into this thriving field....

Top reviews

RS

May 11, 2020

Very learning experience, I am a beginner in DS, but the instructors in this course simplified the contents that made me I could easily understand, tools and materials were very helpful to start with.

BR

Feb 21, 2019

Excellent quality content! It's a great introductory course that really gets you interested in Data Science. I would highly recommend it to anyone curious in learning about what Data Science is about.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 10,000 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By PANIDAPU H C

Jun 5, 2020

This is a very nice course. I like it very much. I am interested to do more and more courses. Data Science is a very important aspect of development and also for leading future generations.This course helped me a lot in understanding data science, machine learning, and artificial intelligence, and more and more topics.I think This is a wonderful course for learning data science.THANKYOU COURSERA TEAM. I would like to thank the Instructors ALEX AKLSON AND POLONG LIN.I wish to learn more and more courses

By Avinash D U

May 12, 2021

I belong from Hospitality Background and recently this year in effort to change career path after qualifying PMP I was looking for other courses that would elevate my professional skills.

Coursera is recommended by PMI, so opting IBM certification for Data Science is an ongoing good journey.

With first certification "What is Data Science" completed i feel good, motivated and curious to explore remaining 9 courses on data science, even going ahead to look for specialization on rest courses on coursera.

By Khalid K

Jun 14, 2020

I'm saying this from my own experience before starting i thought it would be very difficult to understand but when i start learning i loved it because the tutors are excellent i felt like their not taking class just like a personal talk with them like a guest visiting our home especially Mr.Norman White and Mr.Murtaza Haider . i really understand what is data science about what all the works , background , the uses facts .i got an idea whats the next next steps i have to do its very very useful course.

By Henry G C

Sep 16, 2018

I liked the videos from not only professors but also students. The transcript also helped to understanding the materials. However, some of the content discussed in the videos and/or text didn't match with what we were quizzed on intermittently throughout the class course; thus we were wrong on some answers when we were actually right. A little misleading especially if you're a student trying to learn new material. This is a simple fix to me. The course itself is a good intro class to data science.

By zzi A

Mar 23, 2022

The course provides a brief overview on what one might encounter when being a data scientist. Most knowledge in the course is not that deep, but I would like that the course gives a little bit more definition to some of the terms included in the course, but still, pretty well overall. If you wish to have coding included in this course, I would not suggest taking it, but if you seek a brief interview on what it means to be a data scientist and possible career options, this would be an excellent course.

By Makinde M D F

Jul 26, 2019

Thank you for this wonderful opportunity on the path of becoming a Data Scientist on Coursera once again. As taught in the course, the impact, relevance and importance of data science in our day to day living can not be over-emphasized. We are all faced with the task of evaluating, manipulating and analyse data in our every day living and making an informed decision and inferring answers from such that affect our lives and others around us as an individual, Government, Corporations and Organisations.

By Harshad P

Sep 13, 2019

Very very well presented. It is not like other courses where most of the contents are explained via diagrams,charts and so on. Though that is also easy to grasp but we tend to forget it after a while. The sharing of knowledge through chats and interviews of students and highly experienced data scientists was easier for me to grasp. When you begin learning data science through such a amazing beginner course you want to learn more. I will definitely enroll for the other data science courses now

By Azaliia H

Sep 9, 2020

I agree with other reviewers that there was too much introduction in this course, but It's perfect for beginners . I have some mathematical and statistical background, but even for me this course was very useful. Firstly, I wanted to start the main course "Data science professional certificate", but then decided to start with the introduction course.

One more thing - instruction for IMB Watson was outdated. It was challenging to follow them.

Thank you for the course! I enjoyed studying a lot.

By Benson K

Jul 3, 2019

This is a very good course, very organized and easy to understand. The course content is well simplified, the videos are of good quality and precise to the point. It gives practical examples and very well related case studies which are easily accessible even from mobile app. the instructors and the general Coursera support team are always available and will to help where you are stuck. Am looking forward to do more courses in Coursera as well as finish the IBM Data Science course...Cheers!

By Amitayu B

Dec 12, 2020

This is a wonderful introductory course in Data Science. Definitions of Data Science, Data Scientists, Data Mining, Data Gathering, Data preprocessing, cleaning, Data Visualization, Data Analysis, Machine Learning, Modelling, Deep Learning, Neural Networks, Big data and alternative tools like Apache Spark, and Hadoop are mentioned. It is interesting to see several applications of Data Science in different industries these days as well as how different fields intersect with Data Science.

By Kathleen J

Sep 24, 2018

I really enjoyed how this course explain in detail what the job of data scientist entails as well as what kind of person the data scientist is. It made me feel confident that I made the right decision to take this course and explore this field. The course also helped me to see that I've been mining data and using it to formulate results for quite some time now. I never viewed my day to day activities as that of a data scientist but will do so now! Can't wait for the next round!!!!!

By Amir M

Aug 8, 2022

In this course, I got acquainted with the basics of data science and the necessary prerequisites. Which was wonderful in terms of educational content. Considering that I studied mathematics and I know statistics. I also know Python programming. I also learned to tell stories to some extent. I specialize in selling software products. I would like to be able to make a significant improvement in the company's earning process by improving the data analysis and sales review of the company.

