Chevron Left
Back to Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest by Commonwealth Education Trust

4.7
stars
1,112 ratings
461 reviews

About the Course

This course is for curious students and aspiring authors with a passion for writing for young readers. Participate in a dynamic online community of writers as you experiment with your own writing and develop your voice. This course will guide you with a combination of video lectures, online readings, peer reviews, and guest appearances from world-renowned children’s authors. As you work through the writing exercises, you will give and receive feedback from your peers and gain tools and techniques for improving your writing. During this course you will identify stories that matter to you, explore cultural significance and boundaries, and shape your identity as a writer; become familiar with standard elements of narrative (character, setting, plot, theme, language, dialogue, point of view); reflect on your own work and practice essential self-editing skills; see the different ways in which words and art interact, and the possibilities of longer narrative forms; come away with practical insights into publishing options; and create a plan for pursuing your enthusiasm for writing. By the end of the course, you will have ten to twelve extracts of writing that you can develop into a portfolio. Join a dynamic community of many voices from around the world. Find inspiration in your own voice, heart, and place so that you can tell the stories for young readers you’ve always wanted to tell....

Top reviews

DB
Feb 6, 2016

I am a beginner wantabee author and publisher, first steps are elementary, as I need. Self paced, life can get in the way. Instructors are wonderful, as are the guest speakers and interviewees Thanks.

FO
Jul 16, 2017

This course introduces writing in an easy to understand way. The interviews with published authors are very insightful as well. The exercises are a great avenue to practice what the Mooc instruct

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 454 Reviews for Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

By Ranjeeta R

Jan 4, 2018

Loved the course! It would have been perfect if along with peer reviews we could have been reviewed by famous writers as well!

By DEBRA

Jun 26, 2016

I found this course a very inspiring a thoughtful experience. It gives you direction provides you a meaningful path to follow.

By Grace M

Oct 27, 2015

A pretty basic but very enjoyable and thorough course in writing for younger readers. I really enjoyed my time on this course.

By Dorothy E

Jan 14, 2017

Great course to learn the basics of writing and to get a broader view on what i means to be an author of children's fiction.

By PATRICIA J R

Jun 1, 2017

I'm an English teacher, so much of this was second-hand to me. However, I'm sure it would be hugely beneficial to others.

By Deleted A

Jun 2, 2016

A very introductory course that helps in getting an idea on how to write for young readers. I found it quite useful.

By Shaini K

Nov 21, 2015

Great introductory course for writing for children. Comprehensive topic coverage, however not too much detail.

By Imaan A

Jun 5, 2020

It would be better if you could earn a FREE certificate, otherwise amazing course and I really enjoyed it :)

By Hasan F

Dec 16, 2015

A great tool for beginner writes, but not very good at showing you how to write SPECIFICALLY for children.

By Brenda W

Feb 22, 2021

Had some great tools and content... too bad the tools weren't easily printable ( checklists for editing)

By Aaliya T

Nov 29, 2015

I am loving this course and it feels liberating to write again, after so many months of idleness.

By Dania S

Jan 20, 2021

I thought that it was a good course although I would have liked more analysis on my writings

By Ann K

Jul 14, 2017

I particularly enjoyed the writing prompts and Maria Gill's portions of the course.

By Mamotheba M

May 11, 2017

I am finding this course helpful. The presentations are simple and easy to follow

By Yan O L

Dec 24, 2019

The course materials are very informative and useful. Thanks for the good work.

By Phillip K

Aug 29, 2015

It's perfect for teach beginning Children's book writers how to start writing

By Hanaa A

Sep 13, 2015

I love this course. I learned a lot. It ignited my passion for writing again.

By Martin P

Sep 7, 2015

The general advice given is very good and useful, and the section

By David M

Sep 1, 2017

Añadiría textos en español o la opción de subtitular los textos.

By Dominique P

Sep 5, 2015

interesting and clear !

For all levels of English

Good experience

By Sudha D

Sep 15, 2015

Many more Handouts to refer can improve the course much better

By Kattia C

Aug 31, 2015

Very good Training! Lots of examples and practical knowledge.

By TONY E 1

Jun 28, 2020

Its a very effective MOOC to enhance the writing skills.

By Katy S

Aug 31, 2015

This was a very helpful course, as well as entertaining.

By Ekaterina K

Sep 5, 2015

The course is helpful for begining writers. Thank you.