Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Algorithmic Toolbox, University of California San Diego

4.7
4,082 ratings
886 reviews

About this Course

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

By SG

Jan 20, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

By MB

Mar 06, 2018

Cool course. Thank you! One suggestion about your book (Learning Algorithms Through Programming and Puzzle Solving): could you add some theory which would serve as a brief reminder before problems?

Filter by:

817 Reviews

By Mayukh Sharma

Feb 15, 2019

This is the best and the toughest course I've ever come across. I'm definitely a better programmer now. It completely changes the way you analyze the problem. Totally awesome.

By Arpit Vaish

Feb 13, 2019

The practice question helps with solidifying the understanding.

1 star less, as this could be improved by giving dry run of as an example for algorithm implementation.

By Anand Pavithran

Feb 12, 2019

Good course on algorithms and designs.

By Վարդան Գրիգորյան

Feb 10, 2019

There are great subjects and in general the course are great too. the only thing that i would like to mention is that there are some places that should be explained more deeply especially in case of week 6.

By PUCHALLA SURYA PRAKASH REDDY

Feb 10, 2019

The course is perfectly designed. The perfect start for those who start with data structures and algorithms. The Dynamic programming was a little bit tough but overall course is perfectly designed

By Ostapets Artem Igorevich

Feb 09, 2019

не понятно было из видео по dynamic programming

By Satyam Kumar

Feb 09, 2019

Crisp course, and challenging assignments make sure you memorize all the concepts learned. Great work by all the instructors!

By Miraj

Feb 06, 2019

This course has a wonderfully designed syllabus, and with a few exceptions, the lectures had extremely clear, lucid explanations of the underlying concepts. I got the most value out of the homeworks, each of which had several challenging problems that really reinforced the learnings from lecture. Thank you, professors!

By Abdelrhman ahmed fdl

Feb 06, 2019

Thanks alot

By Никифоров Михаил Сергеевич

Feb 05, 2019

This course is the best way to study algorithms. It is really great! Love it!