Chevron Left
Back to Wind Energy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Wind Energy by Technical University of Denmark (DTU)

4.7
stars
7,104 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to the course of Wind Energy. This course gives an overview of key aspects in wind energy engineering. Whether you are looking for general insight in this green technology or your ambition is to pursue a career in wind energy engineering, 'Wind Energy' is an excellent starting point. Experts located in the wind pioneering country of Denmark will take you on a tour through the most fundamental disciplines of wind energy research such as wind measurements, resource assessment, forecasting, aerodynamics, wind turbine technology, structural mechanics, materials, financial and electrical systems. You will gain a rational understanding of wind energy engineering and, through hands-on exercises, you will learn to perform wind energy calculations based on simple models. Working with the different course disciplines will give you a taste of what wind energy engineering is all about. This allows you to identify the most interesting or relevant aspects of wind energy engineering to be pursued in your future studies or in your professional career. View our video: https://youtu.be/he4UWTGHxrY (The video was made for the original version, and it is still highly relevant; a new version will be published soon). For other professional courses in wind energy engineering, visit our website at www.wem.dtu.dk...

Top reviews

TR

Invalid date

Very very difficult online course & online quiz that I have ever registeration before. very nice teacher very nice quiz (so difficult) Overall is very nice. Highly recommend / Thanakorn Ra.

JO

Invalid date

Very informative course, covering the wind energy basic and its related disciplines. As a beginner in wind energy I am very interested in developing my knowledge in renewable energy sources.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 2,080 Reviews for Wind Energy

By Saad A S

Oct 8, 2019

Excellent designed course. I learned new things. This course covers most of the aspects related to wind energy. I am hopeful that an advanced course on wind energy will be introduced soon.

By Alexandre P A

Feb 24, 2019

Very nice course. Well structures and capable to provide a initial contact with the area. I really enjoyed!

By Abel P

Apr 29, 2018

Really good course that gives multidisciplinary competences on wind energy. This requires focus.

By Hafiz M S

Mar 26, 2020

Teachers need to give a lot detailed lectures. They assume we already know a lot of terminologies. The last teacher with the electrical systems was the most precise yet hardest to understand. Overall some teachers were excellent.

By Arup K D

May 3, 2020

For the beginners, they will find it not understandable. Rapid use of formulas, no idea of getting where do they come from. But materials are also very rich in information.

By Binbin Z

Nov 11, 2016

Overall informative. Some parts of the lecture was confusing for beginners. The voice needs to be a little louder.

By Emmanuel F

Apr 15, 2020

I found it quite difficult; mainly because I don't really have a background in engineering or mathematics.

By Ruhulamin K

Mar 25, 2019

English and the quality of teaching of every professor was obnoxious

By Icaro A d C

Apr 4, 2022

Very poor course. I felt that the organisers sold the idea of learning wind energy in this course, but what they did is to collect a miscellaneous of very basic engineering courses and compile with the 'bias' of wind energy. I do not recommend. On the up side, it is a broad course that could be apprimorated indeed.

By André R

Jan 3, 2019

O curso é muito bom pois abrange todas as partes do que vem a ser uma turbina eólica ,falando sobre os aspectos construtivos, viabilidade econômica e retorno de investimento, além de cálculos estruturais e estudo do comportamento aerodinâmico das hélices.

By Ricardo A E

Jun 9, 2017

Muito Bom. Único ponto na minha visão de melhoria, considerando que é disponibilizado para todo mundo, é inserir referências bibliográficas de outros países e exemplos e dados estatísticos também, ainda que somente como anexos.

