Chevron Left
Back to How to Change the World

Learner Reviews & Feedback for How to Change the World by Wesleyan University

4.6
stars
221 ratings
67 reviews

About the Course

How can we use the things we share in common to address some of the most challenging problems facing the world? This course examines issues concerning poverty, the environment, technology, health care, gender, education and activism to help us understand better how to initiate positive change....

Top reviews

YC
Sep 6, 2017

Great experience that has changed my perspective of the world and my role in it. I would like to take this opportunity to thank professor Roth for taking on this course and offering it to everyone.

IC
Aug 23, 2021

Makes you think critically about everyones role in changing the world with concrete actions. We should not take things for granted or think that it is someone else's responsibility.

Filter by:

51 - 65 of 65 Reviews for How to Change the World

By Larry C

May 18, 2017

TIMELY.

By Ho T

Jul 3, 2021

g​ood

By Jairo A

May 30, 2021

g​ood

By Rahul j

Jul 27, 2021

nice

By Jhason S M

Jul 5, 2021

_kl

By amera

Mar 28, 2021

wow

By Alexandra D S

Sep 14, 2017

t

By Marta Y A R

Jun 26, 2021

El curso fue fantástico pero quiero notificar que en más de una oportunidad mis compañeros me han calificado bajo por no saber el idioma en el que esta escrita mi entrega o porque no saben español, lo cual me parece muy injusto. No pido que aprendan español pero creo que todos tenemos Google Translate a la mano y yo personalmente me he tomado el tiempo de traducir trabajos que estaban en ingles para poder calificarlos, pero que ellos no lo hagan y pongan un cero sin ni siquiera preocuparse por mi ensayo me parece una muestra de la poca importancia que le daban al curso y a mi trabajo, la verdad muy irracional de su parte.

By Faustyna H

Feb 8, 2021

A little bit outdated, but still very valuable lessons and frameworks for thinking about tackling the world's most pressing problems. I found many of the readings and videos (particularly the snippets from the Social Good Summit) to be very interesting and moving. I would have loved a different, more reflective and holistic final essay prompt—but overall, I enjoyed this six-week journey and feel better equipped to talk about impact and change with others.

By Jay B

Jul 25, 2021

T​he course has tons of great information, but I would have appreciated a more extensive examination of the often deleterious effects to "developing" countries of the conditions imposed upon and required by the World Bank, IMF, et al., as part and parcel of their "aid" packages.

By Siyad A E

Aug 29, 2018

An interactive Course!

By Scott A

May 3, 2021

overall, interesting concepts and discussions. the videos and interviews are far too long. Could easily be reduced by 25% without losing the narrative. the course is clearly more than a few years old and needs updating - for example, there are mentions of how strange online video tools are, which are now generally commonplace. I also found the instructor to be very distracting - he often spoke overtop of people, and I found his tone quite patronizing. Unfortunately that tone overshadows the intent of the course.

By Javier A J

Jun 5, 2021

I found the comments of Frederique Apffel-Marglin really offensive and misleading, this has a political bias with false statesments about the green revolution.

By Ravishankara B

Sep 18, 2016

Heavy contents.. Unable to cover a week's material in a week

By Sofia R

May 14, 2021

so hard