Chevron Left
Back to What is Palliative Care?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Palliative Care? by University of Colorado System

4.8
stars
230 ratings
59 reviews

About the Course

Palliative care provides invaluable help for patients living with serious or life-limiting illness and their family caregivers. Palliative care should be part of healthcare services to improve quality of life, the ability to tolerate and benefit from treatment and improve survival. In this course, you will learn about the nature of suffering and how this concept can help you understand the experience of people living with serious illness. Next, you will learn skills to more effectively communicate with patients, families and other care providers to both understand their experiences and provide an extra layer of support. In the next module you will explore your own core values and beliefs and how they impact your work with others. Finally, you will learn how to do a whole person assessment to understand the needs of people with serious illness so you can develop a plan to support them. You will be able to immediately use these insights, skills and tools in your work with people living with serious illness. In later courses, you will learn to ease pain and other symptoms, such as loss of appetite, shortness of breath and fatigue. In the final course, you will explore ways to ease psycho-social-spiritual distress. These courses will prepare you to bring basic palliative care to all in need....

Top reviews

AP
Sep 8, 2020

Excellent course!! Even if can't compare to a master's degree, it certainly helps with the foundations you'll need in the future if you want to take this path in healthcare.

SA
May 23, 2020

Fantastic class! I learned a lot. I love the fact that we have required readings; the teachers are so knowledgeable and the quizzes were at the right level of difficulty.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 59 Reviews for What is Palliative Care?

By Aedrian A

Jan 23, 2021

This course is an excellent, whole-rounded introduction to palliative care. The inter-professional experience and expertise of the course creators are truly reflected in the material, providing learners from all walks of life a solid foundation in making sense of the purpose and competencies of the field. As early in this course (as part of the Coursera Specialization where it belongs), important tools for meaningful interactions with patients and their families (of all definitions of that term for the patient) are presented, and it won't be surprising if one finds these tools useful even outside the palliative care setting.

By Ana I P P

Sep 9, 2020

Excellent course!! Even if can't compare to a master's degree, it certainly helps with the foundations you'll need in the future if you want to take this path in healthcare.

By Nikhil J

Jul 16, 2020

Great course. Well presented, not extremely lengthy. Covered the details through interactive videos and links to ted talks and publications. Much appreciated.

By c m

Oct 1, 2020

this was an excellent program i do belive there was a lot of work associated with the this and therefoe i believe that this coures should be accredited.

By Akindra K

Oct 23, 2020

This was very helpful short cause for me to improve and polish my knowledge.thank you very much coursera.

By Fernanda P R A A

Nov 7, 2020

It was a great experience. I hope I can continue studying this course with you. Thank you so much.

By Roop G

Aug 15, 2020

I could use some of the basic principles immediately in my regular practice of Neurology

By Banani B

May 11, 2020

This is a very informative as well worth enrollment course. Totally satisfied.

By Shakeel C

Dec 3, 2020

Great course. You can learn many aspects of Palliative care in a short time

By Raymund M

Aug 3, 2020

Very Informative and makes it easier in making critical decisions .

By Cecilia S O

Jun 30, 2020

I loved all the information, videos and resources presented.

By Carina A d O

May 20, 2020

Simply amazing! I am in love with Palliative Care!

By Liliana R

Aug 25, 2020

Excelente curso, cumplió mis expectativas.

By Jennifer B

Jun 11, 2020

excelent , very interesting and creative

By Ruby C

Mar 9, 2021

Wonderful course found it rather easy,

By L B d S

Jun 4, 2020

I loved this course, I learned a lot!

By Pallavi B

Jul 26, 2020

one of the best courses on coursera.

By Heather V

Apr 14, 2020

excellent modules and information

By Asmaa F

Jul 1, 2021

professional and stunning course

By Yasmine J

Dec 16, 2020

This course was very informative

By Hassan S M S

Oct 20, 2020

very interested and informative

By elis l

Sep 7, 2020

excellent and well-explained!

By Andres O

Jun 11, 2020

EXCELLENT CONTENT,

By Raneen A A A

Sep 27, 2020

It's great course

By Helen U

Jul 3, 2020

Great course