Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.7
5,224 ratings
1,101 reviews

About the Course

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second). Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Top reviews

SG

Jan 20, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

MM

Sep 29, 2017

good course, I like the fact you can use a lot of languages for you programming exercises, the content is really helpful, I would like to have more indications from the grading system to save time.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 1,032 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Pragya V

Jul 22, 2018

This course was really helping for me as i got to learn a lot from it.

By Gudipudi M

Jul 23, 2018

Gave me a good insight into Algorithms.Helped me to explore new things.Thanks a ton.

By liang t

Sep 01, 2018

A good course for those who want to start to learn algorithms, the test cases are well-designed. If you would like to pass all the assignment with 100 % grade, be careful about the corner cases. Thinking those corner cases could really help you learn how to test your designed algorithms efficiently.

By Piyush T

Sep 01, 2018

It is an excellent course that helped me rise above my fears. Specially in Dynamic Programming. The Instructors have put really a great effort in making this course.

By Ana C

Sep 02, 2018

Definitely useful!

By 蔡致行

Aug 21, 2018

really good courses. help me a lot.

By Tauyekel

Sep 04, 2018

Great course! Very requried skills taught

By Shubh P

Sep 05, 2018

Best course

By Tizeng Y

Sep 06, 2018

Very useful and practicing

By Aayush R

Aug 27, 2018

Best Algorithm Course. A basic idea for getting started with algorithms.

By MohAmedd M

Aug 28, 2018

Thank you for this Great course, rich materials and challenging assignments

By Andrey K

Sep 09, 2018

The course itself is good, all information is correct and useful. Nice to have so many languages to implement algorithms.

By Adil M M

Sep 10, 2018

Good course for the algorithms

By Alexander N

Oct 10, 2018

This course prepared very well. Improved my programming skill thanks to good programming assigments.

By Maksadbek A

Oct 14, 2018

Great course to start learning algorithms!

By Krishna S

Oct 15, 2018

Awesome course..I learnt a lot in week 1 itself

By Vikas

Oct 17, 2018

great course content

By Mahima G

Oct 19, 2018

You could have involved more questions based on thinking about the algorithm and discussion about the solutions to the practice problems. Otherwise it was great.

By Fil G

Oct 20, 2018

A very thorough introduction to the core concepts of Algorithm design, including sorting, binary search, greedy algorithms and dynamic programming. The assignment are tough with the last few definitely challenging, you will spend quite a bit of time implementing them if you are new to programming in general but there is enough help on the site (and the internet) to help you figure things out. Working through the problems is essential to getting the most out of the course.

By Ashutosh R

Sep 13, 2018

Very nice toolbox as it helped me in better understanding of my algorithm concepts

By Ruth P C

Aug 20, 2018

Very good introductory course to learn algorithm design techniques, and write better and more efficient code.

By Artiom B A

Aug 20, 2018

awesome. just one word, it's: awesome!

By Priyansh B

Sep 14, 2018

Fantastic course. It felt good to solve algorithmic Problems.

By Pulkit D

Sep 15, 2018

this course helped me in practicing data structures and clearing my basic concepts which were not very clear .

By Joseph G N

Sep 19, 2018

Incredible course covers all the basic content that gave in the university in the first semester in a good way.