Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
9,830 ratings
2,075 reviews

About the Course

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

SG
Jan 19, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

MM
Sep 28, 2017

good course, I like the fact you can use a lot of languages for you programming exercises, the content is really helpful, I would like to have more indications from the grading system to save time.

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 1,997 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Rosh D

Oct 18, 2020

So helpful! I loved learning all the new forms and takes on how to develop algorithms. I really expanded my knowledge!! :)

By Renat S

Aug 3, 2020

Nice balance of practical and theoretical knowledge! Absolutely recommend for anyone looking to review algorithm concepts.

By Juan D B P

May 21, 2020

Very good course, with many examples and clear explanations, programming assigments are really chellenging, but fun to do

By Sivagopal M

Mar 1, 2020

The overall course is very good. I feel that the dynamic programming section should be improved everything else is great.

By Andrey K

Sep 9, 2018

The course itself is good, all information is correct and useful. Nice to have so many languages to implement algorithms.

By Daniyar Z

Nov 12, 2016

Nice course! Definitely, I have learned a lot. To be all honesty, I find myself sleeping sometimes during the lectures =)

By ganesh s

Jul 13, 2020

A superb introduction to an algorithmic approach to problem-solving. A must for those interested in competitive coding.

By Md. J D

Aug 19, 2020

It is an amazing course for a newbie programmer to gain sufficient knowledge about algorithmic design and application.

By Pratiksha G

Jul 29, 2020

As the videos are short and effective ,its fun watching these videos and learning new skills.Trully a very good course

By sachin

May 31, 2020

Great Experience, been ignoring dynamic programming for soooo...... long, now I finally understand it. Thank You !!!!!

By K V

May 2, 2020

Was very helpful in making the basics clear, and now I've got a idea of how to solve a problem in the most optimal way

By Anuj P

Apr 23, 2020

Probably one of the best courses to start with. Basics are explained in a good manner. Lectures can still be improved.

By Anubhav R

May 27, 2019

Enjoyed the course. The lectures explain the concepts well enough. Programming assignments are challenging but doable.

By Shubham T

Apr 14, 2018

This cource is really very nice. This has enhanced my problem solving skills in programming language very efficiently.

By Rajat A

Aug 17, 2017

The programming assignments are the best thing about this course. They will make you think and are quite fun to solve.

By RAYAL N V

Oct 9, 2020

The problems are really really good for improving problem-solving. Some of them were real brain teasers. Loved them.

By Laura

Oct 8, 2020

Good explanations in the videos & the programming exercises gave me a lot of practice. Thank you to the instructors.

By Arpit S

Aug 17, 2020

Excellent course structure paced really well for beginners as well as for someone requiring to brush up their skills.

By Akash L

Feb 16, 2020

The building concepts of algorithms is given importance and as a result my interest throughout course has been good.

By Diego F M G

Jun 5, 2020

Excellent course!

Assignments are fun to do. They have a good balance of theory and practice.

I highly recommend it.

By Julio C D M

Jun 3, 2020

It was very nice. I learned a lot about the different kind of algorithms that you can use to solve complex problems.

By Sergio L F

Mar 23, 2020

Excelente ferramenta para aprendizado e desenvolvimento de algoritmos. Plenamente satisfeito com o conteúdo e curso.

By Dmitriy M

Mar 7, 2016

I enjoyed the course a lot and would recommend it to anyone who's getting their feet wet in the world of algorithms.

By Nitika V

Sep 11, 2020

Really great, helped me a lot in understanding concepts like divide and conquer and dynamic programming. Thank you!

By CHERUKUPALLY K R

Jul 16, 2020

It was just the right course for me ...

All the contents of course helped me a lot in competitive coding as well :)