By MD Z S

Jun 25, 2020

This course is very inspiring for those who have aspirations for Data science and want to pursue a career as Data Scientist. So, this is a right course, it will broaden your outlook about data as well as help to think yourself as a Data Scientist. Last not the least, Murtaza Haider is amazing. I like to mention that I have not clear conception about regression but the way he taught with a simple day to day life example, is just a magic in my brain and now the concept is totally clear.

By Vagia X

Feb 11, 2019

I really like the way that this course is introducing terms such as Data Science and Data Scientists to us. I think that it is really important to have an idea about the field that you want to start working. This course helped me to see the different views of people about the Data Science field, the characteristics and skills that each Data Scientist needs to have in order to be able to succeed and different terms such as how to write a goor report, where Data Science can be used etc.

By Rick G

Jul 5, 2019

Initially, I didn't think much of the course until I progressed further with the weeks and the videos. I didn't watch the videos, choosing instead to read the transcripts of them instead. This helped me get a better understanding of data science, as well as the intangibles of what makes a good data science. The anecdotes in the videos/transcriptions and the readings added further insight to provide a nice overview of data science itself. Nice way to kick start the IBM certificate.

By Amit K

Oct 18, 2020

Everything is explained so simply yet in detail with small videos which never encourage to lose interest in the course. I have taken a few other online courses but the way Coursera does things is completely different and the best way out there to deliver an online course. Kudos to all team members who put in their efforts which content selection, video animation, putting diff pieces of videos together, and finally all the speakers in videos, fantastic job guys, please keep this up.

By PuneethRegonda

Oct 14, 2019

Really a great start for a newbie !!!

I had searched all these times in a wrong places for What is Data Science ??

where I mostly ended up a page with ML / Deep Learning words instead of what actually is Data Science,,,

But this course starts with defining as "Data Science is a Process ,,,," which is so nice to hear after such situations I faced,

All around a good course for all the people of diverse sectors interested in Learning Data Science.

Thank Coursera for the Financial Aid

By Muhammad H H

Nov 19, 2021

The videos defined the concept of datascience as a tool and routine workings of a datascientist pretty well. Not only that, some PhDs also told us many valuable stories and lessons that we should learn and practice in our data science careers in order to become the best human resource there is.

Some people (including me) might think that this module only covers the basic terminologies and stuff, but there is much more in here than what I expected.

This is reason enough for a 5-star

By Carlos J B A

Oct 11, 2018

The courses I have taken have served me for my professional life, expand my knowledge and apply them finding results. This undoubtedly marked my personal life feeling happy and calm with what I am living. I feel that this platform has changed my life because it has ended with many paradigms that I had with respect to education, thanks to the financial help that Coursera has given me I have been able to move forward in my life project. Thanks you very much. Greetings from Colombia

By Saptarshi K

Dec 18, 2022

I have enjoyed learning this course a lot. Especially the quizzes and short topics that were given to us for study were super exciting. The fact that I enjoyed the most in them were the real life examples he gave, surrounding his master thesis or other sources were very interesting to listen. Overall the quizzes ,short questions in the videos and the peer graded assignment was extremely interersting. I hope to further increase my knowledge with the other courses on Coursera.

By Taya D

Feb 28, 2019

The videos were super informative and honestly inspiring to someone like me who does not come from a traditional comp sci background. It still made it sound like Data Science is a career for me, which is good because it is my current job.

I found it really attention getting that the videos had little quizes throughout. It made me pay attention more.

I would like to have had a few more examples of code I could write besides 1 + 1 just to start getting me used to reading it.

By Aman T

Apr 10, 2020

This was a very nice introduction to what exactly is data science. It will also teaches us what skills we should have in order to become data scientists. Also give us some introduction to How to make a proper report and what to write on that report. Difference between AI,machine learning,deep learning and data science is also described here very well. In a nutshell this course will give us very broad view of What is Data Science. I highly recommend this course to everyone.

By Mohammed A

Nov 23, 2023

It was awesome time learning about data science, before getting myself involved with this course, I have asked numerous questions and searched the internet to get an understanding about this course but none has given me an understanding about the course and what it entails, but spending time taking this course was worth it, not only did I get the understanding about the course and also gets to know more in terms of cloud computing, Airtificial intelligence and others.

By Suvraneel S

Sep 28, 2022

This course is the mecca for a new beginner trying to learn data science from scratch . This course goes through the topics like big data , Regression , What is Data Science , Applications of Data Science . What is hadoop , What is the difference between deep learning and machine learning , and many more . Professor Murtuza Haider is wonderful , he explains the topic in a such a lucid way it can be understood by all . Thanks to IBM and Coursera for making this course

By Nirav P

Nov 21, 2022

Thank you so much IBM and Coursera.

I always want to learn about data science. But due to some reasons, I couldn't learn about data science. But you helped me a lot and teach me very well. In this course, the material and teachers are so good. They teach in a very easy way and we can understand very easily, also teachers give us real-life examples. So, we can easily understand. Whoever wants to learn about data science, they can learn here. This is the best platform.