Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
5,828 ratings
1,220 reviews

About the Course

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second). Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Top reviews

SG

Jan 20, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

MB

Mar 06, 2018

Cool course. Thank you! One suggestion about your book (Learning Algorithms Through Programming and Puzzle Solving): could you add some theory which would serve as a brief reminder before problems?

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 1,147 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Nguyen T C D

Jul 01, 2019

The material is quite really well-prepared and lecture is really understandable. Highly recommend this course for whom want to consolidate Algorithm and Data structure knowledge

By Putcha L N R

Jul 05, 2019

Quite an engaging course to be honest!! Definitely recommend the course for beginners as well as people looking for brushing up of important paradigms.

By Satyam K

Feb 09, 2019

Crisp course, and challenging assignments make sure you memorize all the concepts learned. Great work by all the instructors!

By CHI C

Mar 15, 2019

Grader system is really nice to use; it helps to improve my debugging ability a lot. Good job!

By Benjamin D

Jul 03, 2019

One of the best online courses I've ever took!

By SAHADEVAREDDY A S

Jul 03, 2019

Programming Assignments are insanely amazing.

By Jabberwoo

Sep 27, 2016

Bad teaching quality.

By N F

Jun 21, 2019

I have been blown away by the amount of effort the designers put into this. Extremely high quality. Thank you so much for the thoughtful problems to solve, the well thought out lectures, and the many supplemental resources you've provided. Could not rate highly enough! I'll keep an eye out for any other specializations you all produce

By Anya G

Aug 06, 2019

Thanks for the course, it was instructive! I like that some problems require implementing algorithms discussed in lectures, while others are quite challenging and are very satisfying to solve :)

By Anuj G

Feb 19, 2018

best course for clearing basics of algorithms as well as learning by doing and blow your mind by thinking hard from different prospectives to get desired solutions of programming assignments ...

By Awaneesh K

Jun 02, 2019

This course on algorithms is exceptionally good. Video lectures are very helpful. I especially loved exercises as each of them was unique & required a lot of brain storming.

By Mohammed R

Jul 12, 2019

The specialty of this course is the order in which they present the manner . It is very helpful especially if you are just starting to get a hang out of it

By amar s

Jun 27, 2019

Learned lot of thing about Algorithms,Programming And Lot More To Learn,and It's great to

Watch Videos,

complete assignment and quiz.

By Venkata P K Y B

Jun 27, 2019

I have learned how to do stress test of two different logic, that helped me a lot while choosing the best algorithm.

By Rishi B

Jul 11, 2019

Great learning. Now I am a tad bit more confident about my algorithm skills. Need to practice more though.

By Luis G A A

Jun 02, 2019

Excelente curso, mientras lo realizaba recordé algunas técnicas para hacer algoritmos eficientes

By Vladimir N

Jun 12, 2019

Very good course to get into algorithmic thinking, design and algorithmic problem solving.

By ADARSH K S

Jul 07, 2019

this course is teach me many new think and aproach how to solve the problems

By Hritik K S

Jul 11, 2019

Solving problem is my passion which I know, after taking this course.

By Mohit G

Jul 13, 2019

It was a very interesting course I enjoyed it and learned new things

By Jhosevic C

Jul 06, 2019

Magnífico curso, todo muy bien explicado y con ejercicios geniales.

By rakshita m

Jun 18, 2019

Absolutely needed introduction to algorithms.

Thank You. :)

By RAJ S

Jun 24, 2019

Unique, Helpful, I am always eager to solve problems

By AKSHAY A

Jun 22, 2019

Good lectures and programming assignments !