Chevron Left
Back to Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest by Commonwealth Education Trust

4.7
stars
1,042 ratings
427 reviews

About the Course

This course is for curious students and aspiring authors with a passion for writing for young readers. Participate in a dynamic online community of writers as you experiment with your own writing and develop your voice. This course will guide you with a combination of video lectures, online readings, peer reviews, and guest appearances from world-renowned children’s authors. As you work through the writing exercises, you will give and receive feedback from your peers and gain tools and techniques for improving your writing. During this course you will identify stories that matter to you, explore cultural significance and boundaries, and shape your identity as a writer; become familiar with standard elements of narrative (character, setting, plot, theme, language, dialogue, point of view); reflect on your own work and practice essential self-editing skills; see the different ways in which words and art interact, and the possibilities of longer narrative forms; come away with practical insights into publishing options; and create a plan for pursuing your enthusiasm for writing. By the end of the course, you will have ten to twelve extracts of writing that you can develop into a portfolio. Join a dynamic community of many voices from around the world. Find inspiration in your own voice, heart, and place so that you can tell the stories for young readers you’ve always wanted to tell....

Top reviews

DB
Feb 6, 2016

I am a beginner wantabee author and publisher, first steps are elementary, as I need. Self paced, life can get in the way. Instructors are wonderful, as are the guest speakers and interviewees Thanks.

FO
Jul 16, 2017

This course introduces writing in an easy to understand way. The interviews with published authors are very insightful as well. The exercises are a great avenue to practice what the Mooc instruct

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 419 Reviews for Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

By LIDIA A A O

Jan 27, 2018

Para novatos es una excelente información para comenzar, y para escritores con más experiencia ayuda a reafirmar y recordar conocimientos, así como a ver las cosas en ojos de otros escritores experimentados.

By Tonya C

Apr 13, 2020

All tools provided we great. I thought there would be a little more information on writing for children. However, all the information I received was valuable and beneficial for my writing career.

By Silvia B

Aug 30, 2015

Very intetesting and complete. Would love a follow up. Didn't give 5 stars just because I think the course could have been even more specific about young readers target audience. Thank you.

By Mohamed G

Aug 14, 2015

Very good course and Prof specialy guest Prof ,now really i have a tools to write story for children and teenager(my dream) ,i hope that i will succeed in my new experience.Thanks for all.

By Kristen H

Mar 15, 2019

Excellent information and overview from first draft to writing a query letter. I work in publishing but not in children's publishing, and I picked up a lot of new tricks from this course.

By Lianne

Jul 13, 2017

Very fun, and interesting. Only thing that was lacklustre for me was the peer-feedback. I gave a lot of specific feedback and didn't really get anything back. Other than that, awesome.

By Paulo S

Nov 25, 2015

I learned some helpful tips on how to edit and how to better structure a story. But there were assignments particularly on the last two that should have used assignment two or three.

By Rhiannon D

Feb 18, 2016

Very simplistic in places and preaches their style as if it is the only way sometimes too. However it's a good grounding in the basics and there are some useful exercises.

By Kajol

Oct 18, 2015

Basic course for budding writers.

Good practice.

Also, excellent interviews with other published writers, editors and playwrights. It was the highlight of the course for me.

By Constanza B

Aug 1, 2020

El curso es muy interesante, da las pautas para que un escritor principiante pueda organizarse y es enriquecedor las distintas voces de diferentes escritores que convoca.

By Ejikeme J O

Aug 14, 2016

I Love this Course. It challenges me to write. It makes me believe I can be a good writer, may be an author.

Thank you Commonwealth Education Trust Team.

By José G A U

Jun 25, 2020

It's a nice course for begging writers, it helps you lots of things, like characters, settings, plot and more like enquiry letter and publishing.

By Bunly M

Jan 5, 2018

This course is fun but informative. It gives practical knowledge of writing skill for a very curious group of readers, the children. Recommended.

By Heissell R

Oct 8, 2018

I enjoyed the guess interviews. A few times I looked them up on google to see what other books they had written. It was nice to see real life ex

By Nazanin M

Aug 15, 2016

Loved this course! I just wished there was a better system for peer reviews, because I couldn't get any helpful tips or feedbackthrough them.

By Edima

Jul 3, 2016

Pro

Great introductory creative writing course.

Con

Need to create a more structured approach for people when they are giving feedback.

By Shirley J

Sep 15, 2017

This course is incredibly helpful on many levels. The advice given from the course instructors and guest instructors is very good.

By Suranjana R

Jun 22, 2016

I had a great time learning . It was fun as well as informative. Maybe we can have a story competition in another of your courses.

By Johana T M K

Aug 24, 2015

It was good tips. it has really interesting interviews. It was been really positive experience and encouraging to keep writing.

By Ranjeeta R

Jan 4, 2018

Loved the course! It would have been perfect if along with peer reviews we could have been reviewed by famous writers as well!

By DEBRA

Jun 26, 2016

I found this course a very inspiring a thoughtful experience. It gives you direction provides you a meaningful path to follow.

By Grace M

Oct 27, 2015

A pretty basic but very enjoyable and thorough course in writing for younger readers. I really enjoyed my time on this course.

By Dorothy E

Jan 14, 2017

Great course to learn the basics of writing and to get a broader view on what i means to be an author of children's fiction.

By PATRICIA J R

Jun 1, 2017

I'm an English teacher, so much of this was second-hand to me. However, I'm sure it would be hugely beneficial to others.

By Deleted A

Jun 2, 2016

A very introductory course that helps in getting an idea on how to write for young readers. I found it quite useful.