Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
5,965 ratings
1,252 reviews

About the Course

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

SG

Jan 20, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

MM

Sep 29, 2017

good course, I like the fact you can use a lot of languages for you programming exercises, the content is really helpful, I would like to have more indications from the grading system to save time.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 1,178 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Nestor A

Jan 22, 2017

Very informative. I am a self-taught programmer, and this definitely helps with the programmer's mindset. Definitely challenging.

By William L

Nov 26, 2016

Great class for students with some elementary programming background who are eager to learn the fundamentals of algorithm design.

By Nemat S

Sep 27, 2016

An excellent course. The video lectures are brief but explain the main points very well. The assignments are very well organised.

By Mohammed H

Mar 21, 2020

A well designed course, with challenging assignment problems. The best part, this course comes with fair quantum of mathematics.

By derrick k

Oct 03, 2019

This is a must study for every software programmer. This course has really opened my approach to problem solving and efficiency.

By Hassan E

Jan 29, 2017

It is amazing course. It presents the toolbox in a sequence of incremental levels to help you completely understand each level.

By Devkul S

Jan 18, 2019

We can get a clear concept of algorithm and dynamic programming. This course helped me to think loud on a given set of problem

By Rohit D

Mar 14, 2020

This course is the best one to learn algorithmic design and complexity analysis from scratch to advanced level. Loved it ! ;)

By O'KANE,DREW

Sep 21, 2018

A tough course no doubt, but you learn all the classic problem solving techniques in computer science. Well worth the effort.

By Burak H

Dec 08, 2017

Excellent course! The level is not very advanced but not too trivial either. The set of exercises are very well put together.

By Aditya S J

Oct 31, 2017

The best tutorial to study algorithm

the three approach to solve a problem is awesome

Greedy

Divide & conquer

Dynamic Programming

By Piskunov I M

Aug 18, 2017

Excellent compilation to increase your productivity. Interesting tasks and great system to check your algorithm. Great work!

By Sanskar K

Nov 14, 2017

Excellent set of programming exercises and requires some effort on the learner's part. A very good and well-defined course.

By Rohit J

Aug 16, 2016

this course is very useful. Every topic is covered here and the assignments were also very effective to check your concept.

By Sivagopal M

Mar 01, 2020

The overall course is very good. I feel that the dynamic programming section should be improved everything else is great.

By Andrey K

Sep 09, 2018

The course itself is good, all information is correct and useful. Nice to have so many languages to implement algorithms.

By Daniyar Z

Nov 12, 2016

Nice course! Definitely, I have learned a lot. To be all honesty, I find myself sleeping sometimes during the lectures =)

By Anubhav R

May 27, 2019

Enjoyed the course. The lectures explain the concepts well enough. Programming assignments are challenging but doable.

By Shubham T

Apr 14, 2018

This cource is really very nice. This has enhanced my problem solving skills in programming language very efficiently.

By Rajat A

Aug 17, 2017

The programming assignments are the best thing about this course. They will make you think and are quite fun to solve.

By Akash L

Feb 16, 2020

The building concepts of algorithms is given importance and as a result my interest throughout course has been good.

By Sergio L F

Mar 23, 2020

Excelente ferramenta para aprendizado e desenvolvimento de algoritmos. Plenamente satisfeito com o conteúdo e curso.

By Dmitriy M

Mar 07, 2016

I enjoyed the course a lot and would recommend it to anyone who's getting their feet wet in the world of algorithms.

By Gogikar B

Feb 09, 2020

it is an excellent course. By the end of the course, you will learn how to design an algorithm in an efficient way.

By Dmitrii

Mar 03, 2019

Very nice developed course. All lectures are interesting and topics are very important at algorithms understanding.