Chevron Left
Back to Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies by Duke University

4.6
stars
6,951 ratings
1,434 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn best practices for how to use data analytics to make any company more competitive and more profitable. You will be able to recognize the most critical business metrics and distinguish them from mere data. You’ll get a clear picture of the vital but different roles business analysts, business data analysts, and data scientists each play in various types of companies. And you’ll know exactly what skills are required to be hired for, and succeed at, these high-demand jobs. Finally, you will be able to use a checklist provided in the course to score any company on how effectively it is embracing big data culture. Digital companies like Amazon, Uber and Airbnb are transforming entire industries through their creative use of big data. You’ll understand why these companies are so disruptive and how they use data-analytics techniques to out-compete traditional companies....

Top reviews

AS

Jun 12, 2020

It is a business centred course that will help you understand the most important metrics. It includes comprehensive glossaries and lectures that will help you in the process and a lot of case studies.

AR

Apr 20, 2020

It's a great course because even it's based on theory not practical(Which cover in next courses in specialization) but still, at final assignment submission, you feel great that you tackle a problem.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 1,397 Reviews for Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies

By asama

Mar 12, 2016

obviously this course helped building basic concepts in understanding further business metrics. and the examples used are very close to real life , not at all text book style. I had a great time viewing videos and improve my knowledge with my classmates.

By Aquib J

May 01, 2020

This is a solid course for learning the basics of different business metrics, web metrics, and financial metrics. I highly recommend this course for beginners like me.

The video lectures are quite engaging and the instructor is very easy to understand.

By Vishvendra S T

Mar 14, 2018

I'm delighted to complete this course where I get to learn so many key concepts revolving around business metrics. I would recommend this course to anyone who is looking ahead to learn the various basic concepts related to the business world. Thanks.

By gustavo g

Sep 15, 2017

Great course for those without experience in Data Driven companies and want to master the very basics first before going the extra mile. Looking forward to complete the specialization before deciding next steps for this path.

Looking promising so far!

By Iva S

Dec 11, 2016

It is very useful to find and analyze the right business metric for special businesses in order to improve business processes which can lead to increase in revenue and profitability and avoiding risks. This course was very helpful for that purpose.

By Ayesha S

Nov 22, 2015

Professor Daniel Egger's lectures are entertaining, informative and relevant. This course has definitely been one of the better courses I have taken on Coursera.

Would recommend it to anyone looking for an introduction to the field of analytics.

By Edmundo G D L S

Jul 19, 2020

Great Course, Daniel Egger explains very accurately the important business metrics nowadays and the important of the Big Data, it´s more approach than practice; but if you want to enter into this data-real-world, is a must this course for you.

By Christopher M

Oct 19, 2018

This course one of the best on the entire platform, the Lecturer EISH!! man you are a beast u killed this course, you know your stuff and would have loved to have a one on one chat with you because you are out of this world Egger I salute you.

By gwayne

Nov 23, 2015

Very good information. The course had a very effective way of taking some pretty complex concepts of business metrics and explain them in a way that a non business minded person could understand....... That is the epitome of a good course!!

By Juan G S D

Nov 09, 2015

Una buena introducción al análisis de datos para empresas, tal vez demasiado enfocado al ámbito financiero y descuidando otros aspectos.

En general es bueno y muy recomendable como introducción ya que se explica bastante bien conceptualmente.

By Mike A

Dec 08, 2015

Great class. I'm very happy with my choice for a Specialization to take at Coursera. The instructor is not only very knowledgeable, but also explain some very complicated processes in a way that helps in the understanding of the topic.

By Ramya N

Apr 23, 2016

I audited this course as it was recommended by my hubby who is a data scientist and see if i can apply the learnings in healthcare. This has immensely benefited me. Prof. you are so crisp and clear and is easy to understand.

Thanks

Ramya.N

By Jannisse W

May 14, 2020

The course provided a wide range of business data-driven information. The videos were very easy to watch and read the materials provided. This course has provided me with insight on how to efficiently use business metrics data-driven.

By Quinntus O O

Apr 17, 2019

This was one of the most inviting and instructive lectures I have ever come across in terms of data analysis. it cites mostly real events and real companies and how they perceive their big data and usage.

Great work. well done Professor

By wouter G

Mar 20, 2017

Good overview of business metrics supported by great examples. If you are looking to get a better understanding and want to be able to classify your own daily activities in the business frame, this course is an excellent introduction.

By Sultan A

Jun 20, 2016

This is a nice course to understand what you will do as a Data Analyst or related job positions. Video lectures were cool, however it would have been great if the lectures used can be made available in PDF or PPT form for future use.

By Paul T

Jan 22, 2016

I thought the course was good - but I think the final case study could have been more specific. I reviewed a lot of colleagues and the quality greatly varied though most got the answers correct since it was a quite general question.

By NAQSH G

Mar 16, 2018

This is the best course I have ever attended at Coursera Platform. Special Thanks to the Professor who has put his all best efforts for students like us who are spread across globe. Best Wishes to the organising team and many thanks

By Shady E

May 11, 2019

The course is an eye opening on new concepts. I learned a lot from it. My only comment will be the fault in calculation in one slide should have been amended once discovered even through text if recording a video will be difficult.

By Jakub K

Jan 09, 2016

Concise and interesting course that will help one to understand the basics about business metrics. It is meant for beginners and it is time-saving or better, it's largely up to you, if you want to spend here 1 or 5 hours per week.

By FERLICOT E

Jul 10, 2019

I learnt a lot of new skills during this course . Moreover , the course is very well made, moreover for me who is not english native tongue. The videos are very clear , and being able to read at the same time it helped me a lot .

By Amar S

Jun 06, 2017

If you look in to step in the world of business analysis this course is the best doorway for it, You can learn best ways to apply certain metrics to your business process and to study a business process by using those metrics.

By Oldemar P

Jul 21, 2020

this course is quite fascinating. i am a finance major and always wanted to know what a data business analyst does. this course is quite informative and encouraged me to take the rest of the courses within the specialization.

By Jay A S

Aug 25, 2017

This was a basic/introductory course to the more advanced tools that will be taught in the later courses in the specialization. If one has no idea about the the field of data science this is recommended if not can be skipped.

By Steven M

Apr 29, 2020

This course is a great introduction to show how businesses can use data available to them to make strategic decisions. Great introduction to the careers which use these skills and how they can be applied in the real world.