Chevron Left
Back to Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies by Duke University

4.6
stars
7,975 ratings
1,651 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn best practices for how to use data analytics to make any company more competitive and more profitable. You will be able to recognize the most critical business metrics and distinguish them from mere data. You’ll get a clear picture of the vital but different roles business analysts, business data analysts, and data scientists each play in various types of companies. And you’ll know exactly what skills are required to be hired for, and succeed at, these high-demand jobs. Finally, you will be able to use a checklist provided in the course to score any company on how effectively it is embracing big data culture. Digital companies like Amazon, Uber and Airbnb are transforming entire industries through their creative use of big data. You’ll understand why these companies are so disruptive and how they use data-analytics techniques to out-compete traditional companies....

Top reviews

AS
Jun 11, 2020

It is a business centred course that will help you understand the most important metrics. It includes comprehensive glossaries and lectures that will help you in the process and a lot of case studies.

AC
Nov 2, 2018

really good bases for business metric if you already have a background you are going to enjoy and refresh you memory and if you don't have previous experiences is really easy to understand the concept

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 1,617 Reviews for Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies

By Ifraz P

Aug 11, 2017

First week course on business matric was really help full, only i found challenges in reading contents and i have request to use simple works to understand better, since may people who attend the course they should not face difficult to understand the meaning or explanation

By 何逸博

Apr 11, 2020

From this course, I learned many basic concepts about business metrics and finance basis knowledge. Also it is articulated about the differences among business analytics, business data analytics, data scientists. It is helpful to build fundamental basis for rookie like me.

By Jianxu S

Oct 28, 2019

One of the very useful concepts I learned from this course is the idea of evaluating how digital a company or business is. It provides a rough prediction if a given company will be more successful in the future and what type of data-related roles are needed in the company.

By danielle v

Oct 11, 2016

Extremely informative course. I found the lectures easy to follow and well organized. I did not pay for the course so I have no feedback from quizzes and thus have no way of being sure I really understand the material as well as I think I do. Other than that, two thumbs up

By Diego A C O

Jul 22, 2021

thanks to this course I am more aware of how various business metrics influence the success or failure of a business that was already profitable in itself, the jobs that are in charge of these metrics and clear examples of how they work in the business world contemporary.

By Huy P T

Nov 12, 2015

Excellent! I'm learning a lot from this course. What I like most about it is that this course is newly open so it contains a lot of information about the current economy, especially the examples. I will definitely spend time to finish all the way to the Specialization.

By Lou Z

Oct 19, 2020

A very complete initiation to data analysis. Prof Egger is very competent and although the videos might seem short, they are filled with contents that can open hours of personal studies.

It is a course for those who are ready to learn and have the self-discipline to.

By Beth H

May 27, 2019

Loved this! Worked in a very data-driven industry for years and this was a nice way to organize information I already knew, with new information that almost instantly made me better at my job. Looking forward to continuing my specialize certification curriculum!

By Ben C

Jun 19, 2017

This class is very informative and clearly presented by Professor Egger. It goes over the basics of business metrics extremely capably and is a good beginning for someone who's looking to supplement their education or to begin in the field of business analytics.

By Vatsal S

May 25, 2020

It gave clear understanding of business metrics, which could help have an edge in distinguishing these important metrics from all the data available. Also, it gave clarity on different roles and skill-sets required in the field of Data science and analytics.

By Amy H

Feb 20, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. It was a good course for someone just starting out in this field (like me) and I didn't feel overwhelmed. The material is useful and they include real world examples that you'd see in a Business Analyst or Data Analyst position.

By Max H

Dec 13, 2015

This course does an excellent job of setting the tone for the rest of the courses through breaking down real-life applications of business metrics and explaining their mechanics. In doing so, it's shed a lot of light into metrics/KPI design for my own work.

By Daranijo T

Apr 21, 2020

I really love this course, It gave me a good understanding of what data driven companies focus on and how to ask important question in a business organisation. To me, the course is very essential if you want to dive into data analyse. Thanks to the tutors.

By Vivian Y

Sep 19, 2020

Highly recommend this course for people interested in business analytics! The course didn't cover technical skills, but through the course, students can have a good overall understanding of the roles in analytics field and better plan their career paths.

By Ho J Y

Nov 5, 2019

The course was really well prepared, and it had so many helpful tools for a new learner. I just wish the course had more depth and length, but I understand that this is a beginner's course, so nothing to complain about it. Thank you for the great course.

By Mai M K

Aug 16, 2016

This course was very helpful. I am engineering with no background in business but it introduced it in an easy way. I have gained a lot of information. and understood clearly. I googled things but that enhances the learning process. Thanks for this course

By asama

Mar 12, 2016

obviously this course helped building basic concepts in understanding further business metrics. and the examples used are very close to real life , not at all text book style. I had a great time viewing videos and improve my knowledge with my classmates.

By Aquib J

May 1, 2020

This is a solid course for learning the basics of different business metrics, web metrics, and financial metrics. I highly recommend this course for beginners like me.

The video lectures are quite engaging and the instructor is very easy to understand.

By Janneke v V

Feb 26, 2021

A great beginner level explanation of the key metrics you'll encounter and need to track in business. Also providing great eye openers on how you need to take different perspectives in order to truly see how your business is/will be doing. Excellent!

By Vishvendra S T

Mar 14, 2018

I'm delighted to complete this course where I get to learn so many key concepts revolving around business metrics. I would recommend this course to anyone who is looking ahead to learn the various basic concepts related to the business world. Thanks.

By gustavo g

Sep 15, 2017

Great course for those without experience in Data Driven companies and want to master the very basics first before going the extra mile. Looking forward to complete the specialization before deciding next steps for this path.

Looking promising so far!

By Iva S

Dec 11, 2016

It is very useful to find and analyze the right business metric for special businesses in order to improve business processes which can lead to increase in revenue and profitability and avoiding risks. This course was very helpful for that purpose.

By Ayesha S

Nov 22, 2015

Professor Daniel Egger's lectures are entertaining, informative and relevant. This course has definitely been one of the better courses I have taken on Coursera.

Would recommend it to anyone looking for an introduction to the field of analytics.

By Edmundo G D L S

Jul 19, 2020

Great Course, Daniel Egger explains very accurately the important business metrics nowadays and the important of the Big Data, it´s more approach than practice; but if you want to enter into this data-real-world, is a must this course for you.

By Christopher M

Oct 19, 2018

This course one of the best on the entire platform, the Lecturer EISH!! man you are a beast u killed this course, you know your stuff and would have loved to have a one on one chat with you because you are out of this world Egger I salute you.