Chevron Left
Back to What is Social?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Social? by Northwestern University

4.6
2,745 ratings
694 reviews

About the Course

The “What Is Social?" MOOC is for business owners, executives, and marketing professionals who want to significantly improve their abilities to grow their social strategy using effective, proven methodologies. This hands on, "how to" program won’t just tell you how to grow your professional persona using social – you will actually do it! This course is the first in the six-course specialization, Social Media Marketing: How to Profit in a Digital World. While the course can be audited for free, paid learners will receive additional content beyond the course basics. For MOOC 1, the toolkit includes a special video from Alessandro Acquisti on Big Data and a set of studies done by IBM on engagement and social marketing strategies with bottom-line profits. This course has been designed to give you the tools, insights, knowledge, and skills to immediately impact your organization. In addition, we will help you network with thought leaders in social. After completing this course, you and your organization’s staff will be able to position, engage, and grow relationships with the consumers of highest value to you. Today, we are living in a period of massive disruption. New technologies are changing the way people engage with each other and with the organizations that interest them. This course will start you on the path to growing your own social strategy using effective, proven methodologies. Additional MOOC 1 faculty include: * Judy Ungar Franks (President, The Marketing Democracy, Ltd. & Lecturer, Medill Integrated Marketing Communications, Northwestern)...

Top reviews

FF

Oct 07, 2016

Great course. Looking forward completing whole specialization.\n\nAdditionally, the course shares and recommends tools which are helpful if you are doing social media marketing or eager to become one.

CQ

May 13, 2016

A really great introduction to Social Media Marketing and an opportunity to gain access to really useful tools that make me competitive in the job market. Very excited to begin MOOC 2 of this program.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 678 Reviews for What is Social?

By Joseph D R

Jan 24, 2016

Excellent introduction to social media

By matthew

Dec 06, 2016

Really great information made easy to digest. This MOOC is full of useful insights into the world of social and what is means to marketing. Really worth the time for anyone trying to make a social presence for their business or other venture!

By karen b

Nov 19, 2016

Great information. I learned a lot.

By alex c

Feb 29, 2016

Very informative in the subject material for an introductory course. I am looking forward to the next set of courses.

By Jose C

Oct 06, 2015

The course communicates very clearly its intent to help students build marketable business skills and they do not under-perform. It also stimulated me to stay with the multi-course program which is something that I had not seen in other MOOCs.

By Pierre M

Jan 18, 2017

Great, based on practice. A very good start

By Dmytro Z

Apr 13, 2018

Great insights and great start. Thank you, Mr. Hlavac, for extremely helpful tips from your guests!

By Supratim S

Sep 14, 2016

Great Course for introduction.

By Lu T P

Jan 25, 2018

Very basic and userful information.

By Sanika K

Nov 21, 2016

Brilliant course with some great insights on how to build a strong social platform for your business.

By Filipa G M d S

Aug 28, 2017

Extremely interactive, fairly challenging and interesting for someone comfortable with social and communities.

By Luiz A A E d S

Nov 07, 2016

É um curso muito interessante que te ensina a pensar sobre a sua imagem e a da sua empresa na internet como ferramenta de marca.

By Jingyi D

Jun 03, 2018

Perfect choice for beginners to learn about Social.

By luduoya

Feb 15, 2016

this is a very useful and practical class which give me a lot of inspirations,it's good for people who want to have own online business.

By Jody P

Oct 19, 2015

I really loved this course for three reasons: (1) It was clearly designed for an online audience (as opposed to a recording of a University lecture); (2) it offered good, relevant, clearly-presented information in a concise way, including guest lectures by topical experts; and (3) it was relevant and useful to my current business needs. It met and possibly exceeded my expectations. I was able to glean helpful information and sources without being overwhelming in terms of time expenditure.

By Carol A G

Apr 22, 2016

Excellent course! Very well presented with very valuable information - thank you very much I enjoyed it immen

By Eliana d p

Jan 30, 2016

very useful and clear, thanks!

By medhanie

May 29, 2016

This course has a lot of valuable information. It's grate

By Daniel C

Nov 01, 2016

Really awesome information and very eye-opening.

By Deonne R M

Mar 16, 2016

Practical and current

By siva p

Sep 19, 2015

simply super.

By Codruta S

Jul 05, 2016

Great course !

By MUSAH I R

Jan 05, 2018

great

By Emmanuel B

Feb 09, 2016

great introduction to social.

By Antika E

Oct 02, 2015

Great for catching up with new trend. Knowledge is organized, well analyzed and useful.