Chevron Left
Back to Wonders of Ancient Egypt

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Wonders of Ancient Egypt by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
731 ratings
237 reviews

About the Course

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture. This course focused on five key areas in the study of Ancient Egypt: 1) Principles of Egyptian Art, 2) The Basics of the Language of Ancient Egypt: Hieroglyphs, 3) Egyptian Magic, 4) Akhenaten, Tutankhamun, and the Religion of the Aten, and 5) The Burial of Tutankhamun and the Search for his Tomb. This course is intended to accompany, and ideally to follow, Introduction to Ancient Egypt (also available on Coursera)....

Top reviews

VE
Jul 10, 2020

This was an incredibly detailed course that provided an in-depth and interesting view of ancient Egypt. I would highly recommend this as an essential course for those interested in Egypt's history.

MM
Sep 25, 2020

I really enjoyed the history of Ancient Egypt. I have viewed the treasures of Tutankhamun twice. This class gave me a more in depth view of the culture and the art of Ancient Egypt. Thank you.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 236 Reviews for Wonders of Ancient Egypt

By Anna M

Jun 21, 2020

I enjoyed very much this course! The explanations are very clear and detailed , it is a fascinating subject. I enjoyed above all imagines, pictures and photos! I recommend the enrollment !

By Madison R

Mar 2, 2020

Love this course! I've been obsessed with Egyptology my whole life and after taking both of Dr. Silverman's courses I feel I have a much greater understanding of the mystic civilization!

By Mark C

Mar 21, 2020

I took these 2 courses after visiting the Penn Museum. It certainly makes me want to revisit that museum again and again! This is a great course to learn about Ancient Egypt.

By Gregg H

Nov 23, 2017

Very interesting course with great on-line and book references, will be a great help and inspiration for one to visit museums containing Ancient Egyptian art and artifacts

By Seda S

Apr 16, 2018

Very impressing, well-prepared, detailed course. I have learnt a lot and I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to gain insight about Ancient Egyption culture!

By Brynn P

Feb 2, 2021

Very interesting, and presented in a way that's accessible to anyone.

Would highly recommend the course to anybody with even an inkling of interest in Ancient Egypt.

By Luca B

Apr 16, 2018

This was an excellent course; I really enjoyed; Particularly interesting were the lectures about Egyptian Magic and how it is related with this ancient culture.

By Timothy W H

Dec 5, 2017

I enjoyed learning the aspect of the Egypt culture and the wonders it provide me. Outstanding knowledge and the curriculum provide us with indepth learning.

By Robin S

Dec 14, 2020

This course has so much information. Dr. Silverman intersperses his lectures with lots of pictures and just the right amount of detail. Highly recommend.

By Jessica G

May 23, 2020

This course was fascinating, intriguing and full of amazing information and history. I look forward to furthering my knowledge in Ancient Egyptian History

By Leonard S

Jan 2, 2018

Very interesting course and stimulates me to learn more about this subject. This course will enhance the experience of my next visit to the Penn Museum.

By Jeffrey G P

Feb 7, 2018

This was a good course. It partners very well with the earlier Egypt course. I recommend these two courses to anyone with an interest in Ancient Egypt.

By Rebecca H

May 29, 2020

Much better then the introduction course (still suggest taking that before this one). Good pace and a good depth of individual subjects. Very fun.

By Olga

Jan 14, 2021

Thank you very much! This course is my absolute favorite. It was a pleasure for me to find out all this interesting details about Ancient Egypt.

By Cheri F

May 18, 2020

I loved this class, it was very informative and easily understood. The Professor could do with a little more enthusiasm, but he did a great job.

By Elizabeth G

May 8, 2020

Very interesting course which is well -presented by Dr Silverman. He presents material in a way that is easy for the viewer to understand.

By Julia J L

Dec 7, 2020

The course is very interesting and a pleasure to see. I learned some things that I did not remember from visiting the tomb many years ago.

By Christina B

Dec 8, 2019

Wonderful course which took me back in time. I've learned so much! And week 6 was the most exciting learning of Tutankhamun's discovery.

By Mary P

Apr 14, 2018

Very Interesting course about Ancient Egyptian life. Lectures were easy to follow and it isn't too time consuming. Thoroughly enjoyable!

By Lucy I D L R T

Nov 12, 2017

Disfrute y aprendí mucho, me encantaron las imágenes proporcionadas y conocer los jeroglificos de esa manera tan didáctica y sencilla.

By Julio R

Jan 13, 2018

I want to thank professor David fo such a wonderfull explanations in all of the aspects of the course I really learn and enjoy it ¡¡¡

By Eylem A

Oct 30, 2020

It was a wonderful experience to learn about ancient Egypt. Phrase of Prof. Silverman's is fantastic. Thank you all for this chance.

By Juan B L T

Nov 15, 2020

I have loved this course, I never believed that the knowledge of ancient Egypt was so enjoyable and so productive ... Thank you