Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
7,101 ratings
1,496 reviews

About the Course

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

SG

Jan 20, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

MB

Mar 06, 2018

Cool course. Thank you! One suggestion about your book (Learning Algorithms Through Programming and Puzzle Solving): could you add some theory which would serve as a brief reminder before problems?

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 1,434 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Pulkit D

Sep 15, 2018

this course helped me in practicing data structures and clearing my basic concepts which were not very clear .

By Ruth P C

Aug 20, 2018

Very good introductory course to learn algorithm design techniques, and write better and more efficient code.

By Abhishek j

Sep 24, 2016

An exception and resourceful course from best instructors n teachers globally.I am glad to be a part of this.

By Kamruzzaman T

May 24, 2020

Excellent course. Clear instructions. Concise structure. However, the discussion forums aren't very helpful.

By Atharva D

May 05, 2020

The assignments are pretty good! It gives you a complete practice of various algorithms in computer science.

By Tanmay B

Mar 16, 2020

The course content was nice and concise. Looking forward to applying these in my coming coding competitions.

By S.Parthasarathy

Jan 16, 2020

It was really a great course. Thanks to the instructors for being very clear and precise in their teaching.

By Akhil S

Jul 19, 2018

Excellent course , helped a lot to learn and explore new ideas and algorithms.

Thank-You Algorithmic Toolbox

By rishikeshshukla47@gmail.com

Jun 16, 2018

Everything taught was great and has helped me lot. The coarse taught me new things which were very helpful.

By Saurabh S

Jan 20, 2019

Its amazing due to new questions... its a best course if you have to learn algorithm... I really mean it..

By Prabhat S

Sep 15, 2017

was perfect to start and thanks to instructor, I cleared many confusions and learned some nice new logics.

By Uday S

May 30, 2020

The quality of practice problems is good.i understood the concepts because of the programming assinments.

By Cardy M I

Apr 16, 2018

Excellent course! If you want to learn about basic principles of algorithm design, then take this course.

By Héctor C

Oct 30, 2017

Very nice course, I really liked the homework problems, I think most of them are enlightenment exercises.

By Zhao Y

May 16, 2020

Great course! The assignments are of high quality and solving problem is challenging but worth the time.

By VASU S

Jan 24, 2020

Amazing learning experience. Thank you Standford University and Coursera for this wonderful opportunity.

By Davoud S B

Jan 03, 2020

very helpful, practically teach you how to apply basic programming while learning differernt algorithms.

By Баранов А Е

Jan 14, 2017

Informative, with minimal theory - it is plus for me, because allow save time. Some tasks is not easy :)

By Syed S M

Apr 18, 2020

Wow, such a great course i have learnt many new algorithm that can help me in near future at job i wish

By Saurabh K M

Dec 06, 2019

Assignments are really good. Most of the important algorithms are covered and added to the assignments.

By Xiaoyuan C

Dec 23, 2017

Excellent course! Interesting, easy-to-understand, very good lecture sildes and programming assignment!

By Mauro B

Sep 11, 2016

Solutions are explained with too much detail. You should give the student a chance to learn by herself.

By Karun

May 09, 2016

Great course to understand different categories of Algorithms and which one to apply to solve a problem

By Abhay T

May 14, 2020

This course gave me ability to think and design logic and algorithms for various programming problems.