Chevron Left
Back to Wind resources for renewable energies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Wind resources for renewable energies by École Polytechnique

3.8
stars
96 ratings
39 reviews

About the Course

The main goal of this course is to get the necessary knowledge on atmospheric and fluid dynamics in order to quantify the wind resource of a local or regional area. We’ll learn about basic meteorology, the specific dynamics of turbulent boundary layers and some standard techniques to estimate wind resources regardless of the type of turbine used or the level of efficiency achieved. Then, we will see what are the turbines characteristics to consider in order to estimate the electricity production from an isolated turbine or from a turbine farm. The differences and similarity between wind or marine resource assessment will also be discussed. Finally, you will have the opportunity to get hands-on experience with real in-situ data sets and apply what you have learned on wind resource assessment....

Top reviews

Filter by:

26 - 40 of 40 Reviews for Wind resources for renewable energies

By Sivateja M

Jul 15, 2021

There are some errors in the assignments. And there is no support in the course. Apart from these aspects it is a very well designed course. I learnt something applicable knowledge from this course.

By Ma t

Jul 25, 2018

Very good course . The time spent to understand lectures and pass all exams was much more than the time advertised by the course.

By Seyed M E

Nov 6, 2019

The topics of the wind power plant are very deeply taught but the quiz questions are very complex and conceptual.

By Mohamed E

Jan 10, 2021

great information and excellent experience ,but exams so hard to pass it easy

By Sean B

Aug 8, 2019

This was a challenging and interesting course and I'm glad I participated. I'm rating it with three stars because of some frustrating problems:

Errors in quizzes have been reported by other course participants and have not been resolved (refer to the discussion forum for each Week). Some of these issues were reported months or years ago.

There is no feedback (hints or suggestions) after taking graded quizzes other than the scores themselves. This makes learning from mistakes difficult. Multiple quiz questions have answers not discussed during the course.

By BRUNO G C

Jul 6, 2017

The course brings up good features and widgets for better understand and assess wind energy sources.

On the other hand, the last part of the course relies on calculation and statistic data, no practical examples are given, no bibliography is available so that you may sort out any risen doubts related to the topics.

Finally, the forums are not a quick tool for clarifying doubts and no relevant discussion and proper support from the coordinators is provided.

By Max M

May 27, 2020

The course is good if you only want to improve your theoretical knowledge of fluid dynamics and wind resources. However, students are not very likely to gain some practical skills from this course. I personally didn't like that the last assignment was quite interesting, but the lecturers didn't provide sufficient guidance on how to solve the given problems. So, it took me a long time to accomplish the course.

By Mattia M

May 2, 2020

In general the course is extremely interesting and I really enjoyed the final applied exercises. However, quizzes are definitely a waste of time as they have tricky questions whose answers cannot be found in the videos most of the time and do not provide feedbacks on the mistakes made.

By Raphael

Sep 21, 2021

The content is very interesting and well presented but there are some mistakes and imprecisions in the quizzes (week 4) which make the class frustrating and time-consuming. There is a lot of room for improvement

By pierre g

Nov 11, 2020

The course is ok and interesting but quiz are not clear. We dont really know how answer should be formulated and we loose a lot of time in the formulation.

The course support is also quite weak.

By Julian V

Sep 24, 2020

The course is overall very complete and interesting. However there are several issues with the quizzes that have been pointed out by many other students in their comments since 2017 without getting any answer or solution by the coordinator (if there is still someone in charge). Though sometimes are tricky, all quizzes are feasible, but the last one ("Wind resource assessment") is a mess. One has to mark wrong answers to pass it... It's a pity because the course would be perfect if this issue is fixed.

Despite this, I encourage to anyone who wants to learn some key concepts in wind resources and power production assessment to do this course, just recommending to read the comments of other students before getting desperate with the quizzes.

By Pierre-Emmanuel V

Jan 2, 2021

I found the content of this course good and interesting. However there are some heavy minuses when it comes to quizzes which are very tricky and sometime not even asking questions related to the course. There are a few errors in the slides too and the quality of the video is sometimes poor. I would recommend not paying for this course

By Matthew M

May 28, 2021

If you are a graduate level student in meteorology, and are interested in wind energy, then this course may be for you. Otherwise, stay away. That is the level of expected knowledge out of the gate. I've never felt less prepared for the quizzes. The lectures jump right into lists of equasions and are brushed over by the lecturer. All questions are multi-select so be prepared to second guess yourself and watch the videos over and over again. I like a good challenge for sure, but there is a reason why this is the lowest rated course I've seen on Coursera. Be prepared to grind and consult other resources to pass. Proceed with caution.

By Muhammad A K

Sep 21, 2021

No support for any quiz. The explanations does not help much to finish the quizzes. At one point, it became so frustrating that I had to leave the course incomplete. Pity, because I was really looking forward to it.

By Rahul A K

Apr 17, 2020

Very Tough