Chevron Left
Back to Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies by Duke University

4.6
5,419 ratings
1,086 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn best practices for how to use data analytics to make any company more competitive and more profitable. You will be able to recognize the most critical business metrics and distinguish them from mere data. You’ll get a clear picture of the vital but different roles business analysts, business data analysts, and data scientists each play in various types of companies. And you’ll know exactly what skills are required to be hired for, and succeed at, these high-demand jobs. Finally, you will be able to use a checklist provided in the course to score any company on how effectively it is embracing big data culture. Digital companies like Amazon, Uber and Airbnb are transforming entire industries through their creative use of big data. You’ll understand why these companies are so disruptive and how they use data-analytics techniques to out-compete traditional companies....

Top reviews

AC

Nov 03, 2018

really good bases for business metric if you already have a background you are going to enjoy and refresh you memory and if you don't have previous experiences is really easy to understand the concept

JJ

Feb 27, 2017

It's the first course from the specification, which makes us better understand the necessary business metrics for data-driven companies, and it is a good entry for following modules. Help me a lot.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 1,051 Reviews for Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies

By Yuntao W

Oct 03, 2016

a very interesting course on business metrics, talks about business metrics itself, jobs and companies in this field, also some examples of the application of business metrics like Amazon, Costco.

By James B

Mar 18, 2016

I do not think that students should need to pay for a course in order to watch interviews with previous graduates. Half of this course should have been condensed or excluded. There is not much to learn in these modules. It was decent, but it was not a five star course. I think the ratings on this are misleading.

By Dhruv G

Aug 20, 2017

This was a great introductory course. I took this up to get a better perspective of business analysis and i can say with surety that it served a lot of purpose. Thanks Coursera and Duke Professor.

By Alex P

Dec 04, 2018

The use of actual business makes it much easier for professionals who are in the business world to pick up the concepts. A lot of courses are much heavier in theory and are a little more difficult to pick up if you have been out of school of some time.

By Santiago H

Jun 30, 2019

Pretty basic stuff. Even though I was familiar with everything given my background, I struggle to understand how this will add any value to people who are interested in Data Analytics.

By ctvv3010

Dec 12, 2018

I found the course very practical and provide a lot of useful knowledge on the business world and how to evaluate the performances of businesses using metrics. Highly recommend it.

By Roshan K B

Nov 29, 2018

Great Course. Thank you!

By Thanapich T

Nov 30, 2018

I cant wait for peer reviewing

By Alessandra T

Dec 18, 2018

thank you!

By Helena S

Dec 02, 2018

Good introductory course of Business metrics to people with no business background.

By Chunxiao C

Dec 04, 2018

Very nice class! Pretty useful for beginners:)

By Vardges Z

Dec 05, 2018

Excellent course with practical examples and useful theory.

By Tom S

Jan 09, 2019

Great course with good balance of theory content and real world application

By Edgar M A F

Dec 30, 2018

I liked it

By Rodrigo P

Jan 11, 2019

Excellent course, even better teacher. Greetings from Uruguay!

By William D

Jan 11, 2019

Super insightful!

By Bishwaraj B

Jan 15, 2019

Great course!

By Alan D B G

Jan 15, 2019

Excelente introductorio a las metrics

By 邱荟璇

Jan 05, 2019

很好的一门课,对于没有专业基础的同学来说难度也合适!而且学到了很多实用的知识!

By Guangyu Z

Jan 23, 2019

Great explanation! Simple examples make it easier for me to understand the content

By ShirleyL

Feb 18, 2019

interesting

not very difficult to understand

By okeke n a

Jan 25, 2019

great course!! loved it!

By Amy H

Feb 20, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. It was a good course for someone just starting out in this field (like me) and I didn't feel overwhelmed. The material is useful and they include real world examples that you'd see in a Business Analyst or Data Analyst position.

By Mariia A

Mar 21, 2019

The course is great (but please consider amending information ratio calculation mistake, the rest is perfect)

By Mike

Mar 20, 2019

It's good!