Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.7
5,485 ratings
1,144 reviews

About the Course

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second). Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Top reviews

SG

Jan 20, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

MM

Sep 29, 2017

good course, I like the fact you can use a lot of languages for you programming exercises, the content is really helpful, I would like to have more indications from the grading system to save time.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 1,074 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Amog C

Apr 02, 2019

The content is top notch. Assignments are very helpful. If you are able to solve the problems by yourself, you will learn a lot. The problem that i faced is, some content is very complex, not easy to understand.

By Kirill B

Apr 06, 2019

Very nice introduction to algorithms and O-notation! Highly recommend!

By Deepak Y

Apr 07, 2019

very good outstanding content

By DODDA S R

Apr 10, 2019

THIS COURESE IS VERY USEFUL AND EXCELLENT

By Mohammed B

Apr 08, 2019

very ace

By Abdelrhman a f

Feb 06, 2019

Thanks alot

By Chen X

Feb 18, 2019

Pros:

Great practical programming assignment questions.

Some very nice lectures and problem explanations, especially in asymptotic notation and scaling, D+C, and dynamic programming 1.

Cons:

Some annoying mistakes in the python3 assignment boilerplate code for inputs. Like overriding the 'input' function name with a variable.

Did not give rigid definitions of types of programming. Greedy, D+C, dynamic.

Should have been more rigid in defining problem steps in the greedy algorithms chapter. Seemed waffly.

The course textbook they recommended buying was basically just the problem statements + lecture notes. Not useful.

Overall, a solid course.

By YASH K

Jan 26, 2019

nice Course helped me lot to improve my concepts and skills.Great to go through this course

By Priyesh P

Apr 11, 2019

I had a very good experience doing this course. I have refined my algorithmic skills with this course and can apply the concepts really well at competitive programming. Thanks to coursera!

By Saurav k

Jul 18, 2018

best course

By Akhil S

Jul 19, 2018

Excellent course , helped a lot to learn and explore new ideas and algorithms.

Thank-You Algorithmic Toolbox

By Ayush S

Jul 22, 2018

The greatness of this course can be judged by the kind of programming assignments given at the end which actually test the learners. Highly recommend this course for people who are totally new to algorithms and want to kickstart their coding venture.

By Gudipudi M

Jul 23, 2018

Gave me a good insight into Algorithms.Helped me to explore new things.Thanks a ton.

By Abhishek C

Jul 27, 2018

This course is very hard but awesome

By ke x

Jul 28, 2018

very educational and pratical

By Dylan T K

Jul 30, 2018

A very helpful refresher course.

By Andrew F

Jul 30, 2018

Fantastic course! Really interesting and challenging!

By Pvss p

Jul 10, 2018

good

By MOHAMMAD D

Mar 21, 2016

Good Algorithms are taken together .

By Andrey T

May 22, 2016

This is a good course, and I liked the quality of video lectures. The material is structured and lets the students understand the basic approaches they can follow to solve algorithmic tasks.

Also a good plus is that there are assignments. First, they are of different complexity - so anyone will find an interesting task there. Second, there are prepared starter files for 3 languages - so you spend time working on algos, not on bootstrapping projects. And third - grading is automatic.

Just for fiuture - as a more engaging thing there could be also made tasks to review of other people's assignments (as it is done in other courses) and implementing a test case which makes a wrong solution to fail (which is something like TopCoder does). But this idea is too raw and needs more thinking.

By Chethan J

May 08, 2016

This course works on fundamental approaches, like divide and conquer, greedy algorithms and takes us to the more advanced dynamic approach which is ubiquitous and drives most of the modern applications.

Really beneficial to solve problems on a day to day basis.

By Amr A A R A

Dec 25, 2017

Best decently passed and well up to date algorithm course out there

By Weiqi Y

Dec 22, 2017

Challenging and useful

By Nurul C

Sep 28, 2017

Thanks to all professors for this awesome and valuable course,materials and assignments.

By Vitaly P

Aug 11, 2016

Great course! Thanks to the instructors!