By anil k h

Oct 30, 2020

t's really very useful to research scholars to select different flatforms. I m really enjoying while answering assignments as well as quizes.. the hints that they provided are awesome... Thanks allot

By Aswin A B

Sep 22, 2023

The quiz questions are tough and the solution can't be found in the videos

By Túlio M

May 21, 2022

I liked it, was more or less what I expectated. You should be aware that this is course is more for curiosity, I think it is not a real advantage to get a job in the area, and not at all suficient to work in the area. I am aeronautical engineer, and I have a good training on aerodynamics and structural design, but I wanted to know a little more about the specifics of wind energy, like electricity, economics, etc. And this course was good for that. But I think it could avoid some unreal calculation exercices, like what was done in the beam theory class, and replace that for more practical knowledge, like what are the requirements for wind turbines and wind blades design, what is the design process, the certification process, and a little on manufacture, transport, instalation, and maintenance

By Gaurav P

Jan 3, 2024

Course is good for knowing many aspect of wind energy. However, make sure you understand little bit of economics, financial modelling, basic fluid mechanics, material science. The Quiz section needs improvement in accordance to what has been taught. Also supplementary reading material should be provided by DTU rather than external website/Reports.

By Teefa E

Jun 23, 2022

Although I got this course for free, I would only rank it two stars for the following reasons: 1)Terrible Pacing! The instructors would often not take time to defince terms or declare the variables in equations they show in the slides, they just get right to it. 2)Knowledge Gaps! They assume that you have knowledge that was not mentioned in the course, and quiz you in it. I Understand that you could not fit everything in video but it would be nice to guide the student to where those unkowns could be knowned. 3)Horrible learning aids! The straight up look like they're from the 90s

By Lian S

May 28, 2017

The contents are not great. The real problem is no real expert take care of questions, given there are several errors in the quiz.

By Jay D

Jun 1, 2020

Not so interesting. I'd prefer solar cells over this one.

By MrRex

Dec 19, 2020

N

e

e

d

e

d

m

o

r

e

r

i

g

o

r

a

n

d

d

e

f

i

n

i

t

i

o

n

o

f

t

e

r

m

s

.

By Eleaza A V T

May 14, 2021

I am a little disappointed in this course, it covers too much mechanics and construction that are not relevant in a basic course, it looks more like a math test than anything else. I think the contents should be reviewed and changed. At least don't pay anything.

By Jonathan G

Jan 31, 2018

I had no idea there was not involved in this. There was no indication. Other than the technology, this course was misleading!

By Thomas C

May 29, 2020

Highly recommended for anyone with an interest in the energy sector. It requires basic knowledge of calculus and grade 12 mathematics but not to the extent that a lack of knowledge in this area prevents you from pursuing the course if you are really interested. People with a core engineering background might find it very simple and can consider this to be an extension of the concepts covered in classrooms. The course gives large amounts of data that can be analyzed to arrive at results thereby keeping the course very exciting and practical. The principles covered in this course permeate various fields and it is mostly based on the theories of Thermodynamics, Fluid Dynamics, Mechanics of Solids, and basic economics.

I would like to thank all the teachers and teaching assistants for the opportunity to learn something truly wonderful

By Marlon C

Oct 19, 2021

I want to thanks the people who taught this course and made possible for us to take it for free, this helps people who are interested in this area of the renewable energy industry to get prepared and have a sense of what wind energy is. The lectures were useful for me since I haven't really seen some concepts and topics in school. The course brings you a great approach to wind energy from the basis to more specific knowledge both theoretical and hands-on to practice what you've seen during the quiz-videos. Overall, I highly recommend to take this course if you want to immerse a little into this amazing sustainable way to generate clear electric power.

By S S K 1

Jul 4, 2020

This is a superb course for anyone interested in Basic Wind energy. The course makes sure it covers various aspects of wind energy in a broad manner. Sufficient references are given after chapter in case you want to learn deeply about a subtopic. All the teachers explain complex stuff in a easy way and start from basics. Quizzes are planned efficiently to make you conceptually clear and be able to compute basic quantities important in this field. After completing this, I feel a great urge to go to Denmark to see the massive offshore turbines in person. 10/10 would recommend this to everyone interested. Thank you DTU and Coursera !

By Carlos A G C

Jul 16, 2020

I learnt a lot, the course is flawlessly explained, the slides are downloadable for study them, the quizes are well developed and according to the lectures, the hints and feedback provided is excellent and it helps to solve the problem. It is designed to help you reach the correct answer and show you the mistakes you have mede so you can correct your answers. Pop quizes are good too.

This is the best course I have ever taken online, keep doing your hardwork and making further courses, I would like to inscribe in more of them. 100 % recommended. Thanks to all the proffesor and in general to all the involved people.