Chevron Left
Back to Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies by Duke University

4.6
stars
6,922 ratings
1,426 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn best practices for how to use data analytics to make any company more competitive and more profitable. You will be able to recognize the most critical business metrics and distinguish them from mere data. You’ll get a clear picture of the vital but different roles business analysts, business data analysts, and data scientists each play in various types of companies. And you’ll know exactly what skills are required to be hired for, and succeed at, these high-demand jobs. Finally, you will be able to use a checklist provided in the course to score any company on how effectively it is embracing big data culture. Digital companies like Amazon, Uber and Airbnb are transforming entire industries through their creative use of big data. You’ll understand why these companies are so disruptive and how they use data-analytics techniques to out-compete traditional companies....

Top reviews

AS

Jun 12, 2020

It is a business centred course that will help you understand the most important metrics. It includes comprehensive glossaries and lectures that will help you in the process and a lot of case studies.

AR

Apr 20, 2020

It's a great course because even it's based on theory not practical(Which cover in next courses in specialization) but still, at final assignment submission, you feel great that you tackle a problem.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 1,390 Reviews for Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies

By Muzaffar K

Nov 10, 2015

This is a basic course to learn in Excel to MySQL specialization. Lectures by Daniel Egger are easy to comprehend. Especially it is useful to understand skills required for different job roles in a field of data analysis.

By Orwell T M

Dec 21, 2017

This was an interesting course both as an introduction to business analysis. I found it to be very informative and useful to get me into the topic of interest. Thank you Duke University for allowing me this opportunity.

By James D

Mar 01, 2016

Very informative course and gave a broad background about how data is being applied to companies today. I thought it was a good idea to interview people actually using the material and how they apply data to their work.

By Rui M

May 14, 2020

This course is ideal for business analysts who have some experience because it helps to systematically refine relevant knowledge and skills into a well structured cluster, which would boost productivity in the future.

By Niyazi E D

May 14, 2020

The course teaches you a lot, it is quite beginner friendly but there are some instances where you have difficulties to follow up, but the forum is a great help in this regard. I can absolutely recommend this course.

By Christopher S

Mar 24, 2020

Very useful course around business metrics and what data driven companies are doing to meet their goals. A good refresher to all those who are leading business discussions in their job. Thanks to Duke and professors.

By 孙硕

Feb 13, 2017

easy to understand. One suggestion is that it is too simple for students who have business background, add more knowledge and more supporting materials for self-studying will be better! Thanks a lot for this course!

By Andrea B

Mar 21, 2016

Great intro to the different types of data and very valuable information on what companies use what types of data, the real world jobs that they hire in the data world, etc. Loved how practical the information was!

By Akshay A

Jun 13, 2020

Great course as expected. This is the 2nd course I have done from Daniel Egger and both have been a great experience. Everything explained through examples of fictional and real firms applying the big data culture.

By Jian G

Jul 16, 2019

This course is so practical and provides a very good orientation to those who want to come to the field of data analytics. I certainly benefit a lot from this course and look forward to more content from Dan Egger.

By LINDA A L

Aug 03, 2019

Excellent course _ too bad about the peer grading which took VERY long & by peers who were not on the same level_some people did case studies while other couls not even answer Q1 :( identify a business metric!!!

By Darryl B

Aug 06, 2020

I was not expecting this level of detail but it was appreciated. The course covered several foundational business concepts which would be important for anyone who would be looking to work in the business sector.

By Милицина М А

May 02, 2020

Очень интересно! Лекции богаты современными примерами, разобраны Case Study. Лекции все объясняются более, чем понятно, приведены решения для оптимизации бизнес процессов. Очень рада была изучить все лекции!

By Anirudh D

Jun 07, 2020

It is the perfect course to get started with business analytics. Professor Daniel Egger's way of explaining each and every point with an example really made it easy for me to understand every topic clearly.

By Douglas K

Oct 28, 2017

A great course that helps one to understand how data can be used by companies to change their processes and achieve more revenues, more profits and less risks. Great instructors! Daniel and Jana. Thank you

By Mohammad A

May 01, 2020

This course is provided very basic about business metrics for data-driven companies, nice reading materials. As I am very new in this field, it helped me a lot, very interested in doing the next course.

By Soon K N

Mar 08, 2017

very good course. best explanation on financial models i have ever seen!!!! learn about sharpe ratio etc in the most visual and simplest explanation you will ever seen in the whole internet and youtube.

By Prashanth R

Aug 30, 2016

Audited the course - This course laid out the perfect groundwork if you want to be a business analyst. Prof Egger talks about the different companies, what sort of skillets you need. Its a great course!

By Jesús E R R

Oct 06, 2019

Excelent course for those who want to know about Business Metrics and how to harness these in order to help make decisions in real time improving the efficency in our different department of a company.

By Alfaima S

Jun 12, 2020

It is a business centred course that will help you understand the most important metrics. It includes comprehensive glossaries and lectures that will help you in the process and a lot of case studies.

By Abuzer B R

Apr 20, 2020

It's a great course because even it's based on theory not practical(Which cover in next courses in specialization) but still, at final assignment submission, you feel great that you tackle a problem.

By Jane H

Jun 14, 2018

I very much enjoyed this course, which helped me build the knowledge foundation of business metrics and other basics. The capstone is very helpful for me to have a taste of business case analytics.

By Rosh R

Mar 30, 2020

I really liked and learned a lot from this Duke University Course about business metrics. I also thought the instructor was excellent and presented the material in a concise and effective manner.

By Mohammad S

Jan 14, 2018

Superb insight gains from the world of analytical. Course have advance my skill in incredible 4 weeks of time. Great work from Duke University. Special thanks to Daniel Egger & Jana Schaich Borg.

By 周芮

Sep 03, 2019

Really well-explained with good cases analysis. The slow speaking speed adds more flexibility as users can have the options to speed up while choose 1x speed the point where they need slow down