Chevron Left
Back to What is Social?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Social? by Northwestern University

4.6
stars
3,566 ratings
940 reviews

About the Course

The “What Is Social?" MOOC is for business owners, executives, and marketing professionals who want to significantly improve their abilities to grow their social strategy using effective, proven methodologies. This hands on, "how to" program won’t just tell you how to grow your professional persona using social – you will actually do it! This course is the first in the six-course specialization, Social Media Marketing: How to Profit in a Digital World. While the course can be audited for free, paid learners will receive additional content beyond the course basics. For MOOC 1, the toolkit includes a special video from Alessandro Acquisti on Big Data and a set of studies done by IBM on engagement and social marketing strategies with bottom-line profits. This course has been designed to give you the tools, insights, knowledge, and skills to immediately impact your organization. In addition, we will help you network with thought leaders in social. After completing this course, you and your organization’s staff will be able to position, engage, and grow relationships with the consumers of highest value to you. Today, we are living in a period of massive disruption. New technologies are changing the way people engage with each other and with the organizations that interest them. This course will start you on the path to growing your own social strategy using effective, proven methodologies. Additional MOOC 1 faculty include: * Judy Ungar Franks (President, The Marketing Democracy, Ltd. & Lecturer, Medill Integrated Marketing Communications, Northwestern)...

Top reviews

CC
May 12, 2016

A really great introduction to Social Media Marketing and an opportunity to gain access to really useful tools that make me competitive in the job market. Very excited to begin MOOC 2 of this program.

FF
Oct 6, 2016

Great course. Looking forward completing whole specialization.\n\nAdditionally, the course shares and recommends tools which are helpful if you are doing social media marketing or eager to become one.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 920 Reviews for What is Social?

By Inah F

Jul 26, 2020

I learned a lot in just a few days. I hope you also give more practical examples through out the course.

By Bibi P

Jul 6, 2017

One of the best courses I've ever enrolled to. Full of meaningful subjects, great classes and exercises.

By Ashley A

Jan 10, 2016

I really enjoyed this course. I look forward to learning more about Social Media in this Specialization!

By Heather B

Dec 3, 2017

excellent overview... very good about introducing how to engage socially online. Great place to start!

By YU J

Aug 2, 2020

It is very suitable for expanding knowledge about social media. It is very good and easy to understand

By Yewande D

Jun 13, 2020

This course is a very good introduction to what social is all about.So much learnt.Highly recommended.

By Norbert Á Z

Apr 16, 2020

Relevant information, relevant knowledge! No more than he promises, but no less! I can only recommend!

By Karla B

Jul 13, 2020

Learned in depth details about Social Media Marketing and many new ideas to implement in my business.

By Danielle C

Sep 9, 2018

It's a great introduction and opened my eyes to resources I don't think I would have found otherwise.

By Sanika K

Nov 21, 2016

Brilliant course with some great insights on how to build a strong social platform for your business.

By leslie

May 28, 2017

I have learned a lot already. I had no idea how much there is to embrace with managing social media!

By Maria

Nov 4, 2015

Excellent, well presented course with a lot of interesting material perfect fit for online learning.

By Samuel F

May 3, 2020

Very informative and easy to follow course. Learned quite a bit about a lot of sites I already use!

By Irma A H A

Dec 2, 2018

I am really enjoying this!!! You learn exactly what you need for a great digital marketing strategy

By Asbin S

Nov 8, 2018

Very interesting course, provided me with great tools needed to boost my knowledge of social skills

By Dmytro Z

Apr 13, 2018

Great insights and great start. Thank you, Mr. Hlavac, for extremely helpful tips from your guests!

By PWC D

Aug 20, 2020

I liked the content. It was very useful to begin with. Will continue the balance later. Thank you.

By Nicole C

Sep 21, 2020

This is a very good course for getting a basic understanding of social networks and communities.

By Towanda L

Oct 2, 2019

This was such an eye-opener, I honestly see social media in another site thanks to this course!!

By Angelique B

Aug 30, 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed the course and learnt how important social media is in a ever-changing world.

By Jennifer M

Jan 16, 2016

I really enjoyed this First Course. I think it will help alot with my work and my own business..

By Ivan Z

Dec 18, 2018

It's a amazing course. The content is fully fulfilled with effective information. Learnt a lot!

By Divine M D

Mar 26, 2017

It has been a wonderfull experience learning this course. Just waiting to get to the next level

By Heriberto G

Jan 25, 2017

Great introduction in the impact of social media and how you can use it for marketing purposes.

By Cristina M V

Oct 1, 2016

very hands on and deals with the latest social media technology both current and up and coming